We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than average tourist hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cohere Hotel Changde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cohere Hotel Changde
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Changde
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Way better than average tourist hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a 4/5star property. The place is quite lovely and our suite was really well decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff was great, even though this is a busy hotel at the foot of Hengshan. Our suite had 2 floors!? This is one of the nicest tourist hotels I've stayed in in an out of the way location in China. And, there is a large swimming pool. The Internet is slow, but present. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    87
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel has some nice rooms and I liked the food and the pool. Check-out was a nightmare. First, the hotel kept on insisting that I bought cigarettes from the minibar - I have never smoked in my life. Second, the checkout process was close to 30 minutes because of the factt the staff could not use the credit card machines properly - and I still have no idea what will happen as they seemed to be doing a lot of swiping. In general, while hard to pinpoint, I had a very bad feeling about this place - don't stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is advertised as a 5 star. That is a little misleading. The staff are excellent even though we only met one person with passible english. They were great about helping us. The hotel is a little run down. Up keep is not a top priority. A good carpet cleaner would go a long way. The breakfast was excellent but I would steer anyone away from ordering off the menu for other meals unless you know what you're getting. The optional facilities were ok as well. Pool was nice but also in need of maintenance. Gym was very nice. Didn't look like it was ever used. So, overall nice with excellent service but the building and grounds could definitely use a makeover. Oh yeah, the taxis out front are reliable but they cost about double a regular one. A short walk out the drive and you cann usually find a regular one with out too much wait.

Room Tip: The garden view is ok but you can see the disrepair the grounds have fallen into. The recycling cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesf935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
314 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel, where we spent a night. My only complaint is that it is quite a walk to anywhere else except the Willow Lake. The bed and pillows are clean, soft and very comfortable. Although the buffet is fairly standard Chinese fare, quality-wise it is higher and better than most other Chinese hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the hotel front, towards the Willow Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapitanchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at the Cohere Hotel as second time this time with 4 of my staff,
Check in was again slow as they flustrered around looking for my visa, date of entry to complete the normal array of annoying forms they need to fill out. After a flight and drive its frustrating to say the least to check in for 20 mins at 12 midnight. But TIC.
The basic room at Rmb418 is acceptable but a upgraded to a deluxe room for Rmb558.
The Deluxe room is much larger and offers also a larger bathrom and shower with complimentary water.
The Breakfast whilst obviously catering for local guest still had cereral, fruit, toast and egg/bacon and i must say good coffee. For me it was a good standard.
The hotel is located on the lake so is a little distance from Changde itself.
The bar area is really non-existent but the staff try and offer a limited range of drinks even when they dont really know a Gin from a Vodka or Baileys....
Overall we will stay at the Cohere Hotel when we visit Changde again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Deluxe Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Very good hotel for the location. Check in was fast and pleasant. Rooms were spacious and clean.
Breakfast buffett was very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nacnud88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Changde hotels
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Changde Wuling Hotel
2.2 mi away
7 Days Inn Changde Langzhou Road
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
2.4 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#62 of 114 in Changde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cohere Hotel Changde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohere Hotel Changde

Property: Cohere Hotel Changde
Address: Liuye Main Road, Wuling District, Changde 415000, China
Region: China > Hunan > Changde
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Changde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cohere Hotel Changde 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Cohere Hotel Changde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing