We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed for 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We decided to stay here for 2 nights rather than the seemingly more usual 1, and were so glad we did as it was such a lovely camp.
The setting is really beautiful and all the rooms have a wonderful sunset view looking out over the boulders. There is plenty of outside seating around your room, and a minibar inside it, allowing you can create your own sundowner spot. There is no additional charge for the drinks in your minibar compared to the restaurant, which we thought were a really nice touch.
We really liked the room layout which was very spacious and the sort of outdoor bathroom which also had lots of space. Each of the tents are set apart from each other which allows for privacy and if you want to sleep with the canvas open you can – we kept the mosquito protection though as it was quite buggy when we visited due to some rain the week before.
We did a couple of the guided walks while here, the sundowner walk one night (before we realised how spectacular the view was from our own room) and the morning walk to the top of the boulder, the latter is being nowhere near as difficult as you might think when looking up. It was a good way to work up an appetite before the later breakfast. Doing the morning walk also means you meet at the restaurant at the same time as the hundreds of cute rosy cheeked lovebirds congregate there.
We had good dinners here too, eating outside overlooking the spotlit waterhole at night although I would have appreciated a little more light at the tables as it’s impossible to see what you’re eating – which I don’t enjoy. The waterhole view also meant that we saw the caracol which has taken to visiting each night.
Finally, all the staff here were really charming and helpful and they make it feel like you’re staying with one big happy family. It’s a really lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 10 have the best sunset views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Erongo Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

By far the best accommodations in our three weeks in Namibia/Botswana. We were lucky enough to have only one other couple staying at the lodge at the same time that our group was. We were here for birding and easily found Hartlaub's Spurfowl the evening that we arrived. We were lucky enough to see then come in to the feeding station outside the breakfast room the next morning as well. Our birding guide was very good and was able to find many of the species we were looking for.

Service was top notch and staff even put hot water bottles underneath our sheets while we were at dinner! What a wonderful way to fall asleep: cool mountain air and warm feet. While the "rooms" are tents, they felt quite sturdy with wooden floors and structurally quite sound. Much of room was open,as was the bathroom area. However, everything has been planned perfectly so that no one can see in where they shouldn't. Food was absolutely stupendous and we had dinner served by candlelight while watching a kudu buck come to the small waterhole nearby. The area is easily driven to off a paved road and yet feels very far removed from everywhere else. My only complaint, if it could be called that, is that we weren't alerted to the wailings of the rock hyraxes that called from the surrounding rocks for the beginning of the night. Eerie sounds and a bit frightening if unprepared for the sound.

This is a wonderful stop and, on top of everything else, makes for a very convenient stop between Walvis Bay to the southwest and Etosha NP to the north. I only wish we'd planned two nights here rather than one. Treat yourself to this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrustay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is the perfect place to rest during your travels. Perfect spot to stop between Swakopmund or Windhoek and Etosha. Luxurious tents nestled amongst the enormous granite outcrops. Friendly staff, great food and a superb winelist. The walks are must.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From arriving there scaling the massive, steep rock, to the amazingly unique and private "tents" and wonderful food, everything was special.

What a find. The food and wine list was exceptional. Beautiful views. Fantastic location.

Words truly can't do justice to the place. Go and visit!

Room Tip: Tent 6 is most private and has the best view. (they all are fantastic)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We only stayed for one night at the end of our holiday but would have loved to stay for longer. The luxury tented accommodation was special. Beautiful setting with very friendly and helpful staff. Food is good and evening dinners under the stars are memorable experiences.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lodge with luxury tents, very similar in style and setting to other lodges like Kipwe and Mowani. Excellent food. Ideal for 2 nights on a trip between Windhoek and Etosha national park. Make sure you do the morning walk and the nature drive with the sun downer. Knowledgeable local guides who can tell you all about plants, birds and animals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Again part of a multiple location self drive trip around Namibia booked through Imagine Africa. Access up the entrance road was only possible by a high wheelbase 4x4. Very comfortable spacious rooms and great views. You have to be reasonably fit to fully participate in the 3 hour highly enjoyable Guided walks morning and evening showing the bird life and antelopes. There is also a trip to "Paula's Cave" where there are rock paintings and you enjoy a sundowner. The food is served outside round a fire and overlooks a waterhole where some animals like Warthogs and Kudu come to drink. Food was very good and there was a choice. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 10 was large and had great views
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Omaruru hotels
5.4 mi away
Evening Shade Self-Catering Accommodation
19.3 mi away
Ai-Aiba The Rock Painting Lodge
3.0 mi away
Otjohotozu Guestfarm
Otjohotozu Guestfarm
#1 of 9 in Omaruru
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Roidina Safari Lodge
Roidina Safari Lodge
#6 of 16 in Omaruru
34 reviews
12.6 mi away
Guestfarm Onduruquea
Guestfarm Onduruquea
#4 of 16 in Omaruru
93 reviews
23.6 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#7 of 16 in Omaruru
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erongo Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Omaruru
Price Range: £251 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erongo Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a special wilderness area in Namibia, encircled by the Erongo Mountains where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find a lodge with ten luxury tented chalets in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Erongo Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erongo Wilderness Lodge Namibia/Omaruru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing