We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crew Green
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brook House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Crew Green B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Brook House Farm campsite last weekend and had a really enjoyable stay. The owners were very hospitable and chatty, making us feel very welcome indeed. And there was a great family feel about the place. We arrived unannounced, and it was no problem at all; and they allowed us to keep the tent up well into the afternoon on the departure day.
We are road cyclists, and there are pleasant rides around the surrounding countryside- a mixture of mountainous Wales combined with flat Shropshire. We managed a brilliant walk straight from the site to Rodney's Pillar to enjoy the view from the top. We glimpsed Liverpool in the distance.
With fantastic weather, the position by the river was stunning. We look forward to more exploring in the future

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkGB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, stupidly we arrived at night and pitched up on a rather rocky bit of land but in the morning we moved the tent (just dragged it!) 20ft to the nice flat area. The owners were pleasant and accommodating, the showers and loos are nice. There is a little shop on site stocked with essentials and your only a 10 - 15 drive from Shrewsbury. The best bit though is that they allow fires! Everything else pales in comparison when you're sat on your camping chair at midnight with a beer in your hand poking the fire and talking rubbish. Very good all round.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LastV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Brookhouse Farm B&B the night of a wedding. The four-poster room was cosy, with beautiful antique furniture. The owners were extremely welcoming and very kindly gave us a lift to the wedding venue at no charge as taxis are really expensive in the area. She even ironed my husband's trousers! On return from the wedding party chilled ice water had been put at our bedsides and the covers turned back...exceeding our expectations. The only downside was the small ensuite shower room.

Breakfast was a lovely hearty cooked breakfast in their welcoming farmhouse kitchen. Even though it is clear the owners are extremely busy running a campsite, shop, farm and B&B they still found the time to chat to their guests.

We will definitely return if we are in the area again and would like to experience their pods or campsite.

Room Tip: The 4 poster room was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kepderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The pod was lovely and bright in the day time but warm and cosy in the evening and the blinds provided were great for privacy.
Being close to the clean toilets and showers was ideal and the shop had an assortment of great gifts.
The overall feeling was warm and welcome we had a lovely stay and will be sure to be back.

Room Tip: The pod is warm, clean and inviting with its own private garden which has a chiminea and seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for a night after our friends' wedding. We had booked some time before and at the time of booking we were given a choice of different rooms at different prices. We booked the four-poster room which was the most expensive.
When we arrived, the lady asked which room we had booked and we told her it was the four-poster room. She showed us to our room and we settled in.
About ten minutes later there was a knock on the door. She told us that we were in the wrong room and we had to move, as the people who had booked the four-poster room had arrived. We reluctantly gathered up our belongings and followed her to the alternative room. This room was completely different. The decor was cheap and unnattractive; there was a huge pile of old mattresses and duvets in the room and an assortment of children's equipment under the bed.
We told the lady that we weren't happy with this room so she showed us the alternatives. The other two rooms were not en-suite and, again, were filled with miscellaneous tat. They had the feel of rooms belonging to children who had left home but hadn't taken their stuff with them. The decor was decidedly studenty. Instead of a romantic night in a hotel, it felt more like spending a night in someone's spare room.
The group of us who had booked this B&B for the wedding consisted of five couples and all of us thought we had booked the four poster room. There are only four rooms so two couples ended up in the junk rooms with no en-suite. The fifth couple went off to stay at the B&B owner's friend's house down the road!
I have no doubt that the owner intentionally deceives people to get their business, knowing that it's too late to do anything about it when you've arrived for a wedding. They only have one decent room and they use that to portray a very different image to what you might actually get.
When we booked, we asked for the number of a local taxi firm. The lady said that there was no point getting a taxi as she would give us a lift to the wedding. Again, this wasn't what we expected and we didn't know until it was too late to book a taxi. She charged £10 return per couple and insisted that we travel with another couple at the times dictated by the other couple, so she made £20 by making two short journeys. I'm sure a taxi would have been much cheaper, and licensed! We had to leave for the wedding much later than we wanted to because the other couple weren't ready at the time they'd said, and then we had to come home much earlier than we would have liked; it felt like being picked up by your mum before the party's over.
At breakfast, the owner gave an extensive monologue about how her family are making a fortune buying cheap goods in China and selling them for a massive profit. We were all stuck at the breakfast table for about 30 minutes after we'd finished eating because she wouldn't stop talking. The speech reinforced our suspicion that this is a woman who is only interested in making money and has no qualms about how she does it. She certainly doesn't care whether you enjoy your stay. It was such a relief to get away from this place.
Looking at the good reviews on here they seem to primarily be people who have actually been lucky enough to get the four-poster room, or campsite guests. Don't be fooled by the high rating as this is mainly because of the campsite. It's a shame that Tripadvisor doesn't treat the two businesses separately.
One final word of warning: Before I went, I read the other "terrible" review that's titled something like, "Don't stay here the night before a wedding." I put it down to one disgruntled person who was the victim of an unfortunate mix-up. I wish I would have paid it more heed. I wonder how many people don't leave negative reviews because they think that it was an honest mistake or don't want to upset the woman. Please beware.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was disgusted at the Brookhouse farm campsite, the 'family' field was filled with huge sharp rocks and we had been told to pitch our tent next to a big pile of compost that had a very bad smell.

The toilets were a disgrace, they were so smelly the kids were almost throwing up in there and the taps only had running water occationally.

The queue for the showers had formed before 7am as there were only 2 shower rooms for a site of 3 fields!

We paid a higher price than was advertised and our 11 year old was classed as an adult!!!

Overall an absolutely awful experience and I would advise everyone to steer clear!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookHouseFarm, Owner at Brook House Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

I have no problem in taking a bad review when it is appropriate , but when you read it and it does not feel it relates to your site,as there are new toilets and showers done to a very high standard,and other campers have noted this and someone says the water is green ,(i do use green toilet cleaner) and toilets are cleaned several times a day by myself, i find it hard to understand were they are coming from.Also they are camping feilds not full of rocks ,also we dont have a compost heap in the feild. we are a new site but already having people returning, if it was that bad why did they not come and see me , and then there friends to put another bad review (appalling) surrounded by loverly reviews .with regards julia owen (site owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent this August B/Holiday at Brookhouse Farm and I loved it. The site is spread over 3 fields. It didn't feel cramped, the area is lovely, the facilities are kept clean. The owner admits it's a work in progress as the first season but I have no complaints and would definitley return. The staff were all lovely, hard working and more than helpful. The site can only get better in my opinion and will do with the addition of more toilet and shower facilities. The is also a little shop on site for bits and bobs needed, and also leaflets for local places of interest. Keep up the good work Julia!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brook House Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Crew Green SY5 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Crew Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crew Green
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brook Hotel Farm
Brook House Farm Bed & Breakfast Crew Green, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing