We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Restaurant Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra de Montanha

Terra de Montanha
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Vila Real
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ross Ca.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stopped into this restaurant for lunch while on the way to visit a friend in the wine region. It is a small restaurant decorated with lots of wine barrels. The food was VERY GOOD and the service was wonderful !!! It is a little hole in the wall on a quiet street, so you might have to poke your head into nearby shops for directions. The wine list was great and the bill for lunch was VERY reasonable. Great find!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    102
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

One of the best in the area. Really good food and nice owner. Very original decoration. All the starters we tried are also excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaMadalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

What a great place! We had a really good lunch here, made even better by the friendly owner and funny waiter and we all loved eating in the custom made barrel. I recommend the chorizo cooked in port and the deep fried beans for an appetiser. My husband chose the octopus for his main course and he said it was the best he'd had for a very long time. My fish pie was delicious . The kids menu was good too, they even ate all the fresh vegetable soup, so that is saying something. We will remember this food for a long time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BritgirlStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

After having taken great meals in Portigal, we came across a top one! Tables inside a wine tonnel, good atmosphere and amazing food! Despite a slow service we enjoyed this meal a lot. Don't forget to try Chorizo ao vinho, fat but incredibly tasty! Recommendable!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emiliano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
227 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Average food but unique interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our restaurant experience in Vila Real is limited to Bons Tempos and Terra de Montanha.
Bons Tempos wins regarding their food. Terra de Montanha is unique since old wine barrels are used as sits and even table shelters. Wow! Unfortunately, food is very common and forgettable. Try to choose a good wine to compensate.
Highly recommended due to the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra de Montanha also viewed

Vila Real, Vila Real District
Vila Real, Vila Real District
 
Vila Real, Vila Real District
Vila Real, Vila Real District
 

Been to Terra de Montanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing