We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CALL AHEAD TO CHECK ON CONSTRUCTION STATUS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snakedance Condominiums
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“CALL AHEAD TO CHECK ON CONSTRUCTION STATUS!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Snakedance is located right in the middle of the Taos Ski Valley resort complex, just steps away from a few (mediocre) restaurants; other condos; one coffee stand; and ski gift shops. Staff were wonderful- friendly and helpful. However, there's constant construction going on right next to the condos, so I woke up to drilling/electric saw/banging sounds every morning around 8. Not especially restful if you like to sleep in. Constant construction also meant several power outages, one that lasted several hours. Not sure if these were planned outages, but I did not receive notice about them ahead of time. The units vary in size, views, and comfort- for example, rm. 310 has NO WINDOW. Rm. 314 looks directly into another condo unit. My one bedroom came with a kitchen equipped with all kinds of appliances (dishwasher, microwave, fridge, conventional oven, mixer, coffee maker, toaster, blender) in addition to pots/pans/plates/silverware/etc. Gas stove with one working burner. DirectTV on two TVs (one in living room, one in bedroom). Everything looked clean and fairly new. My unit also came with a stereo sound system + various burned CDs, but other rooms did not have this. There was also a small selection of family-friendly DVDs + paperbacks for most ages. Housekeeping comes by once a day to ask if you need fresh towels or trash bags; they change bed linens + vacuum once a week. I think you can pay more if you want this service more often. Plenty of extra blankets in the closet. Noise from neighboring rooms was minimal, even w/their TVs on, but hallway noises (talking + slamming doors) can get loud. Also, in the summer, there are several camps that rent space here, so you may be around lots of campers. Snakedance has a tiny convenience store that is stocked with liquor, chips, candy, ramen + a few pieces of fruit. Overall, the facility is lovely, but I wouldn't pay $100/night to listen to construction noises all day. Also, the food available is overpriced and not especially special; I suggest getting sandwich supplies at a grocery store, and making the drive into Taos for dinners. 20 min drive to Arroyo Seco (tiny town with fabulous Taos Cow ice cream + pottery shops); 30 min drive to Taos itself. Watch out for the speed trap near the Amizette Inn; I often saw a cop parked there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    4
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took a short weekend trip to Taos Ski Valley to hike and just relax. I found Snakedance Condominiums and am so glad I did. We rented a two-bedroom condominium that was absolutely gorgeous. Both bedrooms were nice sized and extremely comfortable. The kitchen was so well stocked that the only thing I really needed to bring with me was the food. The living room is in between the two bedrooms and has a large TV with comfortable seating for 5 - 6. The staff that we dealt with were wonderful. Taos Ski Valley is a beautiful place to get away from it all and staying at the Snakedance Condominiums just made the whole thing better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLeishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Perfect for multiple families! Ski in and out is a luxury!
Staff were super friendly.
Kitchen and bathrooms were up-to-date and as nice as home.
Long-term parking was near by and the staff was always willing to drive us closer to vehicle.

Room Tip: The large condo was more than sufficient for a family of 4 plus 2 sets of grandparents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I called to ask about an advertised special on their website and the woman who answered said she was currently re-writing their advertisement - that it was a mistake. It said free lift tickets each day - but she said it was supposed to say only 1 day.

When I asked for additional information I was asked twice if I was a woman there in one of there rooms, very weird. They are obvioulsy having problems following through on meeting current guest expectations, so needless to say I finally hung up and we will book our trip elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm sitting in my room with my wife in tears after just being berated by the manager after we inquired about the airport shuttle offered on the website. I can understand things getting confused, but yelling at a woman is absolutely zero way to handle a difficult situation. The location here is great, but the management will not make this place sustainable. I'm hurt, because I love Taos but will likely never make it back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JSki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went to Taos with a ski club and stayed here. Steps from the lifts. I was very impressed with the rooms. They were large (2 bedroom condo with a living room and full kitchen). The bathrooms and kitchen were newly renovated (granite/travertine/slate). There's a conveniently located boot and ski locker. Hondo restaurant has a good apres ski scene. I saw some people complain about the thinness of walls in prior reviews, but I did not notice that. The rooms were a little hot, and the in-room thermostat didn't seem to change it (radiant heat). Yes, the wifi is terrible (better in the lobby), but I understand the new owner of Taos Ski Valley is going to remedy that by putting more/stronger towers in the valley. Nice fireplace beside lots of seating options in the lobby. The spa (hot tub/sauna) is small, but it has one. Good on-site convenience store with a great wine selection. The best part of this resort, however, is the service. The managers and employees were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again when visiting TSV.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sciare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Our group of 12 stayed in 3 separate condos. At $135 a night for a 3 BR condo on the ski slope the rate is amazing. The condos themselves are individually owned so decorations vary slightly from one to the next, but all had basic (very limited) kitchen
supplies. Bedrooms offer choices of king or twins so you can customize to your needs.

On arrival after 5 pm we had a couple frustrating problems including a smoke alarm battery beeping away but we were able to get the issues resolved by contacting emergency numbers. The reservation staff seem a bit disorganized but it all worked out fine.

Room 416 is directly on the main slope and has 2 or 3 BR. Rooms were small but view was great. Rooms 307 and 308 offer 2 BR and very large kitchens but less interesting views.

Laundry is free on the main
floor. BYO detergent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallymamaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
0.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
10.8 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
17.6 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snakedance Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snakedance Condominiums

Property: Snakedance Condominiums
Address: 110 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Snakedance Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Snakedance Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snakedance Condominiums Hotel Taos Ski Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing