We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel St. Bernard watches over skiers!”
Review of Hotel St Bernard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos Ski Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel St Bernard
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel St. Bernard watches over skiers!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have been staying at this wonderful, old-world-style hotel in Taos, NM, every winter for 35 years. I learned to ski there, my kids learned to ski here, and my grand kids are now learning to ski here. Jean Mayer is the owner/proprietor, and he is the consummate host. A marvelous Frenchman with bright eyes and a great outlook on life and skiing, Jean makes everyone feel the joie de vivre. All meals are served at the table --- no menus please. And it is 5 star delicious!! The staff are all old friends who have worked there for years, so you feel right at home. Go here, if you want to eat well and be treated like family. I can't think of anywhere else I'd rather go to spend a week skiing.

Room Tip: My husband and I stay in a ground floor A- frame, and our kids stay in the Alpenhauf with their kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

There are lots of reasons to come to Taos Ski Valley - the mountain, the ski school, the collection of unique shops...Andrea who owns Peruvian Software, spends many of here evenings waiting table in the bar - she loves the place so much.

We have been coming to the Hotel St. Bernard for something like 20 years.
John Mayer conceived this magical European-style inn when he was in the Cornell Hotel School in the1950's. He built it from trees cleared off the mountain to make the ski runs and expanded it from a restaurant plus 27 rooms over a few years after it's opening in 1960. The place reeks of history.

Taos Ski Valley is a family endeavor, still owned and managed by the children and grandchildren of the Swiss-German founder. The St. Bernard likewise is still lovingly managed by John and his extended family of brother, nieces, nephews and children. Many of the non-family staff has been with him for 20-40 years. His original chef retired and missed the place so much that he came back happy to do odd jobs for the kitchen.

The high point is the hotel's location on the mountain - out the back door in the morning and with a very short run, you are on the life. Ski in to the same back door when finished. ZERO walking with skis.

The food is the BEST and there are 3 meals every day, included in the price...all a blend of French/Southwest and ALL served with a smile by the proud owner (who is also technical director of the ski school).

After coming the same weeks for years, we have so many good friends that we can't stand the idea of not going.

The only negative is possibly the altitude - you sleep at about 9400 feet which for some bodies requires some adjustment.

Try the Hotel St. Bernard once; you will want to make it an annual event.

Room Tip: Depends on your needs. The rooms above the dining room are small (enough for 2 people); the A-frame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel St Bernard every year for 52 years. We love its friendliness, fabulous food, ski in and out location, superb staff, and delightful guests. Most of the guests are repeat customers, so we see many old friends each year. We feel we are guests at a house party.
We have skied all over the rockies. Without a doubt this is the one sure place we will go every year.
But this is for skiers. Taos Ski Vally is a tiny, end of the road place, and its entire purpose is skiing.And the skiing is superb. Not much night life, nor shopping.. The ski week is a fabulous deal and most guest opt for it--two hours each morning with the same instructor and same fellow-students.( Usually 4 to 6 students). It's fun and you DO learn. Don't choose Taos or the St Bernard if you dont want to skii.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is the ultimate for a skiing experience.
If you are a Gourmet Food Lover, have travelled extensively in Europe and love it and the old world charm, enjoy good wine, and expect to be in the best location possible, nothing else compares! This charming old European Hotel offers fab beds, and all the basics for a good night sleep. It is not luxury, it is warm, clean and functional. The ski school is one of the best in the country, and their instructors are top notch.
Go for a ski week - food......steak & lobster, duck ala orange, fois gras, buffalo prime rib, and the most wonderful home made soups and deserts. Lunches over the top - Best food in the area! I live in Lake Tahoe, so I have many choices when it comes to skiing - I travel extensively and love this place. Ive come every year about same time for 7 years now! Many repeat customers - we are like family now.
If you want a 5 star hotel with all the "American" extras, maybe not the place for you and we wouldnt want with us here either!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The St Bernard is the quintessential ski lodge and has been the premier place to stay since Ernie founded Taos in the Fifties. It is cozy and warm and the food is some of the best you will find anywhere in ski country. On a sunny day there are great burgers on the deck as well. Check out the dinners, they are exceptional, but since they only take a few outside reservations you need to be staying there or be sure to make reservations early. While staying there make sure to take advantage of the fantastic ski and ride school packages as well. Happy skiing or boarding.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It begins in a high mountain valley in Northern New Mexico were true skiers are born. I was born into the St. B family, my parents meet here and married. Now, after 20 years of employment I am one of their great chefs. I remember as a small boy warming by the open fire in the center dinning room, Jean Mayer would come put his hand on my head and ask if I enjoyed the day of skiing? My experience is, a magic mountain a charming, warm, and welcoming St. Bernard Hotel, one can stay for a week or a life time!

Room Tip: rooms 1-10and 28 good for night owls. rooms 11-27 romantic or good for familys
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My first visit to Taos and the St. B was when I was 21. I went out with some family who have been going there for over 30 years. As if a ski up hotel was not enough, they truly make you feel like family. Casual and welcoming you feel like St. B is your home for a week. First class dining, wonderful rooms, and great staff. Everyone in town knows Jean ( Proprietor of the St. B) and saying that your staying at the St. B for the week is received with an envious " ohhh".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
0.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
142 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Columbine Inn & Conference Cente...
#2 of 6 in Taos Ski Valley
87 reviews
14.2 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snakedance Condominiums
Snakedance Condominiums
#3 of 7 in Taos Ski Valley
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Bernard

Property: Hotel St Bernard
Address: 112 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jean Mayer arrived in Taos Ski Valley over fifty years ago with a passion for skiing and a dream to create a sanctuary for like-minded ski lovers. With his family, he began building the hotel in 1960. Its sturdy log construction mirrors European Alpine traditions and is located right at the base of Al's Run and the main chairlift. Today it is the only hotel in Taos Ski Valley still offering the traditional, all-inclusive Ski Week – a full week of immersion into the passion of skiing with every need supplied by a well-trained staff of skiing professionals. At the Hotel St. Bernard we continually evolve while keeping an eye on the past. The St. Bernard has stood the test of time since 1960, nestled on the ski slopes it is a perennial favorite. We maintain an historic appeal but we constantly seek improvement to offer a distinctive flair to our guests. The hotel has 28 lodge-style rooms, a beautiful communal dining room with a superbly stocked bar, a spa and work out room, and ski storage lockers. Enjoy lunch outside on the deck - location, location, location! The deck is located on the ski slope! Enjoy a taste of New Mexico with our famous green-chile cheeseburger, other lunchtime treats, drinks and more! The Hotel St. Bernard Ski Week includes 7 nights in hotel room (double occupancy), 6 morning ski lessons, 6 days lift tickets, three meals a day in the Hotel dining room, and for those of you with children, our world famous children's program!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing