We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berg en Zee Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My partner and I spent 12 days at Berg en Zee and can't wait to go back! Jackie and her team could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Her suggestions of places to visit and things to do was spot on. Our room was gorgeous - tons of space, beautifully furnished, lovely balcony overlooking the bay, tea and coffee making facilities, and free wi-fi. Breakfast was great and the coffee pot was bottomless! The atmosphere was of a home rather than a hotel. There was plenty of private parking just outside the door. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance mean it is not necessary to take the car out in the evening. And it was great to have the option of heating up one of Jackie's delicious lasagnes, along with wine from the honesty bar, after a long hard day on the golf course! Gordon's Bay is a great centre to stay, being convenient for Cape Town, Stellenbosch and The Winelands, numerous excellent golf courses and the Whale Route. I would not hesitate to recommend this Guest House to anyone. In fact I already have but, such is its popularity, Jackie was unfortunately unable to accommodate my friends on this occasion!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kushtipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Wir waren 3 Nächte in Jackies Berg en Zee- Guesthouse und haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die Lage ist super, die Zimmer liebevoll eingerichtet und das Omelett und das Müsli zum Frühstück ein Traum! Wir haben in Gordons Bay unsere Südafrika-Reise gestartet - einen besseren Start als das "Berg en Zee" hätten wir nicht haben könne. Auch die guten Tipps von Jackie haben wir befolgt und konnten so tolle Dinge abseits vom Touristenrummel sehen. Wir würden dieses Guesthouse jederzeit wieder buchen!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheinlaender06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The superlatives have been written about the place, and they are fully justified. Great place, people, rooms, atmosphere, breakfast etc.
Jackie the owner\manager is very knowledgeable on the area and is invaluable if you want to use your time to good effect.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Wonderful place, great service, fantastic location to explore Cape region. Gordon's Bay is a lovely spot, to stay, good choice, especially Berg en Zee! Jackie and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Jackie was so helpful in her recommendations prior to our trip via email, and then during our stay as well, and she assisted with directions for our day trips too. Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Me and wife stays for 3 nights. The room is clean and well maintain. Location are good, the owner Jacky is very helpful and she provided good recommentation on the restorans near by. Good breakfast. Value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My boyfriend proposed to me this weekend with the help of Jacky and her staff,it was the most romantic and memorable experiece of my life to date. The setting on the beach right outside the guesthouse was breathtaking and we were served by Khumbulani who made the momentous occasion even more special. The whole thing was captured on camera by Jacky who sat quietly in the backround so that we would have something to look back on.

Our stay at Berg en Zee was very comfortable and relaxing, Jacky was extremely friendly and a wonderful host. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were immaculate with a spectacular ocean view.

All in all it was a stunning trip and one which i will never forget.

Thank you Jacky and Berg en Zee for helping make this weekend so special for me and my new fiance.

We will most definitely be back again!

From Renata and Donovan

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenataandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Hey,
in January 2009 my parents, my sister and me spent our holidays in South Africa and it was really a great time. We felt already comfortable from the first moment entering the Guest house. The room we stayed in was very big and the view was fantastic. If you stand on the balcony you can see the whole Helderberg area as well as the sea right in front of you and the Helderberg mountains to your right hand side. Everyone working here was always friendly and very helpful doesn't matter if it was 6'o clock the morning or at 10'oclock the night. The whole Guest house was at every moment clean and neat and our beds were made up in a beautiful charming way every day. Actually everything was perfect. Not to forget about the great breakfast which was to my mind better then at a 6 star Hotel. To cut a long story short I would always come again an recommend this Guest house to everyone who is planing on visiting South Africa. Thank you for the great time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#11 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg en Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg en Zee Guest House

Address: 135 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berg en Zee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for exploring the attractions of Cape Town and the Western Cape, Gordon's Bay is a lovely Mediterranean-style seaside village. Berg en Zee is centrally situated just across the road from the beach with 6 spacious direct sea-view rooms and 2 luxurious penthouse suites. Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet and wi-fi. Walk to restaurants. English, Afrikaans, French spoken. Lots of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Berg en Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg En Zee Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing