We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic peaceful getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wisteria Cottage

Wisteria Cottage, large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria Cottage, large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove The sitting room has tri-fold doors to a large enclosed private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
40 reviews
Wisteria Cottage, large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove
The sitting room has tri-fold doors to a large enclosed private garden
The separate dining room/kitchen
The well-equipped kitchen area (including dishwasher & washer/dryer)
The bedroom can be king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The bathroom has a WC, hand-basin and large shower cubicle
The large garden is fully enclosed and has a private gate to the road
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of Daffodil in our gardens
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damsenflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on-site, especially in late summer
A path up Humphrey's Hill is lined with red, orange and yellow Azaleas
There is a dramtic coloured Maple in the Autumn
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Amazing views of Exmoor from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troughton...
1 review
“Fantastic peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Beautiful well maintained cottage set in stunning countryside surroundings. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a break from the daily hustle and bustle of everyday life. Plenty of things to do in nearby areas.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - there is so much to do locally, we are pleased that you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Can't fault the cottage or the surrounding countryside. The pictures above give a really accurate feel for the place.

Truly dog-friendly accommodation which makes such a difference,

The owners were there to welcome us and give us great tips and advice on the village and local walks. The walk to Challacombe church is easy and starts virtually on the doorstep.

The Black Venus in the village and The Fox and Goose in Parracombe are both great pubs well worth a visit.

All in all a great holiday - we'll definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2014
We are very glad that Wisteria cottage was a hit with you and your dogs. We are very lucky to have good walks nearby, and great local pubs. Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage within the beautiful Exmoor national park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The cottage is great, equipped with everything you could possibly need, and the log burner makes it super cosy. It was so nice to stay somewhere which felt like it was 'away from it all', though it's very conveniently located for exploring Exmoor and the pub's just up the road so not far to stumble back! We also used the garden for stargazing which is superb around there.
Thanks for a fab stay! We hope to come back some day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June S
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A warm, friendly welcome to a lovely cottage which was cosy, clean and well equipped in a great location (a very short stroll to the pub) made for a truly relaxing weekend. Thanks John and Melanie

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
You are very welcome! Thank you very much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dog friendly, get away from it all, kind of place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Excellent dog friendly facilities in a lovely courtyard setting, whilst still feeling quiet & secluded from other guests. Good location for both the coast & the moors.
Very friendly service from the owners. Would happily return and recommend.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage and location highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is our third stay in this cottage. The owners have thought of everything, the cottage is well appointed and very comfortable. You don't even need to cook as the Black Venus is a 100 yards up the road. It's very dog friendly as well. We have recommended it to friends and they loved their stay as much as we have.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to see you again and look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scm203
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet cottage in quaint village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We needed a cottage for a short weekend break that would accommodate our dog. John and Melanie provided us with that. Cottage had all amenities we needed for the weekend away and the cottage even had a great little enclosed garden for our dog. We arrived to a welcome pack with fresh milk, tea & coffee which was much appreciated after our long journey. There is a lovely walk set withing the cottage grounds and john and Melanie were very kind and allowed us to help ourselves to the apples and blackberries. The cottage had a woodburner and wood and kindling is provided, very welcoming on a cold October evening. Set in a quiet location, post office just up the road, my husband would recommend buying the local ale and my daughter the lovely homemade brownies.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and dog friendly
Liked least: Cottage smelt of cigarette smoke
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay (and the apples & blackberries).

We are sorry that there was a smell of cigarettes in your cottage. Smoking has never been allowed in Wisteria Cottage and it is vary sad when this happens. We try so hard to make all of our cottages clean and fresh for each guest.

We hope that is has not put you off and that we can look forward to you visiting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$71
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing