We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday”
Review of Mas de Jouas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas de Jouas
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We took 6 children and two couples to Le Mas de Jouas this summer. It lived upto and indeed exceeded expectations in every way. The many reviews which correctly highlight a beautiful location, perfect pool and wonderful food and hospitality are all correct. However, it is the (many) little touches that go that bit further. Tips to local rivers and lakes are on offer; spare jelly shoes and fishing nets are in the wardrobes. Danny's legendary caipirinhas are of course made with real cachaca... And so it continues. We are looking forward to returning for more of everything next summer

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou so much for your review!! We did have a great week with you all and are delighted you have booked back with us for 2014!! Every year we make little changes and update services etc so I really hope 2014 is even better for you this yea!r Can't wait to see you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    0
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Have just got back from another fabulous trip to Mas de Jouas on our family holiday. Abbi and Danny are now firm family friends and so it feels a bit like we are coming home when we go. Our girls run off with their girls as soon as we get there and we see them a week later when it is time to go home with stories of how much fun they have had and tears to be leaving. The food just seems to get better, and the rooms and overall gorgeousness still stays in tip top condition. We have also made more friendships with the guests that were also staying which is just a lovely bonus to a trip here. I can't recommend Mas de Jouas more highly. Love it and will continue to return for many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleurem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
THankyou so much for taking the time to write this review! We have so many returning guests and you are right the majority are firm family friends now, for life, and we feel so privileged to have met so many wonderful people!! Every year we invest a little bit more, change something else, update.upgrade services we offer too and really appreciate that recognition! i think our girls will be friends for life and they already can't wait to see you for your 2 week stay for your 5th time in 2015!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

...in the words of another guest. Admittedly he was not strictly talking about the whole Mas De Jouas experience (although he was on his 4th visit), but it was definitely said in relation to Abbi's homemade crème brulee, carrot cake, cheese board, sunday lunch and other delicious food items too numerous to mention. And the sight of Abbi and Danny brandishing delicious local aperitifs on a Sunday afternoon as we walk up the little path to the terrace with the smell of confit de canard and more floating on the breeze is indeed life changing.
We usually visit self catering accommodation for our summer holidays and we have been all over France and the UK. But after our second visit to Mas De Jouas I have given up the pretence that I want to shop in local markets and cook the food of our host nation every evening as well as preparing a slightly more palatable version for the kids. It is fun, but not every night in an "unusual" kitchen.
Mas De Jouas is perfect for me because I am not thinking about what to feed the kids all week and I don't have to make everyone rush back from a particularly good castle/insect exhibition because of a pressing need to start making the dinner before my 1 year old has a melt down. I can just relax, enjoy my kids more and know I have an absolutely delicious meal (far better than anything I could rustle up) coming my way later on. It makes the bedtime story time all the more sweet.
Everything everyone else says about the beautiful boutique style rooms, the lovely warm pool (great new poolside makeover), the fabulous toys (the baby was totally diverted), the dvd selection (enjoyed on occasion by my 6 year old and his new friends), the spotless cleaning and the fabulous organisation is true, so I won't dwell on all that, important though it is.
But Abbi and Danny are just so very lovely. Professional, brilliant fun and really lovely. This in itself is a reason to go back for a 3rd go. So we are already booked in. As our new friends (as of last week) said you try to go somewhere else for the first week but it's just never as good. So we are booked in for 2. Bliss.

Room Tip: I think all three rooms will have a double, twin/kids arrangement from 2014 and a bathroom which mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Oh thank you so so much for such a lovely review!! Can't wait to se you back for your third time in 2014! We shall indeed keep up the life changing food and we will ensure that you have another fun exciting holiday and take the time to relax with those shopping trips and even perhaps our new beauty treatments!! ;o) xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Arrived home yesterday from a truly glorious 2 weeks at Mas de Jouas. Is was our first time there, although we decided on the way home it wouldn't be the last - every little last detail came together to make it the perfect relaxing family holiday: great food, wine, company and countryside... From the gobsmackingly delicious kid and adult dinners cooked by Abbi, to the equally delicious wines served by Danny, we felt well and truly looked after. Our kids are aged 8 and 4 - both made great friends with their fellow kiddy guests (and Abbi and Danny's lovely 2 girls) and spent the majority of the holiday running around the grounds / bouncing on trampolines / organising football leagues / playing hide and seek and generally indulging in proper child heaven.

You could happily spent 2 weeks just chilling around the beautifull warm pool, but we popped out most days and found huge amounts to see and do nearby: our kids now have lovely memories of kayaking up rivers, riding the world's most well behaved horses, climbing castles, eating frogs legs (!) and generally messing around in nature...

The icing on the cake of the perfect holiday was that our 4 year old learnt to swim in the pool: Abbi found us a local bi-lingual swimming teacher (the wonderful Vincent, to whom we will be forever indebted), who came every day and charmed Marnie with his mermaid games and nursery rhymes. My only hesitation in leaving such a glowing review is that we'll find it even harder to get a room next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally lovely - the family room is being converted into a suite in the near futur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou so much for such a fabulous review! We are so delighted you had a great time, and we had a fabulous time with you too!! Our girls still talk about you son and their fishing in the river!! Our highlight of the week was also seeing Marnie gain her confidence and learn to swim! What a precious memory!! We are delighted that we will be seeing you back in August 2014!! Can't wait already!! xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mas de Jouas. Being greeted with friendly smiles, a glass of wine and help with our luggage was a fabulous start!
The rooms are outstanding, every small detail has been thought about. From the luxury bed linen to the books and toys in the children's bedroom. We took our three children with us aged six, four and eight months and each one of them (and mummy and daddy) were superbly catered for. The children adored the beautiful grounds, trampoline, play area and heated swimming pool whilst mummy and daddy thoroughly enjoyed the DELICIOUS evening meals, wine and brilliant company in the evenings.
The area has many attractions for little ones. Our eldest son was fascinated by the castles in the area and on the sunny days, the nearby rivers provided hours of endless fun, paddling, fishing and swimming for all of us.
Abbi and Danny work tirelessly to make the holiday extra special for everyone! They even surprised us with a bottle of fizz on our anniversary!
All in all, a superb holiday for everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room, which was gorgeous but, speaking to the other two families there at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzieanddave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We understand how difficult it is to go on holiday with children, and having 3 in tow can be a chore, so we are so delighted we took the weight off and you all had a great time!! It was our pleasure to make your special day even more special!!!

The castles locally are a real treat for those budding knights and often have little boys and girls running around with their newly acquired wooden swords and helmets!!!

Warmest wishes to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We've just returned from a week at Mas de Jouas. This was our second visit, however our fellow guests (who were all delightful!) were on their fourth and sixth visits, which surely gives an idea of the appeal of this place!! We stayed in the loft suite - a spacious suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which had ample room for our family of four. The hosts children were lovely playmates for our girls, and together with the other children staying they had lots of fun together, often taking themselves off to the trampoline or wandering around the lovely large gardens. Abbi spoilt us with delicious restaurant quality food including paella, bouef bourgignon and a scrumptious salted caramel chocolate tart. The weather was excellent while we were there so we spent lots of time in the large swimming pool and had all dinners on the terrace, often going late in to the evening (ahem!). Danny entertained us with great music and excellent company and was a big hit with the children as well as the parents! Mas de Jouas offers a small boutique setting (I believe only 3 families max stay at any one time) which allows the owners to give a very personal level of service. If you use the babysitting service offered, I would recommend a meal at 'Terre et Galet' a restaurant in nearby Villeneuve where we enjoyed fabulous champagne cocktails with hibiscus flowers and delicious seafood. Thank you Abbi, Danny, Lauryn and Maddy for another fabulous week!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
You and your family are just such a delight, and the perfect playmates for our girls too! We had some lovely days out with you ensemble, and so pleased you enjoyed the local restaurants as well as our meals, we are spoilt for some lovely places around here!
Miss you lots and can't wait to catch up with you all again soon!

xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our main summer holiday for my wife and I and our 9 month old baby - it simply could not have been better.

Mas de Jouas is located in beautiful, unspoilt French countryside, with views to die for and peace and quiet we could never find at home in London! Our room (the Loft Suite) was excellent - lovely room for us and then a separate room for the baby with virtually pitch black curtains, which meant he slept like a dream all week (no doubt all the fresh air, attention and food helped too)! The grounds were very pleasant, well-tended and buzzing with wildlife – ducks, swans, chickens, cows, and some very elusive tree frogs!

The food was faultless all week and Abbi went out of her way to make sure the food she was cooking for the other children would be suitable for the baby. And, any extra was neatly packaged up and put in our space in the fridge for us to use the next day - very considerate and that helped us out on more than one occasion! As for the adults - I'm just glad I took my running kit! Wine flowed freely at the meals, beers and wine were available in the fridges and kitchen at other times and the food was stunning - a match for any restaurant, showing off local produce and dishes, and yet served in a comfortable and homely environment that meant you were always at ease.

Abbi and Danny could not have been more welcoming to both us and our son - he loved them and it was clear that they were both more than comfortable with children of all ages and knew how to get on their level. They both worked so hard to make sure we had a good time and were relaxing and enjoying our holiday – nothing was too much effort. Their two daughters were also lovely, polite and friendly and were part of daily life to the extent that it genuinely felt like we were staying with friends for the week rather than at a hotel or other commercial establishment.

Cannot rate our holiday highly enough and we were sorely disappointed to leave. We're now working on friends to come with us next year as we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou so much for taking time to write us such a lovely review, we are delighted we provided a break that met your expectations, and you had a great time, and you are right we do recommend the running gear!!
We really can't wait to see you and your gorgeous family again!
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-de-Rouergue
1.7 mi away
Le Relais de Farrou
Le Relais de Farrou
#2 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
189 reviews
3.5 mi away
Les Fleurines
Les Fleurines
#1 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
382 reviews
13.2 mi away
Le Belle Rive
Le Belle Rive
#3 of 3 in Najac
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel balladins Villefranche de Rouergue
Hotel balladins Villefranche de ...
#4 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
59 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau de Longcol
Chateau de Longcol
#2 of 3 in Najac
110 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mon Plaisir
Mon Plaisir
#4 of 11 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Jouas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Jouas

Property: Mas de Jouas
Address: 12200 Saint Remy | Saint Remy, 12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family and baby friendly Boutique B&B business. 7 Night minimum stay with meals, drinks, children's meals, one night baby-sitting and some activities included. Three 2-bedroom suites and 1 smaller family room. Guests have access to a shared fridge, microwave, crockery, cutlery etc. There are baby and children's accessories/toys and equipment available for guests use. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing