We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply brilliant! a beautiful farmhouse with a fantastic homely atmosphere in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Appletons Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Chavin B&B and Inns
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant! a beautiful farmhouse with a fantastic homely atmosphere in a lovely location”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of November and had the best time!
Malcolm and Edward are just brilliant hosts and provide a very personalised service, they were always more than willing to help suggesting places to visit or information on local estate agents(we were house hunting). The room was clean and comfortable and just a great relaxed homely atmosphere with a lovely log fire to welcome us when we got back after a hard days sight seeing/ house hunting and a glass of wine. I would also definitely recommend staying for dinner,lovely, homemade and vegetables fresh from the garden. What more do you need !! We would definitely go back there soon we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandSCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    19
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Located in a small, charming French hamlet, where little appears to have changed for more than 100 years, (other than the presence of some modern day farm machinery), sits Appletons Farmhouse.
If you want to get away from the 'rat race' and enjoy some quiet time in rural surroundings, then this is the B&B for you. Malcolm and Edward have clearly worked hard to convert this farmhouse into a cozy, working guest house, whilst maintaining the internal appeal of rural French accomodation.
The accomodation is clean and cozy, and Edward works hard to entertain the guests whilst Malcolm works tirelessly, (mainly in the background), cleaning and cooking.
Our evening meal, and breakfast, was good home cooking, and there was plenty of it.
This is life in the slow lane. Appletons is a cool place to stay after a long drive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smugdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

What a great discovery! Excellent location, and great hospitality. We stayed for two nights, one on the way down to 2 weeks holiday in S France, and one on the way home. On the first occasion, dinner (an excellent and generous barbecue served outdoors) was in the company of 2 Amercans, 2 Belgians and 2 Latvians, as well as Edward and Malcolm as charming hosts. Great fun. On the second occasion, two British friends joined us as well as a young American, and dinner was a very lively evening of soup, roast chicken with all the trimmings, cheese, and apple crumble, accompanied by almost unlimited wine and port. Appletons generosity is amazing and I'm not surprised that people come back year after year. Our bedroom was very comfortable, clean and well-provided with towels etc. in the en-suite. Edward and Malcolm made us feel very welcome and seemed genuinely interested in us as people and not just as "paying guests". We will certainly return next time we're travelling down the A20.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester-Collie-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

More B&B than hotel ... but what a lovely place to stay. Wonderful stopover for returning to UK. Owners are huge fun and welcoming; really making you feel at home and relaxed. If staying for one night, arrive by 1600hrs if possible to enjoy the full hospitality and do book an evening meal ... an experience not to be missed.

It really is home from home for Brits, but still retaining solid french charm. 10 out of 10 to Edward and Malcolm ... long may they continue.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insomniacure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We spent 7 days with Edward & Malcolm and as a result returned to the UK with reluctance. We were made to feel welcome from their response to our first email (enquiring about whether they could cope with our dietary quirks) to the moment that we left after our stay. Edward went out of his way to check each day whether we would like what he was planning to cook for us and each meal was a tour de force that was never less than delicious. The meals was something that we will always remember with great affection - we were initially slightly anxious about eating 'en famille' since we're not good linguists but the ambience created was such that all 7 nationalities met during the week gelled in a determination to have a terrific experience.
The room was attractive, clean and tidy when we arrived and a drink was ready for us as soon as we had unloaded the car. The garden has different areas in which to relax after a day out and supplies a lot of the kitchen's needs.
Even if only staying for 1 night it is well worth the 2(?)km trip to Le Menoux to visit the church. The exterior is a typical example of a rural french church but the interior is totally unexpected and arresting. Gargilesse is another 'must visit' location. Only 8km away, it boasts a dramatic location in a ravine on the Creuse river with the house of George Sands and an interesting crypt in the church with very old frescos. The nearest town to Bonilly, Argenton, has a pleasant park with picnic areas for an outdoor lunch - if you can fit it in after the previous night's meal!
The most lasting memories of this holiday will be of the people, especially Edward & Malcolm. We felt so welcome that we'd both love to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I was made to feel very welcome as soon as I arrived - a relaxed and genuine hospitality which makes you feel at home right away. The room was clean and tidy, with an ensuite shower room and toilet. Evening meal was good - a barbeque eaten at a table outdoors with the other guests, hosted by Edward and Malcolm. The conversation flowed and it felt just like being at home with friends. The bed was comfortable, and I got a peaceful nights sleep.
The location is just a few miles from Argenton-sur-Creuse and is easily reached from there by bike or car. I would recommend Appletons Farmhouse and would certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Edward and Malcom gave us a great welcome. The room was clean and comfortable. The four course dinner was home cooking at is very best and accompanied by unlimited wine and some port. The company on the night we stayed was entertaining and we had the most enjoyable evening. Breakfast was again excellent and before we departed on our jouney we were offered a coffee re-fill of out thermos flask.

PS: Don't expect an early night - the food and the company are just too good!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chavin
2.5 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Manor de Boisvilliers
Manor de Boisvilliers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
75 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
La Promenade
La Promenade
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gaultier
20 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Cheval Noir
Le Cheval Noir
#1 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
#1 of 5 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appletons Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletons Farmhouse

Property: Appletons Farmhouse
Address: 1 rue des Tisserands | Bonnilly, Argenton-Sur-Creuse, 36200 Chavin, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Chavin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appletons a tranquil spot in the Heart of Central France, for short breaks or all inclusive full board holidays. Come and join us, we are just off of the A20 Paris / Toulouse auto route, 6.5Hrs from Calais or 5 Hrs from Dieppe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Appletons Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appletons Farmhouse Chavin
Appletons Farmhouse France/Chavin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing