We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atcham
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fantastic food,gorgeous rooms,beautiful setting!You can't fail to love this place.Close to Shrewsbury and Ironbridge.The perfect base for a weekend away and I would recommend it spring,summer,autumn or winter!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was booked into this hotel by my company for one night. It looks fabulous and is in a wonderful setting with grounds down to the river Severn. It was a hot afternoon. I was in a room in the courtyard and it was truly horrible. Despite the heat, the room was dark, cold and smelled damp. An electric fire was situated under the dressing table, and believe me I had to use it, as the room really was freezing. The bathroom was terrible, with mould and rust around the base of the shower, which leaked from the tray, even when I'd finished showering. I came back from my meal to find the bathroom floor covered in water and had to pack two towels round the base of the shower tray to mop up the water.

I went for an evening meal and decided on the Shropshire platter which had two of my favourite things on it; Chicken liver parfait and ham hock terrine. The platter arrived and as I tucked in, I suddenly realised that neither of these things was on the platter! I called this to the attention of the waitress who said the chef must have forgotten them and went off to remedy this. She came back and said that actually there wasn't any of either, so they had put me two sausage roles on instead! Hardly a substitute. I did ask why, if the two main ingredients in the platter were not available, she had not come and told me this so I could choose an alternative; that is what would normally happen. I got no reply and by this time I was so hungry I ate some of what was on the platter, which was nothing like described on the menu. There were meant to be two cheeses, one local Shropshire blue and there was none of this either. The local butchers hand made pork pie slice also looked suspiciously like a very pink lattice top Pork Farms bought pie to me. A disaster really. To be fair, I was charged half price for the platter but this is just slack service, not to draw to the attention of the customer the fact that there are missing ingredients from a meal. I will be staying in Shrewsbury on business several times each year, but certainly not in this hotel. I still shudder when I think of that cold room and disgraceful bathroom.

Room Tip: Not in the courtyard. maybe rooms in the main house are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saffronTheMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is one of my favourite Hotels. The rooms in the older part of the building are my favourite although the staris can be a challenge.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the food consistantly tasty and pleasing.
I always enjpy eating here whether by the fire in the bar or in the dining room.
Breakfasts are particularly tasty.
This is definitely a hotel worth visiting i have brought Curious Travelers here many times.

Room Tip: The front rooms in the hotel itself are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The service in the reception of the hotel was sadly lacking, a touch of apathy when we checked in,and our bathroom had not been cleaned to the expected standard and when l
mentioned this to the reception staff they didn't even offer an apology! In fact they made no comments at all.
Also we were kept awake all night by a noisy television in an adjoining room, no apology
was offered for this either.
The restaurant was very busy, but service here not so bad, food average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather7559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I would just like to thank the staff at the Mytton & Mermaid for their wonderful attention to detail in accommodation, food & service during our stay there for our daughter's wedding - your hard work was much appreciated.

Many thanks, Julie & Gary Jackson

Room Tip: We booked the Attingham room 4 (superior room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent evening meal as part of a mini break package. Had room 1, a superior suite, and was impressed with the size of the huge king size bed, large bath/shower, lovely chaise and real tea pot! Room 1visiting9 in the courtyard was significantly smaller with just a square shower. Great location for visiting Attingham....and Shrewsbury just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHerriotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really slow service for some reasons feel the need to have three waitresses bringing out 3 plates of food and numerous times wondering around with food and not finding the tables. Men's toilets had hand towels lying around everywhere waited ages for drinks won't go again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shropshirehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atcham
6.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Address: Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Atcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atcham
Price Range: £75 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mytton & Mermaid Hotel Atcham
Mytton And Mermaid
Mytton Mermaid Atcham
The Mytton And Mermaid Hotel Atcham, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing