We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berg en Zee Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We desperately needed a break from JHB and spent 4 lovely nights at Berg en Zee. Jackie and her staff were great and really made us feel at home. The view from our upstairs room was stunning and the room had a lovely tranquil feel. The breakfasts were excellent and we left Gordons Bay feeling like beached whales having sampled copious amounts of the great food and wine in the area. Jackie knows the area well and had plenty of great recommendations.

We will be back. Andrew and Fran, JHB, RSA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BergenZee, Owner at Berg en Zee Guest House, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you so much for these kind words. We're really pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and the places we recommended you to visit. We hope you'll have the chance to come down to Gordon's Bay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
113
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The breakfast here was excellent. English people know how to make a good English breakfast. A lovely room, with plenty of space and very clean. The two ladies made our stay very enjoyable and couldn't do enough for us to help. The day we left we had an early flight, unfortunately we didn't have time for the wide selection of breakfast but they got up specially for us to prepare a bacon sandwich. Very kind. The breakfast options: Cereal, toast, scones, muffins, full english, yoghurt, fruit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSARGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This guest house has all the ingredients of a wonderful stay.
Quiet, comfortable, beautiful setting along the ocean.
Clean, well appointed rooms, with a touch of class and old world charm.
Attentive staff and friendly owner who interacts with guests, and assures satisfaction.
Wonderful breakfasts cooked to your order with lots of options.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank experiencer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The location, the view, the rooms, jackie and her team - a perfect combination!! Could not have been better. Jochen and Ulrike (London)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jochenulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My partner and I spent 12 days at Berg en Zee and can't wait to go back! Jackie and her team could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Her suggestions of places to visit and things to do was spot on. Our room was gorgeous - tons of space, beautifully furnished, lovely balcony overlooking the bay, tea and coffee making facilities, and free wi-fi. Breakfast was great and the coffee pot was bottomless! The atmosphere was of a home rather than a hotel. There was plenty of private parking just outside the door. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance mean it is not necessary to take the car out in the evening. And it was great to have the option of heating up one of Jackie's delicious lasagnes, along with wine from the honesty bar, after a long hard day on the golf course! Gordon's Bay is a great centre to stay, being convenient for Cape Town, Stellenbosch and The Winelands, numerous excellent golf courses and the Whale Route. I would not hesitate to recommend this Guest House to anyone. In fact I already have but, such is its popularity, Jackie was unfortunately unable to accommodate my friends on this occasion!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kushtipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Wir waren 3 Nächte in Jackies Berg en Zee- Guesthouse und haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die Lage ist super, die Zimmer liebevoll eingerichtet und das Omelett und das Müsli zum Frühstück ein Traum! Wir haben in Gordons Bay unsere Südafrika-Reise gestartet - einen besseren Start als das "Berg en Zee" hätten wir nicht haben könne. Auch die guten Tipps von Jackie haben wir befolgt und konnten so tolle Dinge abseits vom Touristenrummel sehen. Wir würden dieses Guesthouse jederzeit wieder buchen!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheinlaender06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The superlatives have been written about the place, and they are fully justified. Great place, people, rooms, atmosphere, breakfast etc.
Jackie the owner\manager is very knowledgeable on the area and is invaluable if you want to use your time to good effect.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
284 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wind-Rose Guest House
Wind-Rose Guest House
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof Guest House
18 On Kloof Guest House
#6 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg en Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg en Zee Guest House

Property: Berg en Zee Guest House
Address: 135 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berg en Zee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for exploring the attractions of Cape Town and the Western Cape, Gordon's Bay is a lovely Mediterranean-style seaside village. Berg en Zee is centrally situated just across the road from the beach with 6 spacious direct sea-view rooms and 2 luxurious penthouse suites. Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet and wi-fi. Walk to restaurants. English, Afrikaans, French spoken. Lots of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Berg en Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg En Zee Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing