We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in all areas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent Star Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Regent Star Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Trinidad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent in all areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Amidst the exterior paint color of the building, inside is very classy and i would definitely rate it as a 5-star hotel. The lobby area is large, well-decorated and lighted. Floors and restrooms are clean. The meals are great and the dining area spacious. You must try this gem of a place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
15
24
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I went to a graduation ball there in July. Was very nice there. Really beautiful interior designs.Excellent location too.My students enjoyed Their graduation dinner and dance.When you got there you felt like you were in another place.So much to see and look at when you got inside. Simply breath taking. I hope to go there again soon. I've developed a nice relationship with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaGeorgeWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

First of all the hotel is unfinished. Work is still being done and I believe at the end of it all it'll be a remarkable place to stay at. The staff is very courteous and friendly. Upon my arrival it took me quite a while to get a room. I received my electronic key card for my room and my room couldn't be opened. Definitely not efficient service. I waited approximately half hour for this situation to be rectified and to be allocated to another room. The room was very spacious and had all amenities I expected. It was tastefully designed with modern fixtures and fittings. It was worth its value. The customer service could greatly be improved though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanel4713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent Star H, General Manager at Regent Star Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for making the Regent Star the ultimate hotel of choice for your stay while in Trinidad. It was definitely our pleasure serving you!
On behalf of the Management & Associates of Regent Star Hotel we do apologize for all the inconvenience caused by the delay with the room key; however we are happy to report that the glitch with the computerized system was rectified. We appreciate the feedback and do assure you on your next visit you will be pleasantly surprised.
Relax, Work, Eat as we are Only a Moment to Your Flight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Hotel is still not totally completed from what I see, however the food was good, the portions could have been more though for the price, and the Female Bartender was great at mixing up the drinks. The room was small but comfortable. The pool and other features are still being worked on.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsalfredtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hotel refused to accept American Express travellor's cheque.Desk clerk stated "we only take money.If you don't have that,you could use a credit card" she suppoedly phoned some-one to see if they would take travellors cheque then said it is not possible.She then took my credit card to another room to "make a copy" I had no choice-----it was that or leave the hotel .I asked for a charger for my cell phone because I had been reassured when I made the reservation,that it was available and no problem.However this desk clerk informed me that the othe person didn't know what they were talking about.She offered to keep my cell phone and give it back when I was leaving.Only an idiot would do that.I asked for the name of the general manager of the hotel and was told they don't have one.I asked who owned the hotel and was told they are not allowed to divulge that information. I have advised all the Tobago travellors that I know to avoid this insulting place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tobagofuncow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent Star H, Manager at Regent Star Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for making the Regent Star Hotel the ultimate hotel of choice during your visit to Trinidad. I am terribly sorry you are not happy with some of the service you received.

I would like to take this opportunity to give an update on some of the challenges you encountered. With regards to the payment, we are currently finalizing the verification procedures which will allow us to accept Travellers Cheque.

Our Front Office Representative left the desk to copy your ID which is our usual procedure. We can assure you that your credit card was not copied. It is also usual hotel policy that all cell phones once the charging service is needed will be left at the Charging Station located at the Front Desk for a few hours until charge has been restored. It is customary that the chargers are not removed from the Front Desk since other guests may need to use them.

The Regent Star hotel is owned by a Board of Directors and the all departmental managers report to our Operations Director. We do hope despite your challenges, d you are willing to give us another chance, upon your next visit.

If there is anything additional we can do to assist please do not hesitate to contact me as I look forward to working with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

the big difference is you can walk from the terminal to the hotel and arrive in a new, nice and well managed hotel. Prices are in line with the prices of POS. At the date of our visit (April 4th) the hotel still needs some completion and there are few works in progress, but that is not a big trouble for the guests. Good service and good food

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SERGIO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent Star H, Sales & Marketing at Regent Star Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for making the Regent Star your ultimate hotel of choice for your visit to Trinidad. We do appreciate your feedback. On your next visit feel free to let us arrange a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport for you!\
Have a fantastic day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown,Guyana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

It certainly is a relief to finally have a decent place to stay near to Piarco airport. It is brand new with great facilities and stylishly designed. My problem was that it was extremely difficult to get a reservation. I don't know whether this has now been fixed but when I tried to book a room a few weeks ago, there was no online reservation system, the email address on the website was not responded to and it took me several long distance calls to finally get the booking. The room was ok but then I noticed that those on the upper floors had balconies while mine, on the ground floor, did not. I only stayed there for one day, not overnight, so my assessment of the place is a bit limited. Anyway, having stayed at other airport hotels nearby, this one would have to be rated the best.

Room Tip: If you need a balcony, ask for it. The ground floor rooms only have tiny windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel_Durrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent Star H, Manager at Regent Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and also for writing a review on our property. We do apologize for the difficulty you faced in trying to make a reservation. However our website will be up and running shortly and this matter will be resolved.

I do hope we have the privilege of having you as one of our valued guests in the future.

Regards,
Management team of Regent Star Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piarco
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
14.5 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
14.1 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
13.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Star Hotel

Property: Regent Star Hotel
Address: 119 Bwia Boulevard 118, Piarco, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Piarco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unparalleled location coupled with the unique traveler allows Regent Star Hotel to become an oasis within the eventful Piarco environs. Regent Star Hotel is situated a mere minute away from Trinidad's main port of entry, Piarco International Airport. The unprecedented luxurious furnishings accompanied by our amicable, intuitive Associates allow you the opportunity to unwind and relax after an exigent day. Our stylishly designed Standard Rooms, Junior Rooms, Executive Suites and Presidential Suites are outfitted with all modern amenities and conveniences right at your finger tips. Tantalize your taste buds with exquisite cuisine at our Flavours Restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. No matter what's the occasion or travel purpose at Regent Star Hotel we guarantee you can..........Relax, Work, Eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Regent Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing