We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a let down...”
Review of Regent Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regent Star Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Piarco
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel in conveniently placed near the airport. It is a 60 second drive and 5-10 min walk from the arrivals terminal. However you will never guess it was near the airport from the interior as you won't hear the airport noise from the interior of the hotel.

I think my girl put it most eloquently when she said "They pretend to be fancy when they are really not." The lobby looks really nice, spacious and modern but it was painfully obvious that the hotel was incomplete from the empty fountain, to the wires hanging from the ceiling in several places, to the lack of landscaping when you look outside your window. The elevator doesn't work but that was ok since the ground floor rooms are the only ones ready. To get to the rooms you had to pass through a dark hallway and you can hardly see the place to put your key in. The "key" is really a card. The key also "powers" up the room as the lights in the room won't work if the key is not in it's slot. When you take the key out the lights go out 3-5 mins after it's removal.

The room (standard King) is spacious dominated by a king sized bed flanked by 2 end tables. One side (closer to the door) has a clock and phone while the other had a bible in the drawer. There is a desk with a lamp with a office chair and an arm chair in the corner. There is also good Wi-Fi for your portable devices and an lcd tv with cable.

The closet had some hangers and drawers with a safe for your valuables. But the safe was inoperable. The bed was firm not to hard nor too soft. It made for a good night's rest.

The bathroom was somewhat small but well appointed with modern fittings. They was also complementary shower gel and shampoo/conditioner. There were also the usual amount of towels and face cloths. It should be noted that it is not a tub though but a fancy looking shower stall.

The staff get full marks for being very courteous, warm, helpful and seemed accommodating to our needs such as asking if we needed a ride to various places we needed to go to or if we needed fresh towels etc. Top class staff!

The one thing that marred the stay is that there was no power on the morning we were set to leave.

To me the price was the biggest let down for an incomplete hotel that has stiff competition. A king bed is about 200 USD after taxes and you still have to pay an additional 23 USD for breakfast. Which we declined. We simply didn't feel as we got our money's worth staying at this location as basically all you get is a bed to sleep in and an opportunity to take a shower.

In the final analysis the Hotel has lots of potential and will be beautiful when it is finished however I will be hard pressed to stay a night here again and pay a top class price for a hotel that is not quite so top class; more so when the Hyatt regency in POS is the same price with breakfast or if you need to be near the airport there is Innflight suites which has the same amenities at 150 usd with cereal, muffin, granola bar and juice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Francis083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dami R, Manager at Regent Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property because with this review we can see what changes we need to make in order to move forward and increase customer satisfaction.

We do apologize for you not leaving with a sense of full satisfaction, please give us the opportunity to correct that by staying with us in the future so we can get the chance to demonstrate the world class service that we are committed to giving to each guest that comes with our doors. We would also like to thank you for your kind words as this will be one of our motivations to be even better.

The Key-card is a Mag-strip card and it powers the energy saving units in the rooms, which explains why the electricity goes off after a few seconds of removing the card from the energy saving unit. It is a means on energy conservation.

Kindest regards,
Damion Richards
Senior Housekeeping Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

I can't complain. I visited the Regent Star Hotel for the weekend on February 3rd to the 5th 2013 and my stay was very nice. The hotel is new, first-class maintained and is very well run. It is situated directly opposite the Piarco International Airport and is very convenient. I was greeted by the friendly staff at arrival and was quickly led to my room. The hotel area is very big. There are two restaurants and of course, both the quality and taste of the food and drinks was spectacular not only delicious and on time. The menu was excellent and especially the fish was great. The menu was rich for every day. There were several additional dishes of the day. Guests can choose between buffet and a la carte menu at the restaurant.
The room was luxuriously appointed (air conditioning, fridge, safe, TV, etc). Directly in front of the balcony was the view of the Piarco International Airport. Furthermore the room was excellent and tastefully furnished. Picture paints a thousand words. The room has everything, which one needs in such a way, the safe to the air conditioning. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was daily cleaned and well kept. Everything is new and is located thus in top condition. I must mention, room service was exceptional. Furthermore all employees, including the managers of the hotel were very welcoming, nice and friendly.
I was told by the management of Regent Star Hotel that there were additional facilities in the hotel that await the pleasure of guest such as spa, tennis court, games room, gym, jacuzzi, and an antique car museum.
I would recommend this hotel since the location, the hotel and staff-great! The days I visited I did not want to miss a second away from this fantastic new hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shereen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We've just returned from a trip to Trinidad and had a wonderful stay at Regent Star Hotel at Piarco Airport. This is a new hotel with tremendous potential; there's still a little work being done to finalise some of the rooms on the higher levels but that didn't affect our stay at all.

On arriving at the airport a quick call to the hotel and our shuttle bus arrived to take us and our luggage the short distance. We could see the hotel from the airport but didn't fancy dragging our cases around the roads in the mid day heat so opted for the shuttle.

Once at the hotel we found the reception area very modern, spacious, light and airy and received a great welcome from the reception team. We were soon shown to our room on the ground floor, which was larger than we expected with a lovely large shower. It was well equipped and housekeeping kept it spotlessly clean. The linen and towels were lovely and white and the team discussed with us daily about changing any towels.

The bar area was very welcoming and the patio area outside was a lovely spot for an afternoon drink. Bearing in mind that the hotel is so close to the airport we were pleasantly surprised how quiet it was. Once inside the hotel you couldn't hear the planes and outside it didn't cause us a problem; actually I found it quite fascinating watching the comings and goings.

The restaurant is a lovely large room and decorated very modern. The food was great; we tried most things over our stay and never had anything that we didn't like or could complain about. The staff were very accommodating if you wanted changes to the menu.

Overall I would say that this is a great hotel and once completely finished will be excellent.

At the time of our stay wifi hadn't been installed, but we were informed it was on the way. It didn't cause us a problem because when we wanted to use the internet we were shown to a computer desk behind reception so having no wifi caused us no problems. There's also going to be spa and pool facilities but they're not complete yet.

We enjoyed our stay that much that we're returning for a valentine event in February, and taking friends, and I'll definitely be keeping an eye on it's development over the forthcoming months.

I hope you found this review helpful.

Room Tip: We were shown around the hotel so once all the rooms are open I'm not sure I'd be able to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank ErikLooijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Wilson_Santos_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank ricardinadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank CMONTEON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piarco
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
12 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,291 reviews
12 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
25.4 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Star Hotel

Address: 119 Bwia Boulevard 118, Piarco, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Piarco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Piarco
Price Range: £142 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unparalleled location coupled with the unique traveler allows Regent Star Hotel to become an oasis within the eventful Piarco environs. Regent Star Hotel is situated a mere minute away from Trinidad's main port of entry, Piarco International Airport. The unprecedented luxurious furnishings accompanied by our amicable, intuitive Associates allow you the opportunity to unwind and relax after an exigent day. Our stylishly designed Standard Rooms, Junior Rooms, Executive Suites and Presidential Suites are outfitted with all modern amenities and conveniences right at your finger tips. Tantalize your taste buds with exquisite cuisine at our Flavours Restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. No matter what's the occasion or travel purpose at Regent Star Hotel we guarantee you can..........Relax, Work, Eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing