We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bang for your buck!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimoda
Yokosuka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here and I would recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The food was so amazing!!! Couples and families this is where you want to be. The beach was steps away. The view at night for dinner is breath taking!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chery02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
27
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fussa, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

If your are looking for luxury this is not the place for you. If you just want to get away from the city and relax at a beautiful beach without walking far or driving from the hotel, this is the place for you. Family friendly and the owner/staff were really helpful when making our reservations and throughout our stay. Thank you Kevin and White Beach Hotel for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Military discount available upon request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakuba-mura, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just spent our second family holiday at White Beach Hotel. It's fun, it's social and so relaxed. If you want to hang out in the luxury of your room, if you want to have your bed turned down each evening, if you want silver service then you are in the wrong place. if you want to relax with a drink and a nice meal, want to give your children a great holiday, want to socialise with other guests, want to unwind with fun, young staff then you are at the right place. The beds are comfortable, the rooms airconditioned and spacious enough. The beach is just metres away with many great restaurants within walking distance (can highly recommend Mellow Cafe for lunch or dinner). If you like to go to bed early, I would recommend the rooms above the restaurant as the preference. We will definitely return to White Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant side of the building are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryanneGovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've been coming to White Beach Hotel the last two years now and I've always had a blast. The hotel is a stones throw away from one of the loveliest beaches I've ever been too. The food is excellent, the pizzas are legit, the beer is cold. I feel rejuvenated every time I come even if I leave with a sun burn. The staff is friendly and attentive, and Kevin pours a good glass of beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stay at the White Beach Hotel 3 or 4 times each year. From May through to September. Myself, my wife and two daughters (6 and 7). These are trips the whole family really look forward to. The location is fantastic with just a very short walk to the beautiful beach. The food is wonderful, especially the pizzas and fish and chips! And Kevin and the staff are always incredibly welcoming and really put in a lot of effort to keep everyone happy. Kevin has even been know to drive into town especially to buy birthday cakes for parties. For the past few years we have chosen to holiday here multiple weekends rather than one big trip outside of Japan. Life is just so easy down there. Highly recommended for family weekends.

Room Tip: I won't tell you the best rooms in case you take it when we are down there :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n4btb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have now stayed at the White Beach hotel at least twice a year for the last three years and highly recommend it. Our children are building great memories every year and are always asking when we are going back next.

The accommodation is basic but very clean. The staff are attentive, flexible and great fun. The bar area is one of the nicest places to hang out and relax outside of Tokyo and the manager, Kevin, makes every effort to make sure everyone is having a good time.

Sure the bar can be a bit noisy at the weekends, (my husband may be a factor in this!) but it has never bothered us or our children as we always sleep well after a day playing on the white sand beach and crashing about in the waves.

The proximity to the beach is one of the things that makes this place so special as well as the amazing restaurant (pizza is world class). The home-made limoncello, in a seemingly endless variety of flavours is enough to get us back there again and again, but can leave you with a fuzzy head if not treated with the respect it deserves!

We are big fans and would encourage anyone whether couple or family to go down and check it out, this place is also made for big groups of friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davisji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinjuku, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my Japanese partner for 3 days during our summer vacation.
I had traveled from Tokyo - Sendai - Tokyo -Mt Fuji- Izu (white Beach) - Tokyo by car.
I stay at a lot of hotels around Japan and overseas, my partner and I enjoyed the relaxed (freedom) break from city life and enjoyed may new dishes and the cooling clear ocean.

White Beach has a few different areas to relax or swim, one area on the left has swimmers only then body boards and then surfboards (mornings are best for short boards and in the afternoon the long boarders emerge.
The areas to the right have 2 smallish coves that are small enough and safe enough for small kids, these areas have no surfing or body boards.
White Beach has lifeguards and they are at the beach till 300 pm ~ 400 pm.

The hotel is very close to the beach.
At the end of the drive way of the hotel, cross the road, use the railed steps to go over the sea wall and you are on the beach for a full day of relaxing.
Heading back to the hotel for lunch or a few extra cold beers takes a few minutes.
Big beach towels you can use to relax on the beach with are supplied and are in your room, these are separate to the towels for the bathroom,
White Beach Hotel is an Eco hotel and changed the towels and made up the room every 3 days, if your towels are really in need of a change of course hotel staff will change them for you.

Previous comments here say they had to climb a sea wall, there is a sea wall in place for safety against tsunami, this sea wall has steps with rails and no climbing is required, small children might need a bit of help bit it is good that there is a separation from the beach to the road.

White Beach hotel is at the quieter end of the beach, great for families and couples looking for an un-intrusive stay, with no hotel staff constantly asking if they can help you (iyashaimasen) if you want to be waited on hand and foot this is not the place for you, but in saying that the staff will go out of their way to help you if you ask, this place lets you focus on relaxing with your family and partners at the beach or over a tasty dinner.

There is a beach rental gear shop close to the beach, seats, umbrellas, body boards and colorful animal flotation tubs of all shapes and sizes, great for the kids, I think the hotel had some that can be used for free, no reserving it is just first to get in the morning get them.
I took my own UV dome tent that I got from the Internet; I think it is a must if you intend to stay the whole day at the beach, the hotel does not supply these.

In the morning you can get a big breakfast with bacon egg, and all the trimmings like you get back home, that's what holidays are for though, a bit of indulgence or something simple.
A guest pizza chef from Tokyo comes to the hotel on the weekend to make his designer pizza's, unfortunately I was there midweek, next time I hope I get a chance, Pizza are available midweek and I actually thought that the chef from Tokyo was there because they were so good.

In the evening dinner is served outside on the balcony, the menu had something for everyone, from tasty pizza to a chicken dish that was my favorite.
A booking for diner is required, try do it when you book, there are a few other places up the road but it made sense to me to enjoy what was on offer and we were not disappointed.

I hit the bar one night and it was well stocked, the atmosphere was great with many international guests enjoying a few drinks after dinner and some parents enjoying a drink and some time alone after the kids had gone to bed.
If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the Balcony area but after a day at the beach and a hearty dinner washed down with a few great brews sleeping will not be a problem.
The weekends can get a bit noisy and it can go on a bit late at night, best to just join in and have a few nightcaps.

The staff serving dinner and at the bar can speak English; they are university students that are on their summer jobs, they are very nice and do their best to serve you.

A relaxed feeling was felt at the hotel, you could lounge outside, have a coffee or beer at the bar or at the tables inside.
International feel, my partner was the only Japanese person staying at one point.

Kids feel relaxed; they can speak English or Japanese to the staff, sliding doors in the foyer are set so that the doors are not easily opened by very young children, another nice safety feature.
Kids have a play ground (jungle gym)

Parking is available just ask the hotel staff when you book.
Eco friendly rooms, No fridge, phones or TV's in the rooms, I saw this as a great chance for a family or couple to have quality time together.

Room rates are great, I was surprised that it was half the rate of the hotel in Fuji I stayed at.

This is not a Japanese hotel, if you are looking for a hotel that has a spa, massage or in house activities then this is not the place for you.

WiFi is available free.
Rooms are Air-conditioned

This is in the country and close to the beach; there will be bugs but nothing to worry about just cover up at night if you go outside.

Because going to the beach every day is the main reason to stay at White Beach Hotel
Staying at the hotel all day is possible but with such a beautiful beach at your door step why would you.
The local conveyance store is not so close so get what you need before you get to the hotel.

All in all it was a refreshing change that made me feel like I truly had a holiday.
I will return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager, if you require a room closer to the bar I think he could arrange it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueseasOHyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoda hotels
Bondi
#22 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Totei
Totei
#11 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Hotel Uraga
#16 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#3 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Prince Hotel
Shimoda Prince Hotel
#6 of 67 in Shimoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Garden Villa Shirahama
#1 of 131 in Shimoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Beach Hotel

Property: White Beach Hotel
Address: 1902 Kisami, Shimoda 415-0028 , Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shimoda > Shimoda Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimoda
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Entrance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your White Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing