We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly little pub”
Review of The Angel

The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Grosmont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub serving food
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly little pub”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This lovely pub in the middle of picturesque Grosmont truly is a 'home from home'. We visited with family for Sunday lunch and they provided a lovely generous dinner for my little girl who is usually a fussy eater but was most impressed she had her own Sunday lunch! The staff were friendly and the atmosphere just right. We will definatley visit here again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoMunchkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
penarth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lunch stop on cycling holiday”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

They had to cater for 25 of us and so buffet was great idea. Very accommodating for all special diets and wonderful chips, great community initiative

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“up to the angel”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

with Marg and Rob back in command, the Angel is back to being very good indeed. A perfect combination of a truly old fashioned country pub with welcoming locals and very well kept beer. A perfect setting in a lovely village and the slight eccentricity of the pub not having its own toilet! If you don't know then go and find out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 34064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRKENHEAD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small portion for price,main more like a starter.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I took note of good reviews and actively sought out The Angel Inn however I arrived hungry and was disappointed with my portion! The sea bass was tasty but arrived in a few pieces with approx 3 sliced new potatoes and a few wilted spinach leaves. I ate up in no time whilst my hubby continued his (better)choice a while after. Still hungry I opted for a dessert when really I just wanted a substantial main. Disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, shame about the service.”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Read lots of great reviews on here prior to our visit but sorely disappointed in the end. Lovely charming town well worth a visit, especially if walking. Cosy village pub, lots of locals, friendly atmosphere. Good choice on the menu except that several dishes we wanted were unavailable. Food took 45 minutes to arrive and one of the dishes needed some prompting before they brought out the nan bread! Vegetables erring on the side of raw. Most significantly they had misread the order and given four people three meals. We couldn't face another wait so left it at that.Very unapologetic waitress and no sign of remorse at the Angel's blunder.

Lovely live music playing, and great for a drink, however. Tea room next door and B&B absolutely perfect.

Overall disappointed, although other reviews suggest a better experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheFamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel also viewed

Kentchurch, Herefordshire
Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire
 
Walterstone, Herefordshire
Garway, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing