We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guest House in the Western Cape area”
Review of Colourful Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colourful Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Colourful Manor recently for 7 nights. It is an excellent guest house with modern and well equipped rooms. The hospitality of the owners is excellent and makes you feel very comfortable staying there. The area is great if you are looking to explore more than just the usual Cape Town. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: go for a sea view room for better view, size and room interiors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magellan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Colourful Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

After 3 years we came back and it was even better then the start-up year.
Paul & Marjolein very helpful and nice with all the reservations like quatdriving, restaurants, walkingtour in Stellingbosch, etc. I'm sure I will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YmkeAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed for a couple of days at Colourful Manor. First of all, a great place to stay, beautifull rooms, nice lounge to relax and a very good hospitality of Paul and Marjolein. The view from the terrace was spectacular at any time of the day. Therefore a colourful view ! From the estate you can travel easily to all the beautiful places near Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and last but not least the beaches nearby.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank PeterenSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

For 15 days we had a wonderfull stay in Colourful Manor, with our children and grandchildren.
We enjoyed the views on the mountains and the bay. We slept very well in the the comfortable rooms and enjoyed every day's breakfast. The swimmingpool was a great attraction specially for the children
The hospitality from the owners Marjolein and Paul and the staff Sabine and Marije make us all feel at ease.
The location is an excellent starting point for daytrips in the beautiful surroundings .
Colourful Manor is a perfect guesthouse for a relaxed holiday in South Africa.

Anneke and Aernout

Room Tip: The rooms with the sea view and the corner suites are large , comfortable and beautiful decorated.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aernout v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a beautiful modern property, with very roomy stylish guest rooms, with lots of attention to detail. Lots of nice amenities to be found upon arrival. A very cosy feel. Great breakfasts, do have a huge latte, it's worth the tiny extra fee..
Paul and Marjolein are wonderful hosts, very good at finding the right time for a chat or leave you to yourself. They have very good suggestions for restaurants, things to do etc. It is very central in the region so a perfect base for your trips to Capetown, the winelands of Stellenbosch and Franschoek, but also for Hermanus and the Cape Peninsula. Lots of golfcourses in the area. And if you're into good food, do try the Waterkloof restaurant, it's amazing!
And don't forget to have a glass of wine either at your own terrace (go for the seaview) or the main terrace, great view of the bay with even Table Mountain in the background!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in Colourful Manor for one full week with two families with children and three older ladies. The views of the bay were beautiful! The driving distance to all the major sights in and around Capetown was between 25-45 minutes. We enjoyed the beautiful spacious rooms which were all uniquely decorated in a modern style. The owners Paul and Marjolein were always there to welcome us or assist us where necessary! Thank you for the great time we had!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this great Guesthouse. The views are stunning and breathtaking, the room very, very comfortable, the breakfasts great. It's a beautiful and stylish decorated guesthouse! But what really made this a great place are the people: the owners Marjolein and Paul and most of all the staff Sabine and Marije. They do everything to make you feel at home, we highly recommand this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FransRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Gardens Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colourful Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colourful Manor

Address: Sweetwatersroad | Farm 959, Portion 28, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £58 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colourful Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful Manor is beautifully located on the slopes of the Gordons Bay mountains overlooking False Bay, Cape of Good Hope, Table mountain, the Atlantic Ocean, the Hottentot Holland mountains and the vineyards of Vergelegen Wine estate. Modern decorated luxurious rooms with either sea of mountain view. Superb bathrooms, top quality beds and linen. Great service, very personal service and recommendations by the owners and freshest breakfast with Italian coffees. Centrally located for Capetown, Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Hermanus and the winelands. All scenic routes start and stop at Colourful Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colourful Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colourful Manor South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing