We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wisteria Cottage

Wisteria Cottage, large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria Cottage, large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove The sitting room has tri-fold doors to a large enclosed private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Wisteria Cottage, large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove
The sitting room has tri-fold doors to a large enclosed private garden
The separate dining room/kitchen
The well-equipped kitchen area (including dishwasher & washer/dryer)
The bedroom can be king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The bathroom has a WC, hand-basin and large shower cubicle
The large garden is fully enclosed and has a private gate to the road
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of Daffodil in our gardens
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damsenflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on-site, especially in late summer
A path up Humphrey's Hill is lined with red, orange and yellow Azaleas
There is a dramtic coloured Maple in the Autumn
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Amazing views of Exmoor from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
June S
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A warm, friendly welcome to a lovely cottage which was cosy, clean and well equipped in a great location (a very short stroll to the pub) made for a truly relaxing weekend. Thanks John and Melanie

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
You are very welcome! Thank you very much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dog friendly, get away from it all, kind of place.”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Excellent dog friendly facilities in a lovely courtyard setting, whilst still feeling quiet & secluded from other guests. Good location for both the coast & the moors.
Very friendly service from the owners. Would happily return and recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage and location highly recommended.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is our third stay in this cottage. The owners have thought of everything, the cottage is well appointed and very comfortable. You don't even need to cook as the Black Venus is a 100 yards up the road. It's very dog friendly as well. We have recommended it to friends and they loved their stay as much as we have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to see you again and look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scm203
Hampshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet cottage in quaint village”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We needed a cottage for a short weekend break that would accommodate our dog. John and Melanie provided us with that. Cottage had all amenities we needed for the weekend away and the cottage even had a great little enclosed garden for our dog. We arrived to a welcome pack with fresh milk, tea & coffee which was much appreciated after our long journey. There is a lovely walk set withing the cottage grounds and john and Melanie were very kind and allowed us to help ourselves to the apples and blackberries. The cottage had a woodburner and wood and kindling is provided, very welcoming on a cold October evening. Set in a quiet location, post office just up the road, my husband would recommend buying the local ale and my daughter the lovely homemade brownies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and dog friendly
Liked least: Cottage smelt of cigarette smoke
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay (and the apples & blackberries).

We are sorry that there was a smell of cigarettes in your cottage. Smoking has never been allowed in Wisteria Cottage and it is vary sad when this happens. We try so hard to make all of our cottages clean and fresh for each guest.

We hope that is has not put you off and that we can look forward to you visiting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McIlvenni...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Wisteria Cottage was perfect for our weekend stay - just wish it had been longer! The cottage is very nicely furnished, very comfortable and ideal for the dogs with the secluded garden.

Wish we had found this property years ago and will definitely be coming back again. Very friendly welcome by the owners John and Melanie and a good pub within walking distance - what more could anyone want!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere of the cottage, the well-thought out layout of the cottage and surrounding grounds. A great adventure for small children!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thank you for your good review. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay and look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancheste...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I have never been to this area before - I have missed out !!
As usual, prior to booking I try to find out all about the cottage and area I am to stay in and hope (as it's a risk) I am not going to be disappointed. Not so this time my Son (aged 41) and I had a holiday to remember. We were met on arrival by Melanie and her welcome set the tone for our stay. She introduced us to the cottage which had everything we needed including a small enclosed garden, safe for our dog. The cottage is on a quite lane, 10min from the village shop and great pub for food.
Our two weeks were during a heat-wave, no rain. We went out every day visiting valleys, coves, castles, rivers and villages in the area, there was so much to see and without travelling far. We went on walks from the cottage also a wander around the grounds. Always with a camera.
Can't wait for our next visit as we have left so much behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's position very peacefull yet so near a pub meal
Liked least: The shower pressure. It was not fed from the mains.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
It was lovely to meet you and your son! We are really glad that you enjoyed your holiday and it's many photo opportunities. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
PS Thank you for my scarf - I will wear it in the winter.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$71
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing