We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding”
Review of Soulton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soulton Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Wem B&B and Inns
Benson, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic wedding”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked soulton hall for a wedding in April and our experience really was fantastic throughout. Breakfasts were large and cooked to order, the rooms were lovely (2 of the 4 are slightly small but this is due to the age of the house and are very quaint) and the staff extremely helpful throughout our wedding. The wedding breakfast was excellent and the staff well turned out and polite. The owners were very keen to see us have our day our way and to make sure we enjoyed it.

Really didn't have any negative feedback, would recommend for a wedding or party any time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    31
    5
    14
    15
See reviews for
47
96
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed on arrival at this beautiful place, and had a comfortable nights stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the family who run the Hall. I wish we'd had more time to explore the pretty gardens. But the best part of our stay was the FANTASTIC evening meal. The staff were kind enough to serve it early for us (arranged in advance) as we were travelling with children. Our chicken, potatoes and veg were prepared with true skill. Every mouthful was just gorgeous. But the puddings simply took our breath away - banana pudding with cream for the little one, who was rendered almost speechless by its deliciousness, and something chocolatey for the grownups which was just as gorgeous. The price of the food, by the way, given its excellence, was very, very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dismal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in June to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Soulton Hall is lovely and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. But don't have expectations of hotel facilities - it is not an hotel, but a charming historic home where the owners welcome guests into their four lovely bedrooms so it's an unusual place to stay. We were the only people staying at that time but we were still served dinner both nights and the food was delicious. We stayed in the Hill room which was absolutely lovely with views across the garden.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW FL
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'll echo what others have said about Soulton Hall being charming. My husband and I took his recently-widowed sister there for a chance to get away and relax. We were all enchanted by Soulton Hall--the rich, inviting interior and great service. I wish the food hadn't been so good, though! The weather was dismal, which gave us more opportunity to kick back in the front room and bar area and feel warm and snug. We did get out during breaks in the rain and wander the gardens, which are casual. We tried to drive down the long lane to see the bluebells as we were leaving, but a small tree had fallen and we couldn't move it, so we missed that opportunity, but we did get a feel for the beauty of the natural woods. Tim, the son of the proprietors, was in charge during our stay. He is gracious and made us feel welcome. We enjoyed chatting with him. The rooms are beautiful with as many historic elements left intact as possible. Days later, my sister-in-law was still rhapsodic over our stay.

Room Tip: Room with four-poster bed is very nice (I think it was Hill room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGRCNwFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently married at Soulton Hall and yes, whilst we were blessed with the hottest day of the year so far, we really did choose the most perfect venue. The family have recently finished the refurbishment works on the Moot Hall so we were fortunate enough to be only the 2nd couple to marry in there since this work has been completed.

We exclusively hired the hall for the weekend and enjoyed drinks in the bar/lounge on Friday evening, which was a fabulous way of allowing our families to relax into the weekend celebrations.

The owners like you to 'live like you are at home' and are busy getting on with all the chores attached to maintaining such a beautiful and historic building as Soulton. That said, they were always on hand when necessary.

Our wedding day went without hitch (apart from the intentional one!) Food and drink was served as agreed, and our guests were very complimentary about the food choices. It is always difficult trying to cater to a group of people given individual needs however, being wheat and gluten intolerant, the owners ensured the food was tailored around my needs - which ticked a few boxes with some of our guests also!

The grounds are stunning and whilst the majority of the land is used for farming, there are so many beautiful places to capture your perfect wedding day shots around the Hall.

For us, it was really important that our wedding was a relaxed and informal affair and we believe that because of this, Soulton was exactly the right choice. We found all the staff to be incredibly professional, friendly and genuine - in particular - Tim & Sue - where nothing was too much trouble.

We will definitely be revisiting Soulton Hall again, and wish the team there every continued success for the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Hall - we used the 'Hill' Room as our Bridal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had taken my grandma there for her 80th birthday. We turned up in the front drive of the hall she could not believe her eyes!! It was amazing!!!
Soulton hall is a charming & a historic place. The staff are so friendly & helpful too. We had stayed in the deakin room, I couldn't believe it when we walked in, how big & spacious the rooms were with the original fire place in!! We had a 5 course meal on the night! Again the food was out of this world!! Breakfast was amazing too!! Also it's not far from Wem a little village that has a few shops & also Shrewsbury town is also near by. It was worth every penny!! I COMPLETELY recommend Soulton Hall. I'm already thinking about my next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bekstar92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were a party of 20 friends and we booked all four cottages in the grounds of Soulton Hall for the May Bank Holiday weekend. What a fabulous location! I was fortunate enough to be in Keeper's Cottage in the middle of the bluebell wood - with the bluebells in full bloom - it was just magical. I highly recommend it - lovely views and lots of local wildlife, including a fabulous golden pheasant.
We had an evening meal for 20 in the private dining room in Soulton Court and the food was of a very high standard - all local produce and quite delicious. The owners were very friendly and helpful, responding to our needs and requests very positively, enhancing our stay. The grounds and the main building were beautiful and full of atmosphere and history. I would highly recommend a stay at Soulton Hall.

Room Tip: Keeper's Cottage is in a magical woodland location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
7.4 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
14.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.8 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
16.7 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
14.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulton Hall

Property: Soulton Hall
Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient manor house of mellow Tudor brick and honeyed sandstone in the delightful, intriguing county of Shropshire. Candle-lit dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Soulton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulton Hall Hotel Wem
Soulton Hall Wem, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing