We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”
Review of White Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimoda
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Sure the rooms are old, the bathrooms are tiny and there are almost no amenities, but look at the price. We had 4 in a room, it was cozy, but we were at the beach all day so it never mattered. We had an esky/cooler with us so there was always a drink and a snack for the kids. We ate at a café in town and the food was really average. So I would pay the hotel prices and enjoy your food. Pizza was amazing! Fries the best we found over 4 days in the area. Bar was fun, staff friendly and we loved every minute of it. Will be back without a doubt..

Room Tip: Front of the hotel/ocean view rooms slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent two nights at White Beach Hotel with another family for a long weekend. We booked three rooms total. They provided extra futon mats for the children so they could all have a sleepover in one room. Proximity to the beach is great. Easy to walk back to hotel at lunch and grab a wood fired pizza. For dinner the hotel has a restaurant or there is a great little cafe right next door that is fantastic. Overall, this hotel is great for families who need to get away for the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from restaurant if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simpledays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My 8th visit to this relaxed perky Establishment in Shimoda, Has a great team there trying to cater for all families and younger groups. Food is good and bar area is great. Will Definitely be returning here on my next visit as there is no where else in the area that compares.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I have stayed at four places in Kisami over the years. I would rank White Beach Hotel ('WBH") the worst of the four places. My wife booked this place and I went along for the ride. I would recommend staying somewhere else and dropping by WBH for a beer and a pizza one night. Although, if your on a stag's night or an end of school party, this could be the place for you.

Of the four places I stayed in, WBH has the best location. Although, the other 3 places are also very close to the beach - just an extra 100-200 yards to walk.

My main complaints are:

1. The rooms are absolutely terrible. Small, dirty, dank and absolutely no facilities/features - they do have beds, wardrobes, lights, and aircon but nothing else. They don't have balconies either. The rooms are carpeted - it was like walking in a very large petrie dish for 24 hours. I struggled to think of where I have stayed in a worse room. The only place I could think of was a beach cabin/hut in Thailand. I have stayed in many YHA/backpacker places that have cleaner and more comfortable rooms. I don't think this place qualifies as a "hotel". We stayed in a twin room - the queen rooms are in slightly better shape. Although the "queen" bed is pretty small - more like semi-double bed.

2. We stayed in late September - off season. The bar and kitchen were shutdown on the day we stayed - it seems they only operate the bar/restaurant when demand is high. So we couldn't get breakfast at the hotel.

The good points:

1. Location
2. The Japanese and Filipino staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. My Japanese wife found the foreign manager to be rude. I didn't meet him.
3. You can watch TV in the bar, and they have an Apple iMac set up on the bar counter so you surf the net.
4. The terrace/patio area is relatively sophisticated by Kisami standards. They have a real Pizza oven. We sampled there pizzas prior to our stay. They were good. Tokyo prices and quality. Tip: stick with the basic margherita pizza; the pizza crusts are very good, but the toppings are not so good.
5. It was very quiet when we were there. In fact we were the only guests. (On previous visits to Kisami I have noticed that WBH does get pretty rowdy by Kisami standards - which is consistent with some of the comments above re noise and sleeping problems).

Room Tip: Try a pension nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is extremely close to the beach, although if you're coming from IzukyuShimoda Station it's about a 10 minute, 2,000 yen taxi ride.

The bar and front areas are great places to unwind and hang out. (Bring bug spray if you're one of those prone to getting bitten) There were many families with children staying there as well. The service was excellent; the staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and places to go in the area. The manager, Kevin, was awesome and genuinely takes care to make sure everyone is accommodated to.

Room Tip: The rooms are minimal but have shampoo and body wash. You don't need to bring a beach towel as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is nicely positioned, very close to the beach (although saying a room has a 'sea view' is stretching it a bit). Kevin is very friendly and easy going and there is a great atmosphere around the bar. He is a good source of local knowledge and also an expert cocktail maker, with a great selection of drinks on offer to complement the very good restaurant. The food is delicious.

One reservation is that it is slightly expensive. Whilst the pizzas were very good (fantastically cooked in a proper wood fired oven) they were relatively pricey and the bedrooms pretty bare for the amount you pay. They also kept getting breakfast orders wrong (however the breakfasts themselves were delicious and had a good range of options). The bathrooms are miniscule. That said they were clean.

The major let-down for this place is unfortunately nothing to do with the hotel at all, but rather to do with the beach it is situated on. Initially it looks stunning. However you quickly find out you are not allowed to do anything without being chastised by a fleet of militant lifeguards.

They reserve an area in the shallows of around 20 metres square where you are allowed to paddle (up to around knee depth). Whilst we were there around 150 people were in this area, complete with body boarders (as they were also not permitted outside of this area). Appparently that is safer than keeping the toddlers and body boarders separate. Any deeper than knee depth is deemed too dangerous. You cannot use any of the rest of the coastline even to paddle in and heaven forbid you attempt to sit on the rocks, try to take a picture of the surf hitting the shore whilst ankle deep in water or even merely stand in the shallows. You will soon find yourself being hunted down and told to get out of the water. Swimming of any kind is forbidden. There is a sheltered area at the end of the beach which was mill-pond like but apparently that was also 'much danger' and posed such a danger to a group of late twenties friends that they were told to get out. Children were not even allowed to look for crabs amongst the rocks. It really is ridiculous. The lifeguards stop chasing you at 5 pm for an unknown reason (presumably the danger ends at 5 pm, although the size of the waves remain the same obviously), and you can dive into the surf as if you were at any other beach in the word outside of Japan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequent_tripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a great weekend in Shimoda, despite less than perfect weather. The website warned the rooms had partial sea views and the bathrooms were small (neither an understatement), but we enjoyed are stay - friendly service, the location and the food.
Most of the other guests were also families and while the restaurant does not offer a special menu options for children, the staff and kitchen were very accommodating. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The Japanese staff were also gave us good advice on options how we could spend the rainy days in Shimoda.

Room Tip: The ocean view isn't really special and also overlooks the restaurant's patio, which means i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoda hotels
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#3 of 68 in Shimoda
283 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Prince Hotel
Shimoda Prince Hotel
#6 of 68 in Shimoda
184 reviews
Hotel Izukyu
#4 of 68 in Shimoda
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi
#21 of 68 in Shimoda
9 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Yamatokan
Shimoda Yamatokan
#1 of 68 in Shimoda
389 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda View Hotel
Shimoda View Hotel
#7 of 68 in Shimoda
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Beach Hotel

Address: 1902 Kisami, Shimoda 415-0028, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shimoda > Shimoda Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimoda
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Entrance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your White Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing