We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dong Ming International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Changzhi
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is definitely a 5 star Chinese hotel. The rooms are clean, the amenities are very nice, the restaurants are acceptable to Western palates and the staff is very nice and friendly. The staff has limited English skills and some amenities are available from front desk only (hairdryer, internet cable for examples) as a result it was ticky getting a hair dryer my first morning. After trying "hair" "dryer" "whooshing noises" the word "head" got the results I was looking for. Definitely recomend.

Room Tip: Be aware some amenities like a hair dryer are available only from front desk. So some Chinese langu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I have traveled for 35 years in more than 75 countries. Many hotels... I have stayed in the Dong Ming on 7 different occasions from 2008 through Nov 2009, and have made more than 10 trips to China. This hotel is sweet. The rooms are really very nice and totally unexpected, except for the beds which are a bit hard. The rooms are very clean. The AC is nonexistent in the summer. The front desk does not speak English and you may find someone to translate. Breakfast is very nice and western. The walk to the park is about a mile and very nice. I generally pay around $ 90 US.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobPhiladelphiaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

I stayed at the Dong Ming International in April 2009 for one night with some colleagues, while visiting some local clients. It is approximately 20 minutes from Changzhi airport by taxi.

Less than 12 months old, The hotel was a beautifully presented, spotless 5 Star property with very modern and comfortable facilties. From the appearance of the lobby to the lifts and guest rooms, there was nothing left wanting.

The English speaking skills at this hotel were very limited, and communication was quite difficult. On Check-In, via a translator the hotel attempted to upsell us into "premium" rooms - we declined as all we were after was a shower and a bed, however after being shown to our rooms, the rooms were incredibly well presented and equipped. We are not sure what additional features would have existed in the "premium" rooms.

A word of advice for visitors to Changzhi - it is not customary in this area to serve chilled beverages. A Chinese member of our group had to telephone ahead to have 30 bottles of beer put in a fridge earlier that day. All beverages in this region are typically served at room temperature!

The hotel had a number of restaurants, all of which were empty during our stay.. We dined at the Western Restaurant on the ground floor at the selection of my colleagues and our clients, and we had passable Western food. An English speaking staff member was available and supervised our group.

I really enjoyed the completely unexpected comfort and luxury of my 1 night stay in the Dong Ming International and am happy to highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Changzhi hotels
1.8 mi away
Jinwei Hotel
Jinwei Hotel
#13 of 88 in Changzhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
2.1 mi away
Jinjiang Inn (Changzhi Government South Courtyard)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Changzhi Hongyang Club
Changzhi Hongyang Club
#2 of 88 in Changzhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.8 mi away
Modern Times City Hotel
Modern Times City Hotel
#11 of 88 in Changzhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hanting Express Changzhi Chenghuangmiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Ming International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Ming International Hotel

Property: Dong Ming International Hotel
Address: No.369 Zijin East Street, Changzhi 046000, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Changzhi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Changzhi
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Dong Ming International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing