We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic break, with fantastic hosts, in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appletons Chambres d'Hotes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonnilly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appletons Chambres d'Hotes
Ranked #1 of 1 Bonnilly B&B and Inns
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic break, with fantastic hosts, in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A very warm welcome from our hosts Edward and Malcolm was given to us all. The accommodation was spotless - I stayed with my family in a large room for four in what used to be the old pig sty! It has been spotlessly refurbished. The food offered is lovely and certainly good value. The garden is great for relaxing and just taking in the atmosphere. As Bonnilly is a hamlet is was wonderful to see the stars at night and my son even spotted a shooting star! Easy to find and a great place to stop - I thoroughly reccommend Appletons.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I can not recommend this accommodation enough from the warm welcome you receive the minute you arrive from Edward, Malcolm and Leo the dog to the beautiful accommodation and absolutely magnificent food. Myself and my husband were on a motorbike trip in Loire Valley and this was one of our best choices. I am a Vegetarian and Malcolm and Edward went out of their way to accommodate me and even the non-veggies were enjoying my food! We don't know when we will be back in France but when we are, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed for one night on a stopover & we were welcomed warmly (cold beer was immediately on offer). Accommodation was immaculate & very homely. Leo, the dog, was wonderful with our 14 month old son & Malcolm & Edward provided great company & amazing food. The communal eating set up may sound daunting, but is actually really laid back & a great way to spend the evening. Thanks for a lovey stay guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentat, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

An overnight stop to break up the journey between Eurodisney and our home in the south west of France became an absolute pleasure thanks to the kindest of hospitality from Edward and Malcolm. Our 2 boys (aged 4 & 6) where equally well accommodated with juices, colouring, games and Leo the labrador. A super supper "en famille" was a lovely touch to get to know our hosts that bit better and really nothing was too much trouble. We would have no hesitation in recommending Appletons to anybody and look forward to an "excuse" to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvisFamily24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Stopped over for 1 night last May enroute to Southern France. Arrived on motorbikes and even before we dekitted there ws. Cold beer on the table. Lovely family style dining and entertainment, great food, would revisit without hesitation

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Welcoming hospitality, food and accommodation. The location is peaceful and relaxing. The evening meal is made into a social occassion by Edward and Malcolm. The breakfast is also very good. It is a good location for touring the surrounding area. I would use this chambre d’hote again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMYORKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

What a fantastic find Appleton's is. Malcolm and Edward are the perfect hosts with a very warm and friendly welcome, aperitifs before dinner, good wholesome and delicious homecooked food taken with your fellow guests and hosts, drinks included and much 'bon viveuer'. Having travelled around the world on many occasions, this is something special. Rooms are comfortable, with en-suite facilities, and you just cannot fault the enthusiasm and hosting skills of Malcolm and Edward, rarely have we experienced such hospitality and such a homely feeling.We honestly felt as if we were personal guests, no friends, of them. Our fellow guests were great fun too and dinner was a memorable experience. If you are thinking of exploring this area, or travelling to the South of France, make the time to have a break here. I defy anyone to say this is disappointing.

Terrific value for money and so charming.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the location for all it's worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HemelsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnilly
3.2 mi away
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
#1 of 5 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Appletons Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletons Chambres d'Hotes

Property: Appletons Chambres d'Hotes
Address: 1 Rue de Tisserands | Chavin, 36200 Bonnilly, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Bonnilly
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleton's is a friendly bed & breakfast situated in the Centre region of France, near Argenton sur Creuse, a perfect setting of peace and tranquility, easily accessible from the motorway, making Appleton's ideal for a weeks holiday or as a stopping point for travelers heading to the South of France and the Mediterranean. 6 hours from Calais, just 10 mins from the A20 Paris / Toulouse Autoroute, exit 17, we have disabled friendly rooms and accept pets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing