We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price, sneaky!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piarco International Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Piarco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piarco International Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the price, sneaky!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

So we had to stay here for just one night and figured it would be convenient since it was near airport and highway, what a mistake. When we checked in the receptionist told us we could use cash or card, but she failed to explain there would be a $10 charge for using the card until after she had swiped the card. We had $130 cash and could have paid for the room without extra fees. Then our poor excuse for a room smelled musty, the A/C was on but they didn't have anymore remotes so we could not control it. My girl heard cell phone ring right outside our bathroom window which creeped her out (there was a club 5 meters from the hotel walls). Thank goodness we traveled with our own bathroom towels, the hotel towels were staine and smelled horrible.

Room Tip: There is a Holiday inn express 1 mile north which is same price, but cleaner, more helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    5
    5
    16
See reviews for
5
8
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingstown, Saint George, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Located just five minutes from Piarco International Airport Trinidad, The The Piarco International Hotel is convenient for passengers who must over night in Trinidad and Tobago.

The staff is friendly and helpful, wake-up calls are offered and great effort is made to ensure you are transported (airport pickup and drop off is included in the service) to the airport in time.
The rooms are very average ,in fact my reading lamp did not work and the air conditioner was a bit noisy. Nevertheless, if the aim is a convenient, reasonably cost hotel just to pass the night until you catch your flight it is recommended.
The meals are homely and there is a modest swimming pool which adds to the ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Ok so we thought it would be a good idea to stay near the airport to save money on cab fares to and from Port of Spain for early flights.
The free airport transfer is the highlight of this excuse for a hotel. We had a standard double room for over $100. The room smelt of moth balls and must. The air-conditioning was so cold but they only have a couple of controllers so if you want to change the temperature you have to ask reception. The bed was ok.
Breakfast is the most overpriced two eggs i have ever eaten. 110 TT (just under $US15) got me a glass of juice from a carton, even though they advertise 'fresh'. Two boiled eggs and toast and an unedible 'sausage'. A quarter of an apple and small amount of watermelon.
The free wifi is completely unreliable.
It seems the hotel survives off customers sent by the airlines for cancelled flights etc...
Try to find an alternative!!

Room Tip: We were given a room on the main road. If you can avoid the side above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jahmahson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piarco hotels

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I were put in this hotel by Caribbean air after missing a connection (seems to be a common theme).... Overall, the room wasn't terrible, however, DO NOT EAT HERE! Take the $7 shuttle to the mall and get something to eat there, the food in the "restaurant" here was completely inedible. Thanks, Caribbean for those meal vouchers for lunch and dinner. Bleck. Also, pool was closed, so other than the very limited cable offering, there wasn't much to do to entertain ourselves for the 14 hours we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My flight was cancelled and American Airlines put me up for the night at this hotel. The hotel shuttle picked us up and we were greeted by the reception staff at this hotel in the most friendly way. My room I must say was not as bad previous reviewers have written. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. What else do you want at 2am in the morning! The convenience of the hotel being so near to the airport meant that we didn't have a great distance to travel the next morning. The breakfast was filling and the waitress was attentive and friendly. It is not a 5* hotel but it was definitely acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I recently got stranded by United Airlines at the Piarco International Airport. United Airlines put us up for the night at the Piarco International Hotel. This place is a first class dump. The rooms are dark. I had one light. The bathroom has one towel. The rooms
have a musty smell . The carpet looks like its 20 years old. The peole running the hotels are unfriendly. When you check in they give you a TV remote. When you check out they expect you to bring it to the front desk. The hotel has 3 floors, with NO elevator.
There were a number of us that stayed the night, and comparing stories, all others found the rooms terrible. Its close to a busy road, and there is a bar next door. Don't expect a lot of sleep. The restuarant service is very slow, howver the food was average.
The air conditioner did work. They are also converting one US dollar at 5.5TT. The bank rate is about 6.4TT per US dollar. Average street conversion in Trinidad is $6TT to 1 US$.
United gave this hotel a $200.00 voucher for the room. An extreme ripoff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lzb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The previous review says it all. I was forced to stay here by Caribbean Airlines are they cancelled my flight last weekend. The staff are unhelpful but then again they are working in a dump and are bombarded with complaints!! It is dingy dirty and no amenities - have no right being called either a hotel or international. I must admit to being very scared at night and event the other Bars and restaurants close by are somewhat suspect!! Never again and I will be seeking compensation.
I was given US$30.00 by CAL for dinner. On arrival at the restaurant I was told that is the equivalent of US20.00 when the tax and service charge are removed: That got me a bacon cheesburger and not even a soft drink!! A coke if TT 18.00 ( US$3.00) and a beer is TT 20.00 (US $3.30)
My advice - pay the US$20.00 for the VIP lounge and sleep there!!!

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbadosTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piarco
1.7 mi away
Regent Star Hotel
Regent Star Hotel
#2 of 5 in Piarco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#12 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
13.1 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
11.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
11.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piarco International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piarco International Hotel

Property: Piarco International Hotel
Address: 8-10 Golden Grove Road, Piarco, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Piarco
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing