We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berg en Zee Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in mid April. This a lovely B & B in Gordon's Bay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Each of the rooms have great water views over Gordon's Bay and it was nice sitting out on the balcony staring at the water.
It has a great 'honesty bar' which is a fridge packed with beers, wine, soft drink and even microwaveable meals. You help youself to whatever you want and when you check out you pay for what you have used. The prices of the items were very cheap compared to some hotels which seem to charge a premium for mini bar items.
There was a good selection of items for the continental buffet breakfast. In addition, you could also order a la carte hot meals which were also included in the room price.
As became the norm for us in our travels throughout South Africa, the free wi-fi was a bit hit and miss. Using two i-phones and an adroid tablet, we could only pick up wi fi in the room where breakfast was served.
The only 'con' was that it was little noisy in the room from the cars driving up and down the hill.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights and we had a wonderful time. Jacky made us feel very welcome, the rooms were clean an beautiful. My sister married right at the beach in front of berg en zee, which was very intimate, jackie helped us organising this small wedding, and it was perfect.
I would definetely come back as it was a perfect stay, in a perfect hotel with the perfect host!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoytravel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

First class seamless service but not obtrusive. South African hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: All excellent with wonderful views of False Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdixon_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was my third stay at Berg en Zee. The rooms are impeccably clean and really well appointed. I particularly enjoy the quality of the bedding. The next great treat is the breakfast. We love eating, and the breakfast is TASTY and ample. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit.
There is also a good spread with more than enough variety. We left very early for the Argus and our packet breakfast was in our room the previous evening. Very thoughtful!! The staff is friendly and very efficient. I would have appreciated it if someone recommended this place to me.
The fact that I return to Berg en Zee every time is the biggest compliment that I can pay it.
Hano Bekker

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

well this b&b we really love..wunderful people ,wunderful owner...nice room, with sea view..we have been there already 3 times and think we come back...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurnhoutWillem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very friendly guest house who are helpful in advising on tourism attractions
Lovely room with a sea view balcony fridge and air con
Very good location
Breakfast is good, but it could be more varied day to day

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fullpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BergenZee, Owner at Berg en Zee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your comments about breakfast. We agree that breakfast can become a little repetitive over an 8-day stay so we've added a few items to our normal cooked-to-order menu of bacon, sausage, boerewors, mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, baked beans and all the various options for eggs and omelettes. We now offer savoury mince and french toast as well as some special frittata creations. The cold buffet of cereals, yoghurts, assorted muffins, fresh and stewed fruit, cheese, cold meats, juices, muffins and various breads has also been updated with a fourth cereal and some extra varieties of cold meat. We have changed our supplier of pastries so that we can ring the changes with our breads and croissants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Berg en Zee in Gordons Bay is a small and friendly lodge well within
taxi reach east from Cape Town airport. The lodge is an easy
first stay after the flight arrival, prior to any further movement along the SA south coast.
It could also be the best possible location for golfers exploration of the numerous courses in the Cape Town area. Would say there are 8-10 courses within 30 min drive from the lodge, ranging from Arabella in the East, Clovally in the West and Stellenbosch in the North.

The lodge is a charming place with lovely rooms (All with great sea facing balconies !) and a warm hospitality provided by Jackie McGregor and her crew, making a stay at Berg en Zee very comfortable. And across the street we had the needed restaurants, some shops and the beach of the Indian Ocean !
We,Anders Ulander & family from Harnösand Sweden, did
like the place very much.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BergenZee, Owner at Berg en Zee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Anders. It was wonderful to see you and the family again after your last visit five years ago. We agree that Gordon's Bay is the ideal base for golfers as well as anyone wishing to visit all the attractions of the Cape, since we are so centrally located for Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franschoek and Hermanus. We hope we'll be seeing you again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#11 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg en Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg en Zee Guest House

Address: 135 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berg en Zee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for exploring the attractions of Cape Town and the Western Cape, Gordon's Bay is a lovely Mediterranean-style seaside village. Berg en Zee is centrally situated just across the road from the beach with 6 spacious direct sea-view rooms and 2 luxurious penthouse suites. Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet and wi-fi. Walk to restaurants. English, Afrikaans, French spoken. Lots of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Berg en Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg En Zee Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing