We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huevos Rancheros”

Tim's Stray Dog Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huevos Rancheros”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Wandered into this place after hiking around the area. Excellent Margaritas. My chicken tacos were delicious. The stand out was my husbands Huevos Rancheros. Dang. I wish I had ordered that. Now we have to make a return trip to Taos Ski Valley just so I can have my own plate. We tried Huevos Rancheros everywhere else we visited in Taos and Santa Fe... but we loved Tim's. They had so much flavor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PastaMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    73
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had the fajita's every time. Really like the waiters. More of a party place. Just steps from our room. The have breakfast as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this place”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our favorite place after a long day of skiing. The staff was great, silver coin margarita was to excellent and the food was delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank donnajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apre-ski food!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My whole family enjoyed our dinner here. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was fun and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Could not identify what was in the food... it was not good.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Wife and I ordered Tex Mex. Could not figure out what meat it was chicken, beef or other. I can report it was a terrible meal, just lousy. warmed over and days old. Place has ski atmosphere, good service, and good beer. There not much to choose from in TSV.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tim's Stray Dog Cantina also viewed

Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 

Been to Tim's Stray Dog Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing