We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atcham
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in the middle of February and I would love to come again in the summer. The location is stunning, right next to the river and opposite the entrance to Attingham Park. An old coaching inn, it is full of charm and tastefully decorated. Our visit in February meant we were welcomed by a roaring log fire in the busy bar/restaurant area.

The wedding ceremony and breakfast were in the converted stables, while the the courtyard was covered with a glass roof and filled with garden furniture, so it made best use of the natural light.

The food was excellent, and the range of options at breakfast the next morning was impressive and well cooked.

Our room was a superior suite and was very comfortable and a good size.

Overall a good quality hotel and a great location for visiting the local area.

Room Tip: The stairs would be a bit awkward for anyone with mobility issues but there are rooms on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    105
    78
    26
    26
See reviews for
74
151
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for one night after family funeral.Welcome was super and nothing was too much trouble,especially helpful as we had travelled from N.Devon during the worst of the rain and gales!
The post funeral reception was handled very compassionately and efficiently.
The overnight stay saw us in large,quiet, comfy and spotless rooms with excellent decor and antiques age appropriate to the building(the old rectory I think).All in all it was like being at home or staying with a friend albeit much cleaner and tidier!
We had a great meal both at dinner and breakfast and it felt as if we were leaving old friends.
Despite the distance I am trying to work out an excuse to return!

Room Tip: modern" standard" rooms in old stables are smaller but fine and the superior bedrooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in a large kingsize room with a river view which was very nice, although the windows rattled in the wind ( nothing a bit of newspaper didn't resolve) the staff were helpful and we had a great evening meal that was included in the price. Breakfast was good too. We would definitely return if back in the area.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large, with a little seating area and great river view. However not for anyone with mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a pleasant one night's stay which included an excellent Full English Breakfast and dinner which did not quite meet our expectations regarding food and service.
The bedroom was well appointed with good toiletries in the bathroom and an excellent selection of items to drink with little complementary cakes and sweets. However, the sleep quality was poor as the bed was not very comfortable and creaked and it was impossible to control the heating in the room which was far too hot. There was also a large cobweb in the corner!

Room Tip: in the main building bedrooms unsuitable for people who cannot climb narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked the Mytton Suite,overlooking the river and the Atcham Bridge.A lovely spacious room with a huge 4-poster.We paid for it of course but it was worth it for a birthday celebration.
We had been attracted by the prospect of live music starting at 6 pm.By 7pm,no sign of any music.On enquiry we were told the singer had phoned in sick -so no music ! Attempting to eat in the restaurant was chaotic. We had done a deal regarding the menu, but the waiter/kitchen staff seemed totally incapable of agreeing what we would be allowed to eat.After being presented with 3 different menus,we finally manged to reach agreement.I chose as my main course the cassoulet, which was a duck confit with haricot beans, pancetta and Toulouse sausage.The duck was fine, but alas no sign of either Toulouse sausage or pancetta.Not at all what I'd hoped for.My comments to this effect resulted in a complimentary glass of Merlot.
We ended up having an early night, and definitely a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and with very little traffic noise from the road outside.
Breakfast was briilliant !
Any hotel that serves eggs benedict as a breakfast option goes right up in my estimation,and it was truly delicious,with ham from Buttercross Farm,near Market Drayton. Most ingredients in the various dishes served are locally sourced.Another indicator for me of a quality establishment is their breakfast sausage.At the Mytton and Mermaid the sausage is Wenlock Edge,which would please even the most discerning sausage lover. And yes,we did ask to sample a sausage in addition to our Eggs Benedict.So,full ten out of ten for breakfast.
However,we were really disappointed about the loss of the live music (the main reason for our booking) and the Fawlty Towers-style start to our evening meal.
So,good in parts, but we did receive some compensation for our disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Mytton and Mermaid and loved every minute of it.We were looked after so well the room had lovely little touches such as the 'chefs treats' with your coffee and the comfiest bed ever!All the staff are so attentive and the food was amazing.The location by the river is stunning,we will definitely go back

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jayneW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Despite being a wet and cold weekend, I had a lovely time at the Mytton and Mermaid, and would recommend it without hesitation. Room was lovely, the staff friendly, and the food great. Service was a little hit or miss, but well-meaning, which definitely means all is forgiven. Quick summary: loved it.

Now, before reading the rest, I'm not a tourist oohing at how quaint the place is and therefore looking past problems; I lived for many years within a few miles of the hotel, so am very familiar with this part of the world.

The building itself is lovely. We stayed in the old part of the hotel, in one of the rooms that overlooked the river. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed nice and soft. We were welcomed with a personalized card on the dresser and a couple of free nibbles.

Our rate included dinner, bed and breakfast. The breakfast is wonderful (bacon... yum) but the dinners were a little hit or miss. No serious mistakes, but a little extra smoothing here or there would have helped. My beloved's steak and ale pie top was a mis-handled piece of puff pastry which had failed to puff as it should have, making it very dense; a dessert was very 'bitty' pulled together from perhaps disparate things. These issues were small however, and we had a nice time both evenings in the cozy restaurant and bar. Such problems are easily overlooked, and you should remember that this isn't a pretentious London restaurant, but a relaxed country house. Take it for what it is, and you'll enjoy it. Staff were more than willing to address issues, were friendly and fun (when not too busy) and a good time was had by all.

I'm amazed that for someone who has lived so close for so long, I've never overnighted here before. I'm glad I changed that; it's a lovely break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Stay in the old art of the house if you don't mind steep stairs and the upgraded rooms are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neutrino_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atcham
0.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Property: The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Address: Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Atcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mytton And Mermaid
Mytton & Mermaid Hotel Atcham
Mytton Mermaid Atcham
The Mytton And Mermaid Hotel Atcham, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing