We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing lodge”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Craiglea Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Latheronwheel, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Familyguy...
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing lodge”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

17 of us stayed here for my 40th birthday. We had the best time.
Very high standard of decor, well equipped and lots of room.
Pool was great and entertained the kids all weekend.
Would definitely return and recommend highly to anyone wishing to travel near or far for a break.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j1vdh
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice enough but not worth the money”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed on new years eve. Obviously given the date was going to be more expensive but really wasnt worth what we paid. Wifi apparently hadn't been fixed so we had no way to play music. Most of the bins in the bathrooms were still unemptied from previous guests which was disgusting. My partner had to sleep on a bed with no duvet just using a throw as a blanket as there wasn't one for him.
Place was fun because of company but wouldn't return for that price again.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
We apologise the level of cleanliness was not up to our usual standard. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to bring in replacement cleaners at short notice who obviously did not clean well enough. The guests have been compensated for this and we will not be using those cleaners again.

As the other reviews will testify, Craiglea Lodge is normally cleaned to an exceptionally high standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsweyn
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My sister booked the entire lodge for a weekend to celebrate her husband's surprise 65th birthday. All the family were invited and we arrived earlier that day to drop off food and belongings for the party.

We had a good look around and noticed some issues with the place but overall thought it was nice. The pool area was clean and warm but there is no separate jacuzzi, it's built into a corner of the pool. The sauna was hot but tiny and was no bigger than a chicken house! We used the pool on the Saturday and it really was freezing. Strange thing was it was warmer on the Sunday??

The bedrooms were clean and there is loads of space. Plenty of bathrooms and very clean. There are no double beds in the rooms, it all single beds. Two bedrooms have on - suite showers but don't use them. The showers are tiny, built into the corner and you can't easily turn the shower on without water everywhere. I started the shower and selected the heat, it's a power shower, and was fine for a minute. It suddenly turned scaldingly hot and I was caught in the corner not able to get the shower door open. My arm was scalded and my husband took me to Caithness General A&E. There is no need for the water temperature to be set so high and there should be anti scalding installed in all the showers.

The curtains were hanging off in several rooms and made it look very neglected. The furniture was nice but the tables need thoroughly cleaned. We had to clean the fridges before we could store the food, which is bad!

We did actually have a good time and would recommend it, but not at the price that's charged. We all live locally and we expected a higher level of standards for the cost. We don't need to pay for the view, which possibly can attract the higher prices for visitors, but left us feeling cold. All the other reviews are correct about the standard of the garden etc but as it was sleet, we wouldn't be going out anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“relaxing but needs work”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

we stayed at craiglea as 10 adults and 10 children! The pool was by far the best feature and very glad we had this, but there were issues with this. The first two days the pool was at right temperature but after that it was freezing however this didn't discourage the children and a maintenance person was sent out but it took days to get the pool back up to temperature. The sauna is falling apart although still useable and most of the inflatables for the pool were mouldy!
The outside of the lodge could be beautiful if kept right! When we arrived the trampoline was missing a leg and very bent but the adults managed to fix it. There was a bbq to use but they hadn't been cleaned hence had an interesting mould problem! And large bits of brick all outside from the house.
The inside of the main house was fantastic clean and plenty of space! The other cottage some appliances didn't work and had mould on their sheets but other than that was clean!It is in a good location and perfect if your going away to relax!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathgrie...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would come again”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 7 nights from the 3rd of November in a group of 20. 10 adults and 10 children. The pool was a great hit with the children and adults and we had a pool party for my daughters birthday. The cottage was cleanand set out perfect for us. Also some great walks in the area.
However there was a few issues,the garden was very untidy and badly kept, the bbq was in such bad condition it could not be used. The website needs updated as the quad bikes advertised no longer exist. In need of maintenance on the outside. Apart from this we all had a great holiday and would go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFA74
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I loved it”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I won a stay in Craiglea Lodge and can't believe how lucky I was. The scenery was breathtaking the area amazing. The rooms were comfortable and the pool was brilliant, really warm, loads of toys for the kids. who spent hours playing. It was the perfect place for a family holiday at any time of the year and I would happily recommend it to anyone considering renting the cottages.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mags1949
Kent England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideal for a family get together”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just arrived home from a fun filled few days at Craiglea Lodge. We were a family group ranging from ten to seventy plus in age. The end of October can be tricky with the weather, but we did get some sun! It wouldn't have mattered if it was wet because the children spent hours in the pool. The pool area is lovely and warm and a pleasant place to sit. The rooms were toasty and warm. Having a fire to light in the evenings was an added extra. There's plenty of room for everyone to get together and space if you just want some peace. There's some great walks which everyone enjoyed. The butcher's shop was very close and sold an amazing variety for such tiny premises. It's a great part of Scotland and very friendly.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing