We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service excellent from start to finish s”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sitwell Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renishaw
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have attended a couple of weddings an enjoyed each and everyone brilliant weekend and evenings from the start , clean rooms great and friendly service from the staff breakfast was great even have hash browns not many hotels I've been too include hash browns at breakfast defiantly be attending again in the near future

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egypt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night in August on business.
Room clean and spacious.
Ate in restaurant which was tasty.
Asked for wake up call....never happened. Was told request not received!
Tv could only get 1 channel and an old fashioned set.
Apart from these small niggles. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We held our Wedding Reception at the Sitwell Arms in August 2013. The Sitwell offers a number of packages which can be tailored to your needs. It was advantageous as it avoided the worries (and costs) of separately booking the chair covers etc.

We had the smaller function room (as that is the only room that could facilitate our band) but there was still room for 80 guests. The room comes with the outside facilities including access to the Lake and Veranda for photos, which is great for the pictures. The room itself was beautifully presented for our big day.

The service was excellent. Our wedding planner, Lindz, met with us a number of times prior to our Wedding to go through the finer details; she was on hand to receive the centrepieces and presents the night before the Wedding; and all the staff were great on the day, responding well to the fact that we were running behind schedule (owing to the Bride being late). The staff were also quite obliging when a couple of evening guests arrived early and provided them with a desert at no extra cost.

A few people commented on the chicken being a little dry but I think that was due to us sitting down later to eat than planned rather than the fault of the hotel; I'm a vegetarian and my food was lovely.

The honeymoon suite was beautiful, comprising of bedroom, balcony, en suite, and living room (if you call it a living room in a hotel). The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom facilities comprised of a large shower but no bath.

Overall the Sitwell was great value for money. I feel that we received a bargain for the service we received and the guests that were catered for (in the region of £4,000 for 80 days for the meal and 100 evening guests for the buffet). My Wedding day was the happiest day of my life and I would like to thank the Sitwell Arms for their part in that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

my daughter was married here on sat 17th august - from start to finish every single member of staff was professional, helpful and friendly! special thanks to lindsey and penny - we couldnt have done it without you xxx
the day went without a glitch and every one of the guests have commented on how well organised and pleasant the staff were x
the food was lovely, the rooms were lovely, infact everything was lovely :) x
i would not hesitate at recommending the hotel to anyone considering it as a venue for any kind of event x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazawhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We got married here on the 27th of July and from start to finish the staff at The Sitwell could not have been more helpful.

Lindsay, our wedding planner, was there for us every step of the way and took care of everything right down to the last detail. Not only did she help us planning, but was there all day making sure things ran smoothly.

We had our ceremony downstairs, and had the reception upstairs which is a lovely grand room. The food was excellent, everyone commented on this, and the hot evening buffet did not disappoint.

I cannot recommend the Sitwell highly enough for your wedding celebrations!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The meal was enjoyable, the service was good. The surroundings very nice - an enjoyable evening!
We didn't stay there as we were staying locally. Just popped in on the off chance we could get a table & we did.

The Sitwell Arms serves a good steak.

Recommended

Room Tip: we didn't sleep there - just had a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank corkcitygirlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

On arrival today for a wedding we was staying overnight in room 12,upon opening the room door it was like walking into faulty towers,the bedding had been left on from previous guest,the dust and muck on tables shelves and on the tea and coffee tray even the cups and kettle was appalling,even the remote control for the tv was thick in dust the buttons were unreadable,my wife went and told the manager and the reply was the room had slipped through the housekeeping wich was a bare faced lie as new toilet rolls,tea and coffee sachets had been put in,after been told to wait outside for a while till the maid went to clean it again they said they left us around the supposed to be water feature that was full of mucky scummy water,we was told after only 10 minutes the room was sorted to find only the bedding had been changed and all the dust and muck was still there,so i got my clothes and went home so never got to see the wedding

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gazo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renishaw
5.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
9.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,029 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
549 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel van Dyk
Hotel van Dyk
#1 of 1 in Clowne
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sitwell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sitwell Arms Hotel

Address: 39 Station Road, Renishaw S21 3WF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Renishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renishaw
Price Range: £41 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sitwell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitwell Arms is less than one mile from J30 off the M1 motorway and is near both Sheffield and Chesterfield train station making an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Set in six acres of beautiful gardens and with over 100 free off road secure car parking spaces, the hotel is ideal for large group gatherings. The surroundings and gardens of this Sheffield and Chesterfield based hotel puts an emphasis on its countryside location and its Derbyshire and Peak District connections. Local Peak District attractions include Bolsover Castle, Chatsworth House and Renishaw Hall, which form part of The Sitwell Arms Hotel's historic surroundings. Meadowhall Shopping Complex and Sheffield Arena are only 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sitwell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitwell Arms Hotel
The Sitwell Arms Hotel Renishaw, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing