We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location with lots of space”

Kandahar Condominiums
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandahar Condominiums
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Our family of six just came back from our first-ever ski-trip to Taos, and we plan to return the Kandahar next year. It is right next to the children's ski school, and my husband, his cousin, and I easily skied in and out each day. We could watch our kids skiing from our balcony while we ate lunch. Our unit (#25) had a master bedroom with the kids room having a double and a bunk bed, plus a sleeper sofa. There were four televisions and two DVD/VCR units. The decor was fine, nothing fancy, but then again, we're paying as much as some of the other ski-in/out condos in Taos. Our housekeeping didn't do too much, and one morning they came at 830 am, I asked them to come after 9 (when the lifts open), and they came back at 845 and just took out trash. We did not use the hot-tub as it would have been two flights of stairs up in the chilly night-air.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

The Kandahar Condos are pretty old and rundown. They were just adequate for the price (($450 per night) - you're paying for the location. The unit we stayed in (104) had dirty carpets, burned out light bulbs, squeaky doors, and poor insulation. There were no instructions for the heating controls and we spent a long time trying to figure out how turn the heat down at night and up in the morning. The shower curtain rod fell off while I was showering and had to be replaced.

They had scheduled snow and ice removal for the week we stayed there and starting at 8am there was a huge racket from all the workers drilling, hammering, and shoveling. They should have warned us that this was planned.

The next time I stay in Taos Ski Valley I will try someplace else.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CalTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Stayed in unit 4 over the weekend. Very nice. Yes, this property is older, but the units appear to have been updated and are very uniquely decorated. Makes for a different experience than the typical hotel/condo. Great for entertaining -spacious living/dining areas. Charming with lots of character!

It's ski-in/ski-out, but two of the buildings are farther from the slope (more walking and stairs).

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

The property is beautifully situated in the Taos ski valley. However, the condo wasn't quite what we expected. The two bedroom we had was pretty outdated with somewhat worn furnishings. I didn't look like the unit was updated since late 70s/early 80s. For the cost per night, I was expecting more - or at least for it to look like the furnishings on the website.

The staff and management were very accommodating and helpful. Housekeeping staff really didn't do any cleaning during our 4 night stay - only dropped off clean towels in the entryway and picked up discarded towels.

I would look for other options next time I'm there.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wis.gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

My entire family found this "Land of Enchantment" using the Internet. www.kandahar-taos.com is a wonderful door into thisincredible place! We had more fun during the week that we were there than we've had anywhere else. It's absolutely beautiful! The Kandahar itself is great. The accommodations were great and the staff are simply nice people. We'll be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carola787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

Well, I've never stayed at a more beautiful place. The new manager is, Shannon Barksdale. She's incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eekieekieekidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Flower Mound, TX
17
Reviewed 15 September 2003

This review is about Kandahar Condominiums in Taos Ski Valley, NM. The condos are spacious and comfortable. The manager (George) is fantastic. We have been going there for several years in the fall. The rates are very reasonable. Tims Stray Dog Canteena is right down the path with great green chile and beer. Take a bird feeder if you want to watch the finches. The hiking around the area is plentiful and the scenery is fabulous.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos Ski Valley hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snakedance Condominiums
Snakedance Condominiums
#3 of 7 in Taos Ski Valley
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Powderhorn Suites & Condominiums
Powderhorn Suites & Condominiums
#4 of 7 in Taos Ski Valley
13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Columbine Inn & Conference Cente...
#2 of 6 in Taos Ski Valley
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Hondo Condos
Rio Hondo Condos
#1 of 7 in Taos Ski Valley
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Condominiums

Address: 35 Firehouse Road, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range: £154 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kandahar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing