We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Mountain Hangout”

Tim's Stray Dog Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Summer Mountain Hangout”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were staying just down the road on a quick summer trip to the mountains to escape the Texas heat, when we found this place. It seems to be a local hang out during the slow summer season. Our waiter had his arm in a sling from a bicycle accident but provided great service with a little help from the bartender...great team. When our daughters began ordering we were advised that everything is made fresh so order it the way you like it. I had the Pork Mole Enchiladas ..Very good, blue tortilla and all. Pulled pork sandwich for my daughter 1 was gone in a flash, as was the chicken sandwich for daughter 2. Mom had a combo plate to sample the relleno, enchilada, and tacos.Our only problem was with the fresh Lime Margaritas...we had 2 each so they must not be too bad...but the fresh lime makes them very tart almost bitter....when we return next year we volunteer to keep sampling until we get it right....great casual laid back atmosphere sit outside if you like, order your food the way you like it....I love this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    72
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great mountain experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A classic ski resort restaurant with that great mountain atmosphere. Everyone in the restaurant was easy going, friendly, and even welcomed us to the ski valley. The dude serving the tables was cool, and served us really good food. The steak tacos were excellent, hit the spot, and we will definitely go back whenever we are in Taos.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Navajo tacos are awesome”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If there's a better place to eat Navajo tacos, I don't know where it is. Make sure to get them "Christmas" style (both green and red chile sauce). The burgers are also fantastic. The Stray Dog has GREAT food and the setting is great. We've eaten there a few times and it has never disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zaskar2ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Cold Beer, Reasonable Nachos, Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Always on the lookout for dog friendly establishments when we travel with Mrs Jones, our four footed friend. After hiking most of the day in the area, Tim's offered a welcome respite. Cold beer on a patio over a stream. Dog allowed on the patio, heck even on the benches! Nachos weren't bad - beans nicely spicy. Service friendly both times. Can imagine very popular during ski season.

Worth stopping in for a brew or two.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“mediocre, overpriced food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is the go-to restaurant in the summer, since it's the only bar/food open in Taos Ski Valley resort at night, so it can get crowded. Menu is typical New Mexican/bar food; bar often gets noisy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tim's Stray Dog Cantina also viewed

Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 

Been to Tim's Stray Dog Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing