We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small portion for price,main more like a starter.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel

The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Grosmont
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub serving food
BIRKENHEAD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small portion for price,main more like a starter.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I took note of good reviews and actively sought out The Angel Inn however I arrived hungry and was disappointed with my portion! The sea bass was tasty but arrived in a few pieces with approx 3 sliced new potatoes and a few wilted spinach leaves. I ate up in no time whilst my hubby continued his (better)choice a while after. Still hungry I opted for a dessert when really I just wanted a substantial main. Disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, shame about the service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Read lots of great reviews on here prior to our visit but sorely disappointed in the end. Lovely charming town well worth a visit, especially if walking. Cosy village pub, lots of locals, friendly atmosphere. Good choice on the menu except that several dishes we wanted were unavailable. Food took 45 minutes to arrive and one of the dishes needed some prompting before they brought out the nan bread! Vegetables erring on the side of raw. Most significantly they had misread the order and given four people three meals. We couldn't face another wait so left it at that.Very unapologetic waitress and no sign of remorse at the Angel's blunder.

Lovely live music playing, and great for a drink, however. Tea room next door and B&B absolutely perfect.

Overall disappointed, although other reviews suggest a better experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheFamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Would highly recommend eating here as the burgers we ordered we amazing!

We visited at lunchtime on a rainy day, we were the only customers eating and were made to feel very welcome, thanks for a lovely lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A quaint little country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We love this pretty little village and the surrounding countryside and have popped in many a time for drinks after visiting abergavenny,the castles nearby and local restaurants so a few days ago thought we would eat here. It's a proper country pub apparently ran by people in the village...and has a cosy and welcoming atmosphere...we sat by the log fire and had a really good pub meal...very reasonably priced. The chilli and lime mackerel was delicious as was the beef madras ! As we enjoyed our meal one of the locals popped in and sang along to his acoustic guitar in the far corner of the bar. Well worth a visit...the decking at the back of the pub is a little sun trap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Proper country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stop for a pint and a meal while visiting Grosmont and help the locals keep this lovely old pub in business. Charming and cosy inside, sunny garden at the back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MargoMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel also viewed

Kentchurch, Herefordshire
Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire
 
Garway, Herefordshire
Walterstone, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing