We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It all fits together in a really beautiful B&B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colourful Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colourful Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“It all fits together in a really beautiful B&B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently experienced a magnificent stay at Colourful Manor in a splendid seaview room. Daily personal attention by Paul, Marjolein and staff to optimize our holidays. They made reservations for beautiful golf courses and lovely restaurants we would not have discovered ourselves in a short span of time. The location is great to explore Cape Town, wine estates and coast within one hour drive. Highly recommendable!
Otto & Inge

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto-Inge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    49
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
106
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leimuiden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Colourful Manor. We just arrived in Capetown and Colourfull Manor was an easy 30 minute drive from the airport.

We had a seaview suite. And the view was fantastic. They have a great lounge for drinks or breakfast with an really easy feel to it. The owners Paul and Marjolein are great hosts!

Paul went out of his way to get us tickets for a concert of Bruce Springsteen who happened to be in town! And we got the tickets and had a great night. He also arranged transport to and from the venue where Springsteen was playing!

Next morning he helped us plan the remainder of our trip along the Garden Route and came up with some amazing hotel en guesthouse suggestions. He also checked availibility, booked our rooms and gave us tons of (local) tips for our trip. What an easy way to travel! This guy knows his way around the West and East Cape. As it turned out Paul also runs a travel agency called Madiba Travel.

I am sure we will be back at Colourful Manor. If you decide to go be sure to ask Paul about his Ranking the Guest plan.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prsvanbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We came to this place because we had seen positive reviews.
The location is nice with beautiful views but our room was rather disappointing.
I found the room rather uncomfortable and colorless. There was no window you could open and during the day the heat was unbearable. Our room was exposed to the full sun for the whole day and there was no AC. The electric fan was simply not sufficient.
To keep the door open would solve the problem but the owner's dogs, even though friendly, were eager to enter the room at every occasion.
The lavabo was placed too high for an average person and if you took a shower the water was running all over the bathroom.
I also didn't like the attitude of the staff when people needed to leave earlier in the morning.

I would suggest removing the adjective "luxury".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muchie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colourfulmanor, Eigenaar at Colourful Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Google Translation
Hartelijk dank voor uw beoordeling op TripAdvisor.Wij waarderen beoordelingen aangezien het ons in staat stelt verbeteringen door te voeren.

Helaas is de beoordeling voor ons unaniem waardoor wij niet in staat zijn de specifieke gast te achterhalen. Tevens zijn wij niet van de ontevredenheid van de gast persoonlijk op de hoogte gesteld. Dat is jammer omdat wij de voorkeur er aan geven eventuele ontevredenheid direct op te lossen.

Wij vinden het heel jammer dat de service en de beoordeling van de kamer niet is gewaardeerd. Het betreft een subjectieve beoordeling die door een ieder anders kan worden ervaren en op momenten wellicht niet optimal kunnen zijn. Ook hiervoor geld dat wij dat graag direct vernemen.

Wat betreft de objectieve waarde zoals slaapkwaliteit, waarde en hygiene moeten wij afstand nemen van de beoordeling. Wij hebben topkwaliteit bedden en top kwaliteit linen en Kingsize Extra length bedden dus dat kan niet verbeterd worden. Colourful Manor is zeer redelijk geprijsd voor het aangeboden product en de hygiene is van zeer hoog niveau.

Het kan gebeuren dat een enkele gast niet op het juiste moment de juiste service heeft ervaren. Dat spijt ons om te horen maar willen nogmaals benadrukken dat een unanieme beoordeling alsmede het feit dat wij er niet persoonlijk op aangesproken zijn niet helpt om de specifieke gast tevreden te stellen.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Paul & Marjolein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were looking for a nice accommodation for our first night in South Africa, coming from the airport on our way next morning to Botlierskop Reserve. We enjoyed it very much. From the first email contact until we left, everything was perfect. We had two rooms with a connecting door, very clean and very nice decorated (with candles for the evening). The hole garden and pool area invited us to stay and to calm down after the long flight from Europe. The view over Gordon's Bay and the False Bay was amazing. The service as well was fine, they cooked a light meal for us in the evening since we were too tired to go out. The self-catering for drinks was convenient to us, there has been something for everybody. We will definitely stay there again and it was a pity that we had to leave early next morning. Thank you Vanessa and Marjolein and the nice couple in the morning with the excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter & Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The rooms in Colourful Manor is extremely clean and tastefully designed. The room is spacious and so is the toilet. The hosts Ellen and Jurgen are extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is near (as in, assuming you are driving ) to Stellenbosch, Gordon's bay and Franshoek. There are also two huge shopping malls nearby!
Breakfast prepared by the hosts are also delicious .:)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leong_Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for the 3rd time, this time with friends. Received a very warm welcome and felt very much at home. Had 2 lovely rooms on the seaview side, which I recommend, as the view is beautiful. They are all different but come in the same modern, comfy style, very spacious with very comfortable beds.
The lounge where you have breakfast is very cosy, tastefully decorated, also with a wonderful view. Breakfast is buffet style with eggs made to order. Do pay the extra few rands to have the café latte!
There is an honesty bar where you take your drinks and just write down what you had. Paul and Marjolein will give you lots of info on places to visit or restaurants, which they will book for you.
Location is perfect for visiting the area, as it is close to Cape Town, Hermanus, the winelands, etc.
Will go again!

Room Tip: Go for the seaview, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The lodge has a beautiful sea view and the rooms are spacious and clean. Its home away from home.
The dining room was tastefully done with a beautiful view of the sea.
They offered to arrange activities for us which was really good.
They need to improve on the type of breakfast they offer as well as having details on hand for dial delivery services for dinners.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tendayi B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wind-Rose Guest House
Wind-Rose Guest House
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Gardens Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colourful Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colourful Manor

Property: Colourful Manor
Address: Sweetwatersroad | Farm 959, Portion 28, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colourful Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful Manor is beautifully located on the slopes of the Gordons Bay mountains overlooking False Bay, Cape of Good Hope, Table mountain, the Atlantic Ocean, the Hottentot Holland mountains and the vineyards of Vergelegen Wine estate. Modern decorated luxurious rooms with either sea of mountain view. Superb bathrooms, top quality beds and linen. Great service, very personal service and recommendations by the owners and freshest breakfast with Italian coffees. Centrally located for Capetown, Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Hermanus and the winelands. All scenic routes start and stop at Colourful Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colourful Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colourful Manor South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing