We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Taos Ski Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel isn't located in the "real" Taos Ski Valley. Its a bit lower but totally worth to think about if you are going to spend some time in this area. I was a walk-in when I headed for Wheeler peak. I arrived around 5pm and the office was closed at the time but when I was going to call them an employee showed up and helped me immediately. I got a big loft room at the second floor. It had a fridge, a microwave, TV, two bedrooms and a nice bath. Everything was tidy and clean. I enjoyed the hot tube which is outside on the second floor. It was just amazing sitting in hot water and having the mountains and trees in sight. The breakfast was rich, delicious and served on real dinnerware. If I return to Taos Ski Valley I would choose the Columbine again.

Room Tip: Got a nice big room at the second floor with two bedrooms. I'm not sure about the ones the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prinzesschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Let me start with the best part first. The owners! Paul and Susie take a very personal interest in their guests. If something isn't right they will bend over backwards to make it so. The Inn is located in the quaint little village of Taos Ski Valley. The village is about 9200 feet above sea level. The actual Ski Resort is a couple of miles on up the mountain, and I would estimate it to be another 500 feet or so higher. The rooms are spacious and the upstairs rooms are made with a cathedral ceiling and a loft. The loft ladder may be a little steep for young children. Extra care should be exercized, of course. The Breakfast is delicious, hot and attractively served. This was our third stay and we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else in Taos Ski valley!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently stayed at Columbine Inn with the family and LOVED it! We had two rooms next door to each other. The rooms are spacious, bright, clean and comfortable. They include a microwave and fridge. The upstairs "lobby" with tv feels like home. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The owners of this property obviously care about their guests. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked the Columbine Inn at the last minute for a quick ski trip. We booked the loft room and our daughter thought it was the best thing! The room was clean and tidy and all of the staff was extremely nice. The breakfast was served each morning and was not the same thing every day, it was a nice variety. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. Everyone was so friendly and ready to help in anyway we needed. They really accommodated us and we had a great free hot breakfast in the morning. Everything is clean and comfortable and so close to the Skiing! I left my jacket behind when we checked out. Before I noticed it was missing the owners contacted me and then mailed it back to my home! This is a great place to stay!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here during great ski weather (i.e. while it was actively snowing). Paul (co-owner) personally shuttled us to and from the ski area. This place is perfect for couples. Nice outdoor hot tub on the roof. Delicious hot cooked breakfast every morning at 7:30 AM. Our room was equipped with USB charging ports which really came in handy. Our 1st floor king room was updated, modern and clean. The other guests were very quiet, and the inn does have posted quiet hours.

FYI: As of the writing of this review, there is limited AT&T & Verizon cellular service (except for the base of Taos Ski Valley) in the Taos area in general. Columbine Inn provides EXCELLENT Wi-Fi coverage in the rooms so we connected through Wi-Fi.

We would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

Room Tip: Go for the king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. A top request from our guests is more outlets and USP ports so we have been working to upgrade the rooms to include them. Cellular service is also a top request and we are working with the city and Verizon to upgrade the service for the entire village. We hope to have increased cellular coverage by this summer. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your future visit. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The best part of our stay was the rooms...so clean and tidy. Housekeeping did a great job, and they were extremely nice.
Breakfast is served in a separate building, and the atmosphere was nice.
My only suggestion for the management/ownership is to turn the temperature up on the hot tub. It was like warm bath water.
A word of advice to those who stay in Ski Valley...the tax rate is 13%.

Room Tip: Our room had a loft, which my son loved. He's 10, but I wouldn't recommend the loft room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acummings3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize if the temperature in the hot tub did not seem hot enough. The thermostat is set to the state regulations of 102 – 104, but on cold nights it may drop below the set temperature. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future visit. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
1.8 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
150 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
105 reviews
8.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 9 in Red River
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
8.9 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1288 Highway 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range: £101 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Columbine Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We took a handcrafted timber-frame structure, added some TLC and turned it into a classic mountain lodge. The Columbine Inn is locally owned and operated by avid skiers that are not afraid to offer something different from the traditional hotel experience. We’re curious, imaginative and friendly, and we think a hotel should have personality and character. Our goal is to provide a welcoming, unique and unexpected experience that makes you want to return year after year. The Columbine Inn sends you away with fun stories, new friends, and is easy on your pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Columbine Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing