We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprising stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau d'Ortaffa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau d'Ortaffa
Ranked #1 of 7 Ortaffa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
the netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A surprising stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were there for two nights because we wanted to visit Collioure and did n't want to stay in the turistic bustle of that town. Ortaffa was a great and wonderful alternative. it was like coming home after a day full of stress. The B&B is an unique one, The rooms are decorated with good taste. There is a lot to see: things of art and some curiosa. All very tasteful. And the rooms are utterly spacious, We had a bathroom where we could dance in, a special drawing room and a very spacious bedroom. The owners Michelle and Alain received us with a warm welcome on their terrace, viewing the town of Ortaffa. Even the former president De Gaulle stayed here once. Isn't that great?

Room Tip: If you want to stay nearby some beautiful towns like Céret and Collioure, but also like the peace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliciawinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
118
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I spent 4 nights with my fiancee at Chateau d'Ortaffa and we were absolutely charmed by this gem. We loved the 900 years old building, all the nice art objects inside, but more than this our stay here was delightful thanks to the hosts who made us feel right at home. They had good recommendations for us, make sure you will ask their opinion when in need to find where to eat or what to visit.

Room Tip: if you are a couple, ask for Collioure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Alain and Michelle, the best of hosts, made the stay at this beautiful old Chateau most enjoyable. Their insights and knowledge of the local areas provided excellent dining and visits over our six day stay in both the Collioure and Baroque rooms, the later to be preferred for a longer stay. Nothing was a problem for the hosts and many pleasant mornings and evenings were spent on the terrace. This is a very comfortable and relaxing base to travel from for sights and meals.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Beautiful chateau with lots of history located in a relaxing setting; very nice views of the countryside. The interior is so charming and filled with lots of interesting antiques. Michelle and Alain were great hosts! They served a delicious breakfast and gave us a very good recommendation for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Unfortunately we could only stay for one night, but hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

You will not fail to be enchanted by the interior of the Chateau d`Ortaffa ; decorated with flair and sensitivity. The hosts are attentive and welcoming..........with wise recommendations of several nearby restaurants.Use of a car is essential, but the hotel is well situated for both sea and mountain excursions.We stayed in the Picasso room......but having seen the other rooms , wished we had paid to upgrade !!

Room Tip: If you can afford ,go for the dearer rooms..........stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1983187159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Was a little sceptic driving through the little town, but was immediately surprised entering the Chateau. Very friendly hosts and a charming old Chateau. Room was nice but very basic. Internet was very fast in the room. Quiet town. Breakfast by a little table in the grand room. Very charming.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartiflette0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Michelle and Alain were wonderful hosts in their beautiful house full of interesting art and antiques. We had a week long stay in both the Collioure and Picasso Suite and both rooms were lovely and full of character. Alain was extremely helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants (definitely recommend Le Clocher in Collioure!). The Chateau is in a great location for sightseeing...close to some beautiful Pyrenean hill towns (Eus and Castelnou) and an amazing stretch of coastline. The breakfast was exquisite every morning...very civilized! We would definitely recommend to friends hoping to visit the area. Rhian & Rob, Cardiff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortaffa
7.7 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ile de la Lagune
Hotel L'Ile de la Lagune
#1 of 5 in Saint-Cyprien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.7 mi away
Host & Vinum
Host & Vinum
#1 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
9.2 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Ortaffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Ortaffa

Property: Chateau d'Ortaffa
Address: 8 rue du Chateau | 8 rue du Château, 66560 Ortaffa, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ortaffa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ortaffa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearby from Collioure. Close the very beautiful village of Collioure, Cathar castles, and also nearby the Spanish border (Cadaques, Gerona). Michelle and Alain welcome you as friends in their large bright and lovely "Maison de Famille", for a pleasant stay between mountain and sea. You will discover the many treasures (cultural, historic and touristic) of North Catalunya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau d'Ortaffa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing