We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely mini break!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stillington, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sophie B
2 reviews
“Lovely mini break!”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We decided an improptu break and choose this little cottage near York.

It was such a pretty little cottage, well equipped with plenty of games for us all to play (Children nearly 4 and 6), with tea & coffee supplies etc and a cake on arrival.

We tried a different place to eat each night - the White bear pub, the fish and chip shop, and the local indian. And we couldn't fault either, the owners and the locals were all very friendly.

Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty C
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great week in cosy cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We arrived late in the evening to find a cosy cottage awaiting us. The owners had kindly left us fresh milk and all the necessities for a cup of tea complete with locally made cake.
The cottage was comfortably furnished with everything we needed.
The owner was very friendly and suggested local places to eat & visit.

On the doorstep is a lovely pub (white bear) and a great restaurant (bay tree) both are worth a visit.

It takes about 15-20 mins to get into York dependant on traffic. But there are lots of routes out of the village worth exploring.
A great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
404tunele...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely little place, adjacent to the owner's house and was well equipped with lovely decor and some nice, welcoming finishing touches with some basic provisions and treats there to make us feel at home. They haven't skimped on decorating the place either so it is very comfortable, and also set in a village hosting a pub, a pub/restaurant and a particularly good indian restaurant all within a few yards.

Just knocking one star off though as having spent in excess of £500 for a 3 night stay, I might have expected to be able to have enough material to feed the real fire for more than a single night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarkesIn...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Chappel Cottage. We were given a warm welcome by Tania and David on arrival and were shown round the cottage which was exactly as described. Home made cookies and sloe gin were also awaiting us which was a lovely touch. The cottage is very well equipped and a lot of unexpected extras such as milk, soap, washing up liquid, bin bags, kitchen roll were also provided. The village is stunning and the location is ideal for anyone who wants to explore York and the surrounding area. The Local pubs and restaurants were all fantastic and are all just a very short walk from the cottage. The White Bear is literally across the road and the great quality food and excellent local beers made this our favourite. We will definitely be back to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing