We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury cabins in the Puerto Rican rain forest”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin # 2 Wine&cheese at 5pm included.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Cabin # 2
Wine&cheese at 5pm included.
Dine finely!
Cabin #2. King size bed
Balinese structure by the little pond.
The main house.
Cabin #1. Queen size bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bayamon, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tripster6...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury cabins in the Puerto Rican rain forest”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Mont Carpe Diem is not a long drive from San Juan, but a world away. Once you pass through the gate, you are in a tropical paradise with every comfort, including beautifully tended gardens - did I say peacocks?, an A-MA-ZING pool (with pool-side bar and optional dining), but maybe best is the cabin itself. It's private, air-conditioned, and with an extremely comfortable bed and bath. There are two cabins, for two people each. Very private. The owners, Yohandra and Pedro, have perfected the art of being there when you need them and not being there when you don't. And last, but certainly not least, are the meals, which you choose from a menu in advance and enjoy on the balcony of the main house, overlooking the entire property. You can see the ocean in the distance. A beautiful side of PR that many don't see. Am looking forward to a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
THANK YOU. THANK YOU! WELCOME TO US ROBERT & FER!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing in every single aspect...all you desire from a peaceful vacation experience!”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Mont Carpe Diem exceeded all of our expectations. We wanted a place where we could relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and did we ever! Only a 40 min drive from San Juan, up in the most secluded mountains, we found this piece of heaven on earth. The dedication that owners Pedro and Yohandra put into making our stay the most memorable was already noted weeks prior to our arrival, and once there it never stopped. The food was amazing, all made as per our wishes and with the best natural ingredients. We were even able to put in a tough terrain workout and later relax by the pool and massage. I already want to go back!! :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
THANKS SO MUCH! WELCOME ALWAYS!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate852
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a magical place. Staying at Mont Carpe Diem is an unparalleled experience - and we've done a ton of exploring around Puerto Rico over the last year.

We felt like we had our own private rainforest. Our cabin was cozy yet refined - and so calming. Thoughtful, luxurious details abound. I felt like I was in a spa in the middle of a rainforest. We loved sitting in front of the cabin's huge window, which slides completely into the wall, and opens to the rainforest. Perfect for cards, reading, or just listening to the coqui frogs, birds and other rainforest music. The shower also had windows which opened to the forest. We slept so well in the luxurious bed, and loved hearing the rain on the tin roof.

The grounds are beautiful and fun to explore: hiking paths; pond and gorgeous tee-pee building; salt-water pool and pool bar (with swings!); and so many amazing animals (peacocks, chickens, goats, geese, dogs and cats). Peacocks!

The food! Incredibly fresh (much sourced from their garden) and absolutely delicious. This is not typical Puerto Rican tourist food. This is globally-influenced, thoughtfully prepared, eco-conscious, simply elegant food.

Owners Yohandra and Pedro are amazing people who have created something very special. Their love of the space, the rainforest and what they have created is apparent in every aspect. We haven't received such genuine, personalized service in all of Puerto Rico (or maybe anywhere?).
What a refreshing experience. We can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for these beautiful words. We will miss you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tere P
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Escape from The City”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Mont Carpe Diem is a FANTASTIC escape from city life! If you are looking to disconnect and get in touch with nature, this place is ideal! We were greeted by the gracious hosts, Pedro and Yohandra who made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. We were given a tour of the pool and BBQ area and then taken to our cabana #1 which was impecably decorated and designed to impress. AC was at perfect temperature, the uniquely designed shower had nice warm water, the view of the forest was breathtaking and to top if off, they surprised my husband with Birthday Party favors, Champangne and a cake to begin our celebration. We were then invited to a poolside sunset wine and cheese. The scenery was spectacular! We even had the pleasure to witness a family of peacocks that came to say hello. In the evening, we walked to the main house for an amazing dinner cooked by Yohandra and were in bed by 10:30pm for some well deserved rest. The bed was vey comfortable. The next morning, Pedro took us for a morning stretch at the terrace in front of the pond (spectacular!), then a guided morning hike around the property, and abs by the pool. After a shower, we were served breakfast at the mainhouse. This was not just any breakfast. The spread included Organic scrambled eggs from thier hens, fresh fruit and fruit waters from the farm, a nice assortment of breads, granola, cafe con leche, etc. Just amazing! We then had the opportunity to go feed the goats, chickens and peacocks. We even got to pick some fresh laid eggs! After that, we went to the pool and had a fantastic afternoon. The hosts made us grilled vegetables, assorted meat and lobster a la BBQ. Needless to say, my husband had an awesome Birthday. We will definitely be back to stay at Mont Carpe Diem! Thank you Pedro and Yohandra for making our stay so special. We wish you and your beautiful family the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thank you! Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Gracias mil por tanto cariño. Ustedes fueron huéspedes encantadores. Bienvenidos siempre!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing