We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!!”
Review of Aston Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aston Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Northwich
2 reviews
“Fantastic B&B!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst celebrating our friends wedding which was at the Old Rectory. The b&b was located only a 5 minute taxi ride away (£10 return) by one of their friends and well recommended. The room stayed in was the superior king room and were definitely not disappointed! The little touches such as toiletries, a good selection of tea/coffee making facilities were also an added bonus. The room was very comfortable and great in size with a good size television with free view. Only downside was a lack of wifi signal but this is available in the comfortable residents lounge. The hosts would go out of their way to assist and the breakfast was simply fantastic with a great choice of continental and cooked to order breakfast. Definitely worth staying here and excellent value for money

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blondealou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gnosall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was in Wem for one night, and was more than happy with my stay at Aston Lodge, which was immaculate, cosy and comfortable. The owners have gone out of their way to provide all sorts of extras like high-quality toiletries and plenty of choice in the hot drinks selection in the room. They were also friendly and helpful - overall I haven't a single complaint!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Irieboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed at Aston Lodge with the previous owners and found it well situated and comfortable. The new owners have undertaken an extensive refurbishment and it is now even better. Everything is clean and fresh. The courtyard rooms at the back are quiet and offer a little extra privacy. A warm welcome, two beautiful cats and a first rate breakfast too.
There are pubs serving good food nearby. Highly recommended for comfortable and homely accommodation at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannetteMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
260 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for a total of 7 nights. (In 2 rooms).
Building is quite grand and is very well cared for by the owners.
Breakfast was excellent.
My only slight grumble/s would be that the single room I was staying in did not have any form of heating in the En Suite which meant it was rather cold when getting out of the shower, and also as a smoker (I know) there was no ash tray outside.....minor grumbles though. Would I stay again. Yes I would.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

All went well at first, we had a very nice genuine welcome. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The bedroom door needs attention as light shone through gaps all night which disrupted my sleep. We went down for breakfast and were asked what we would like - I asked for scrambled eggs inquiring how they were cooked. I received a sarcastic and audible reply which embarrassed us. Oh Dear!!!

Room Tip: be careful asking what you would like for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenffinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy G, Owner at Aston Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We were sorry to hear that this customer had thought that we had given a sarcastic comment to her question - we do remember her asking this question and our response was intended as a humorous one, a little joke with the customer - it was not meant to be offensive at all. We were unaware that it was taken as such - otherwise we would have put things right immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I am lost for words ! Excellent in every way!! The superior room is the best we have stay in. Great value for money, everything very clean and tidy, but still felt lived in and very welcoming. This place is just great!!

Room Tip: The Superior room in this hotel is the best room I've ever stay in the the UK
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst cycling for charity. The owners were lovely and could not do enough to help us. The rooms were immaculate and clean. The breakfast on the morning of our departure was amazing, steaming porridge, full cooked breakfast - the works. would highly recommend to anyone !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank monkey1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
0.7 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
132 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
407 reviews
13.4 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lodge

Property: Aston Lodge
Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aston Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Aston
Aston Lodge Wem, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing