We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, but good food”
Review of The Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fivemiletown
Certificate of Excellence
Braunschweig, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, but good food”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed at the Valley Hotel for 2 nights on a deal. The hotel itself is small, but cozy and clean. The room was very small (which I don't mind), but very stuffy and you couldn't open the window. Bathroom had a good size with a great shower.
Reception, bar and restaurant staff were all friendly.
We had dinner in the bar one evening and in the restaurant the other. The food was really good and there was plenty. The breakfast was also tasty. Choices for all meals were very good.
I don't think I'll stay at the Valley Hotel again. It has nothing to do with the hotel, more with the location. Fivemiletown is a very small and boring place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Manager, General Manager at The Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear DiOh,

Thank you for your recent review. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. We have recently installed new showers and I am very happy that our investment certainly seems to be paying off. I was however disappointed that your window would not open and if we had of been made aware of this at the time one of our team would only be to glad to assist. None the less I have our housekeeper checking all windows as a precaution.

The hotels food and friendly staff our one of the hotels major strengths, and breakfast which is freshly cooked to order is always a big hit. The Hotel is located at the gateway to the Fermanagh Lakelands and Tyrone which are equally 20 mins drive to where many tourist attractions await to be discovered. Fivemiletown itself can be quite deceiving in that there is fishing, golfing, pony trekking, bowling, cycle hire and a new 8km mountain bike trail all available locally; for the more relaxed activity we have day spas, forest walks and ladies boutique shops. Failing that there is always the alternative of going to one of our village pubs for a cosy pint!

Thanks again for your review.
Kind Regards
Greg Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    69
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
116
178
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My Husband and I stayed in this hotel 2 nights. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and big and very comfortable bed. We had a voucher that included an evening meal which was excellent. The breakfast was excellent as well. The town itself was very quite and everything was closed but you are very close to Belleek, and Lough Derg and Enniskellen. Where there are nice shops and a great art area in a place called The Butter Market. You can also eat there. We will be back. The only draw back someone was smoking in the rooms above ours and the hall way had a bad Oder of smoke but once inside our room you could not get the smell.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdeirdreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanchardstown, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is a great 3 star property in Fivemiletown in Tyrone. First thing is that you would need a car to get here. The town is small and about 20 mins from Omagh. The hotel itself is a really nice family run property with good, attentive staff. The rooms were fine, although a bit small and spartan. However the reason for the excellent mark is that the food in the hotel was fantastic. We had dinner and breakfast, both of which were superb and well worth trying out. The newly done up bar and lounge area were really nice and relaxing with great bar staff! Recommended highly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I booked a 2 night stay at the Valley Hotel for my wife and I as I had heard good reports about the service and food. The hotel itself is in the main street and one could easily drive past it without noticing that it’s there. Thankfully it is well signposted and there is lots of parking space at the rear.

The reception area is very small and on our arrival we were told by the receptionist that our room wasn’t ready as there had been a wedding and the cleaning staff were a bit behind. We were a little early for check in anyway so we took ourselves off to Claddagh Glen for a very pleasant walk.

On our return we discovered our bathroom floor hadn’t been cleaned which was obviously an oversight as the rest of the bathroom was gleaming. My wife reported this to reception and they immediately sent someone up to mop it. Realistically, these things can sometimes happen in any hotel but it’s how the matter is dealt with that matters and this was dealt with quickly and politely.

Although the room itself was small, it was warm, spotlessly clean and cozy. It contained a king size bed, a flat screen TV with a number of digital channels, an iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities (with biscuits) and free Wi-Fi. The bed was very comfortable and we had two great night’s sleep. Our room window was triple glazed so we didn’t really hear the heavy traffic in the street below which was a big plus.

The bathroom looked like it had been recently retiled and had a power shower over the bath. It had a shower curtain instead of a screen. I would much prefer a screen as the curtain has a tendency to cling to your body when showering. Shower gel and hand soap was supplied from wall mounted dispensers.

Breakfast on the first morning was terrible, probably the worst Ulster fry I’ve had in a long time. I think the soda and potato bread must have been fried in a deep fat fryer as they were hard and sodden with fat. The sausages were not good either with one of them being a cocktail sausage. The “bought in” croissants were pre-wrapped which made them soft, not crispy the way croissants should be. However, on the second morning the breakfast was freshly cooked for us and was delicious.

We had a meal in the restaurant on one of the evenings and it was very nice indeed and well presented. All the staff were friendly and very polite and we had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Were it not for the terrible breakfast on the first morning I would have given the Valley Hotel a 5.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Visited hotel recently. Value for money was excellent. Bar staff were extremely accommodating, even late at night. The hotel really suited our needs, (group of 4 couples). Rooms were spotless, bed was very comfortable. Had tea/coffee making facility which was great. Food was good though service could have been better. Breakfast was substantial. Be prepared to travel if staying in village, about 20 mins to Enniskillen. Walked around Lough Erin golf course, a heavenly place. Lots of places locally to visit. Overall a very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for a low floor if this is a problem, not sure if there are any bedrooms on ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoldenoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here twice in last couple of months and was extremely pleased with the friendliness of all the staff that I met and the excellent value bar food. The sirloin steak I had on my first visit was so good that I had to have another on the second and was just as good. Rooms fairly basic but not a single complaint. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diggers-Old-Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

visited this hotel april 21st 22nd with a group of 8,found staff extremely friendly and helpfull anything we asked for they responded willingly to,greg,singh and mark were very friendly to us even at the wee hours of the morning when we were having a singsong.rooms were spotless and very comfortable,will definately visit this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fivemiletown
6.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
685 reviews
16.0 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
435 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
553 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
315 reviews
12.7 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Hotel

Property: The Valley Hotel
Address: 60 Main Street, Fivemiletown BT75 0PW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Fivemiletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fivemiletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is truly a magnificent small modern contemporary family run NITB 3 Star hotel; offering excellent service accommodation and award winning cuisine. The hotel is situated at the gateway to the famous Fermanagh Lakelands a perfect base to explore many of the tourist attractions such as Marble Arch caves, Belleek Pottery and the award winning Ulster American Folk Park. Golf, fishing, walking, cycling and pony trekking are all available locally within the sleepy village of Fivemiletown not to mention some fantastic ladies boutique shops and lots lots more. Our 22 newly refurbished bedrooms offer all the services you expect for the modern international traveller, trouser press & ironing board, flat screen T.V, hairdryer, unlimited FREE Wi Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, and complimentary car-parking available.All rates include a fantastic breakfast of fruit juices, choice of cereal, fruit, yogurts, croissants and a freshly cooked breakfast complimented with freshly brewed tea and coffee.Accommodation comprises of executive doubles, standard doubles, standard twins, family room and a luxury suite.Recent awards include: Welcome to Excellence Award, Flavour of Tyrone Good Food Circle, Gold Award Green Tourism Business Scheme and 1st Place Best Energy Saving SME Action Renewable Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Fivemiletown
The Valley Hotel Fivemiletown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing