We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haughmond(Upton Magna)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
177
144
106
52
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
144
106
52
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattingham parkbanks of the riverhoneymoon suitenational truststeep stairsbar areawedding receptionwedding venuelovely eveningchocolate browniefriday eveningroad noisecouldn't faultfour poster bedlovely roombramble cottagecourtyard room
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in the middle of February and I would love to come again in the summer. The location is stunning, right next to the river and opposite the entrance to Attingham Park. An old coaching inn, it is full of charm and tastefully decorated. Our visit in February meant we were welcomed by a roaring log fire in the busy bar/restaurant area.

The wedding ceremony and breakfast were in the converted stables, while the the courtyard was covered with a glass roof and filled with garden furniture, so it made best use of the natural light.

The food was excellent, and the range of options at breakfast the next morning was impressive and well cooked.

Our room was a superior suite and was very comfortable and a good size.

Overall a good quality hotel and a great location for visiting the local area.

Room Tip: The stairs would be a bit awkward for anyone with mobility issues but there are rooms on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for one night after family funeral.Welcome was super and nothing was too much trouble,especially helpful as we had travelled from N.Devon during the worst of the rain and gales!
The post funeral reception was handled very compassionately and efficiently.
The overnight stay saw us in large,quiet, comfy and spotless rooms with excellent decor and antiques age appropriate to the building(the old rectory I think).All in all it was like being at home or staying with a friend albeit much cleaner and tidier!
We had a great meal both at dinner and breakfast and it felt as if we were leaving old friends.
Despite the distance I am trying to work out an excuse to return!

Room Tip: modern" standard" rooms in old stables are smaller but fine and the superior bedrooms in the main house are larger and delightful but the latter are up fairly steep stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marypiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in a large kingsize room with a river view which was very nice, although the windows rattled in the wind ( nothing a bit of newspaper didn't resolve) the staff were helpful and we had a great evening meal that was included in the price. Breakfast was good too. We would definitely return if back in the area.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large, with a little seating area and great river view. However not for anyone with mobility problems though as the stairs were quite steep and doors difficult to open
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a pleasant one night's stay which included an excellent Full English Breakfast and dinner which did not quite meet our expectations regarding food and service.
The bedroom was well appointed with good toiletries in the bathroom and an excellent selection of items to drink with little complementary cakes and sweets. However, the sleep quality was poor as the bed was not very comfortable and creaked and it was impossible to control the heating in the room which was far too hot. There was also a large cobweb in the corner!

Room Tip: in the main building bedrooms unsuitable for people who cannot climb narrow stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked the Mytton Suite,overlooking the river and the Atcham Bridge.A lovely spacious room with a huge 4-poster.We paid for it of course but it was worth it for a birthday celebration.
We had been attracted by the prospect of live music starting at 6 pm.By 7pm,no sign of any music.On enquiry we were told the singer had phoned in sick -so no music ! Attempting to eat in the restaurant was chaotic. We had done a deal regarding the menu, but the waiter/kitchen staff seemed totally incapable of agreeing what we would be allowed to eat.After being presented with 3 different menus,we finally manged to reach agreement.I chose as my main course the cassoulet, which was a duck confit with haricot beans, pancetta and Toulouse sausage.The duck was fine, but alas no sign of either Toulouse sausage or pancetta.Not at all what I'd hoped for.My comments to this effect resulted in a complimentary glass of Merlot.
We ended up having an early night, and definitely a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and with very little traffic noise from the road outside.
Breakfast was briilliant !
Any hotel that serves eggs benedict as a breakfast option goes right up in my estimation,and it was truly delicious,with ham from Buttercross Farm,near Market Drayton. Most ingredients in the various dishes served are locally sourced.Another indicator for me of a quality establishment is their breakfast sausage.At the Mytton and Mermaid the sausage is Wenlock Edge,which would please even the most discerning sausage lover. And yes,we did ask to sample a sausage in addition to our Eggs Benedict.So,full ten out of ten for breakfast.
However,we were really disappointed about the loss of the live music (the main reason for our booking) and the Fawlty Towers-style start to our evening meal.
So,good in parts, but we did receive some compensation for our disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews