We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night weekend stay”
Review of Aston Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aston Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked in for 2 nights here for a nearby wedding. The hosts have recently taken over the B&B and have refurbished the house. We booked the double superior room and it was lovely, no expense spared on it's renovation. The bed was a superking which I have never had in a UK B&B before. The breakfasts were good and the room at £70 per night was good value. There were nice touches like bottles of water each day and a very well stocked tea tray. A couple of minor things could be improved: a curtain over the small window near the entrance to the room, as the summer light coming in there woke us up early. My pet peeve with almost all hotels is the lack of coat hooks near the door and the same applied here. The owners have chosen to have breakfast in a half hour slot (8:30-9 at the weekends) which suited us this weekend but probably worth bearing in mind in case you want to be up and out early or have a lie in, you may need to discuss this beforehand. Overall though I would recommend this B&B to a friend.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GemmaK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Aston Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

A fabulous place. The hosts go far and above what is required to accommodate your needs. The B&B offers the perfect rest-bite from a busy day. They could easily add another 20% to their prices, and I would have felt like I had value for money!

I stayed for a whole week whilst away on business. The hosts recommended places to eat and visit (should I get bored). Wendy (the host) took the time to talk and understand her client.

There is was an abundance of choice at the breakfast table. An excellent choice was the fresh fruit in the morning. I cannot honestly speak highly enough of the hosts as people and the B&B as a whole.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACB187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This gem of a hotel was fully booked on the Saturday night, as I would have stayed for the whole weekend. I arrived Sunday to attend a Ruby Wedding Anniversary in Wem, and the owners were very helpful even going so far as offering me a lift to the venue as I was in my "frock". The hotel was clean and the breakfast excellent. My only very minor quibble was that I wished I had known I was going to have a shower en-suite as I would have brought a shower cap! I did not wish to get my hair wet, but I managed.
I wish the owners all the best for the future.

Room Tip: Check if the en suite is bath or shower
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clair87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Warm welcome, Cumfy bed, lovely English breakfast. Great hosts.
Will stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maltloaf11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night, our welcome was excellent, Graham and Denise extremely hospitable - Bedroom really warm and comfy, breakfast excellent, plenty of things to chose from. Will definitely stay again when visiting our relatives who live in Wem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLC592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Easy to find, good parking, twin beds a bit small, breakfast good, landlady very friendly. Good value

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LymingtonSailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary and we could not have found a more comfortable and hospitable atmosphere. The owners Denise and her husband Graham made us most welcome and provided us with information appertaining to the local surroundings. The breakfasts were extremely substantial and well presented. We would recommend this hotel to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloFiascoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
0.7 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
422 reviews
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.1 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,301 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lodge

Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aston Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Aston
Aston Lodge Wem, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing