We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski in ski out in Taos”

Kandahar Condominiums
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kandahar Condominiums
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ski in ski out in Taos”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The convenience of this property was it's greatest asset - a true ski in/out experience. The unit we had was nicely decorated-many of the others we visited were not. Bedrooms are downstairs via a spiral staircase and were small (we could not open the closet door as the bed was in the way). Kitchens were adequately stocked. One must bring food from the town of Taos (45 minute drive) as stores in the ski village offer little food for cooking. Has hot tub and exercise machines.
The management was responsive and friendly. They were very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Overall for a ski condo, it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osidemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our family stayed at the Kandahar over the weekend. We have 4 and 6 year old girls who really enjoyed the condo. Unit #18 was clean, nicely decorated and overall very nice. We were very impressed with the furnishings and the use of space. The unit is located on the ski mountain and has amazing views overlooking the TSV Children's Learning Center. The Kandahar is walking distance (~500ft) to the shops, bars and restaurants in TSV. The staff were also friendly and very helpful. Upon our arrival, we received a quick orientation to the property, and unit #18.

Great kitchen and open living/dining area with wood-burning fireplace, with free firewood and firestarter. We will definitely stay again and recommend without hesitation.

On site facilities include a small fitness room with hot tub and steam room, as well as laundry.

Kandahar #18 is an awesome unit in a great location!!! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
383 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Our family of six just came back from our first-ever ski-trip to Taos, and we plan to return the Kandahar next year. It is right next to the children's ski school, and my husband, his cousin, and I easily skied in and out each day. We could watch our kids skiing from our balcony while we ate lunch. Our unit (#25) had a master bedroom with the kids room having a double and a bunk bed, plus a sleeper sofa. There were four televisions and two DVD/VCR units. The decor was fine, nothing fancy, but then again, we're paying as much as some of the other ski-in/out condos in Taos. Our housekeeping didn't do too much, and one morning they came at 830 am, I asked them to come after 9 (when the lifts open), and they came back at 845 and just took out trash. We did not use the hot-tub as it would have been two flights of stairs up in the chilly night-air.

  • Liked — location and spaciousness
  • Disliked — some doors squeaked and were tricky to open
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

The Kandahar Condos are pretty old and rundown. They were just adequate for the price (($450 per night) - you're paying for the location. The unit we stayed in (104) had dirty carpets, burned out light bulbs, squeaky doors, and poor insulation. There were no instructions for the heating controls and we spent a long time trying to figure out how turn the heat down at night and up in the morning. The shower curtain rod fell off while I was showering and had to be replaced.

They had scheduled snow and ice removal for the week we stayed there and starting at 8am there was a huge racket from all the workers drilling, hammering, and shoveling. They should have warned us that this was planned.

The next time I stay in Taos Ski Valley I will try someplace else.

  • Liked — The location was convenient to the ski lifts
  • Disliked — Noise and poor quality.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CalTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Stayed in unit 4 over the weekend. Very nice. Yes, this property is older, but the units appear to have been updated and are very uniquely decorated. Makes for a different experience than the typical hotel/condo. Great for entertaining -spacious living/dining areas. Charming with lots of character!

It's ski-in/ski-out, but two of the buildings are farther from the slope (more walking and stairs).

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

The property is beautifully situated in the Taos ski valley. However, the condo wasn't quite what we expected. The two bedroom we had was pretty outdated with somewhat worn furnishings. I didn't look like the unit was updated since late 70s/early 80s. For the cost per night, I was expecting more - or at least for it to look like the furnishings on the website.

The staff and management were very accommodating and helpful. Housekeeping staff really didn't do any cleaning during our 4 night stay - only dropped off clean towels in the entryway and picked up discarded towels.

I would look for other options next time I'm there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unit needs to be updated
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wis.gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2008

My entire family found this "Land of Enchantment" using the Internet. www.kandahar-taos.com is a wonderful door into thisincredible place! We had more fun during the week that we were there than we've had anywhere else. It's absolutely beautiful! The Kandahar itself is great. The accommodations were great and the staff are simply nice people. We'll be visiting again soon.

  • Liked — The beauty of Taos Ski Valley
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carola787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
0.3 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
69 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Columbine Inn & Conference Cente...
#2 of 6 in Taos Ski Valley
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Hondo Condos
Rio Hondo Condos
#1 of 7 in Taos Ski Valley
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Condominiums

Property: Kandahar Condominiums
Address: 35 Firehouse Road, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kandahar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing