We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good value for golf - But . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good value for golf - But . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

First and foremost the trip was was golf - and the courses were very good indeed even at this time of year given the amount of rain we've had. Value for money is spot on, around £50 for b&b and two rounds of golf on two quite different courses.
But! there are some buts.
My room was a walk back in time, drab, dated and worn out. However evrything in there worked and nothing was missing. A clean ensuite, shower/bath. Flat screen TV, trouser press, ironing board, iron, tea coffee, and plenty of storage in a decent sized room.

The front of the hotel is in need of urgent facelift as is the main clubhouse exterior. Inside the hotel the story is the same. This has a AA 3* rating plaque on the wall outside, I think they need to revisit.

We did'nt have dinner included but our party had a bar meal which could not be consumed at a table. We had to eat it off a low coffee table, far too low to enjoy properly. This needs addessing urgently as bar meals are not cheap. £11 for a burger? Now when I order a meal I expect it to get what the it says on the menue for that price. Alas not, additionally Curry for others in our party was supposed to be served with poppadom and mango chutney, er . . no. We made a complainant which met with " I'll tell the chef". what good is that? How will that solve the issue with the customer?

bar prices are a bit high given the lack of investment there. The buffet breakfast was good.

Overall value was good because of the golf courses. If you just want the hotel accomodation without golf, I suggest you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomber127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for the feedback, i am sorry to see we didnt get everything right for you. We are working on the facia to the hotel which should be completed in the next month, subject to the weather. I will take on board your other comments and make sure my team are made aware of the sortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    136
    104
    45
    43
See reviews for
68
117
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Just returned from a two day break at this hotel,disappointed in the decor, very tired looking, not like the website promoted. Room was clean, but trouser press did not work, kettle lid broken and most of all numerous dead flies in the ceiling lamp, enough said ! Reception staff could do with retraining on check out procedure and common courtesy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember020320164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for the feedback and i am sorry you found maintenance faults in your bedroom.

I am assured by my Housekeeper that these matters have been dealt with.

Sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had a lovely stay, only problems where you couldn't turn the radiator off in the room and it got a bit hot, Room was a bit quirky, as you went up a few stairs to the bathroom. Comfortable bed, flat screen tv on the wall, enough wardrobe and draw space. Breakfast was nice but wasn't replenished very quickly, service could have been better. Good value for money. Would definately […] stay again. Ideal location for the really fantastic follies

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakleyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your comments, i'll make sure these points are looked into but i am glad to see you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Laurie & Mark booked their wedding ceremony and celebrations at Hawkstone. We all had a fabulous day and Jo (event organiser) was more than helpful right from the start and did a magnificent job by beautifully decorating the ceremony venue and dining room. Everyone who attended gave very positive feed back. we would also like to thank all the staff at the hotel - nothing went wrong! On behalf of Jim & Jayne Trenfield (grooms parents) and Andrew & Carol McAllister (brides parents) we would like to offer our sincere thanks and recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback, i am really pleased we looked after your party so well and will make sure the feedback is passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We went there for the golf. Hotel was good, if basic, and food was excellent value for money. We had 2 rounds of golf and dinner, bed and breakfast for £69. Excellent value. Only fault was the golf course was very wet and made play difficult.
Will return again but check weather first.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for the feedback and pleased to see you had a good time. 2012 was pretty awful weather and we are hoping for a better year in 2013 with some great golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just spent a long weekend at Hawkstone Park in a party of 8.

We are not mad keen golfers but enjoy a hack around a course every now and again and, I must say, we had a very enjoyable time. We played both courses. The Hawkstone Course was a real joy. A beautiful setting and refreshingly natural in its layout. The designer (presumably a very long time ago) has made the most of the natural contours and some of the vistas were quite breathtaking. The Championship Course was very wet. I suspect that I would have found it too difficult even in good conditions but these were not good conditions ! I'm not sure I would blame the management for this though. The course is relatively low-lying and flat and there was a great deal of rainfall during the week.

Whilst at the hotel we also found time to visit the Follies. This is a "must do" if you are staying there- a great walk with plenty to see (remember to take a torch for the caves) and, amazingly, it seems to have escaped the worst excesses of our health & safety obsession in that caves, spiral staircases, narrow bridges and precipitous paths are all open for exploration for those who like to do that sort of thing (as we do !). Unfortunately it was foggy during our visit but the views on a clear day would be fabulous.

And so to the hotel itself.

Well, it's certainly not a luxury boutique property. The decor has seen better days, the shower facilities in the en suites are basic, the restaurant layout is somewhat canteen-like (easily addressed with a bit of breaking up of the large space and a re-think of the lighting)....and yet the place has a friendly, homely feel to it which we all rather liked. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful and the bar was very comfortable and welcoming (with decent beer to boot). We ate in the restaurant one evening- not haute cuisine but not bad either (the wine list was quite interesting) and went to the splendid Bear at Hodnet on the other.

So, in conclusion, if you are looking for perfection, don't come here. If, however, you are considering a weekend in a beautiful (and quiet) part of the country, perhaps with a round of golf on a course where you wont be harassed by obnoxious members, and a bit of old-fashioned English hotel hospitality, you may (like us) be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueinsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for the detailled review. I am pleased to see you all enjoyed your break and it would be nice to see you return. I'll take on the feedback and where we can make some changes.

Thanks again

David Sims
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

24 of us, 12 girls and 12 guys.
very enjoyable on Hawkstone Course, championship course totally unplayable. You might blame the recent weather for this but we played it after 4/5 days of dry and sunny weather. The course was deep in mud all the way round. the tees are very scruffy and the fairways appeared not to have received a mow for some considerable time. We were all slipping and sliding and were unable to find a dry spot to place the ball. We were extremely disappointed and I feel strongly that its condition should have been pointed out to us by the management before we ventured out.
It shouldn't be a surprise to us as we found that the service generally was slow and amateurish; clearly lacking in training and leadership.
There is a great opportunity for improvement in customer care providing services with a confident smile in the knowledge that they have the support of a committed and competent management team for the golf and hospitality alike.

Room Tip: We were in 307 no problems, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golferjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. I am cleary disappointed that your golf was spoiled by the conditions, managing the courses during 2012 did prove very challenging with rain from April. However it obviously spoiled your break and i am sorry that was the case. All of your comments have been passed on to the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-under-Redcastle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston-under-Redcastle
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.8 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury North (Harmer Hill)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
23.3 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkstone Park Hotel

Property: Hawkstone Park Hotel
Address: Hawkstone Park, Weston-under-Redcastle SY4 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston-under-Redcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston-under-Redcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkstone Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawkstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hawkstone Park
Hawkstone Park Hotel Weston-Under-Redcastle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing