We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location for Exploring Area.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Craiglea Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Latheronwheel, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KayM289
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location for Exploring Area.”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018

The only reason we haven't given this accommodation an excellent is due to a few issues we had with bed configuration on arrival & one or two maintenance issues. Tina, the caretaker, did her best to resolve these and they didn't impact greatly on our weekend.

The property was booked for an extended family get-together for 17 of us. It is not easy to find a venue that can accommodate us all at a reasonable cost and Craiglea Lodge provided everything we needed as a venue and a base for us exploring some of the area, (a longer stay would be needed to do justice to the history & sights in the region). The property is laid out 'upside down' with majority of bedrooms downstairs & living room etc upstairs, this means the sitting & dining room provide an elevated view across the country side, which is great for spotting deer & other wildlife.
The indoor pool was perfect for the kids & adults to unwind & play in (although might have been a bit warmer for our youngest grandchild). There is table tennis in leisure area, some blow-ups for the pool and table & chairs for those not inclined to swim. Had we had better weather there is a large garden area to explore, although it has quite a large slope at the end which may be risky for very young children.
The village is great for walking around to discover the quaint harbour, a play ground with swings etc., and a woodland walk with a fairy village.
All in all we had a great time at Craiglea Lodge & would happily return for another family get-together,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann w
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful family time”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Craiglea was a perfect size for a large family holiday with great views towards the sea. The rooms were generous sizes with plenty of beds and bathrooms for all. The pool,jacuzzi and sauna was a fantastic addition and was used a lot of the time. I am unable to award the full five stars as the dishwasher was not working and one of the TV was not working. I believe this will be corrected soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B
1 review
“Beautiful location, big clean house”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely stay, facilities were great. Clean, tidy house & a friendly lady who helps you. There were a few issues hence we could not give a 5 star with a bit of work it would definately be an excellent place to stay. Its perfectly located to see the North of Scotland. I would recommend for big parties or family gatherings. They provide everything you need. We had an incredible unforgettable week in Scotland and being able to have the people we love with us was amazing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccaba...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really lived upto expectations”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The house is well maintained and clean, facilities are very good, the views and countryside amazing and tourist attractions and activities plentiful. Management are a pleasure to deal with. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to self cater in the northern highlands

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ushigross...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING YOU POSSIBLY WANT UNDER ONE ROOF. WE WILL BE BACK.”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Extremely pleasant and very helpful home owners.
- Very comfortable stay,
- kid friendly.
- Over looking beautiful scenic views.
- Distilleries not far.
- Breathtaking 10 minute walk down to the harbour.
Family really had a great time in your swimming pool. all in all we had a really enjoyable stay and would highly recommend Craiglea lodge for a relaxing fun break / holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benmackay...
Golspie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Craiglea”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic accommodation, very clean and comfortable beds. Facilities are brilliant and the pool kept the children and adults alike very entertained. Would 100% recommend for a family get together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiegree...
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely poor cleanliness and facilities not up to scratch.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived for a family birthday and were all very excited. Upon arrival everything appeared to be good. However on closer inspection we realised the cleanliness was not up to basic standards.

The oven was covered in grease and fat, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. I don't expect a lot but cleaning the oven after previous guests definitely should be done!!
This was not all there were cobwebs in the bedrooms and hairs on the carpets.

If you choose to sleep in the bedroom under the kitchen. Don't expect to get any sleep until all of the guests are out of the kitchen as the extremely loud, creeky floorboards will keep you up.

When using the bathroom in the separate smaller accommodation you have to be over 5ft to switch on the light as it turns on by a cable and the cabel is short and difficult to reach.

Last but not least the lodge advertises a swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. However the jacuzzi was broken and when we phoned the owner she told us that the jacuzzi was permanently broken as they can't get the part anymore. This was very disappointing and should be taken down from the website as this is false advertising and a let down to holiday goers.

I can't fault the location or the company that we all had. Although the things I listed were disappointing we still all had a great time and if cleanliness was improved and the jacuzzi fixed I would consider staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing