We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to explore South Africa's Cape Winelands”
Review of Colourful Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colourful Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Recently we have visited the Colourful Manor for the second time. This year we were there in the second half of March and the weather is then not as hot as in mid summer. Colourful Manor is an excellent place to explore one of the most interesting parts of South Africa. It is close to the airport and Capetown at 40km resp 55km and the beach at Gordenbay is 10 minutes away by car. Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Hermanus can be reached within the hour via beautiful but easy to drive mountain passes.
The rooms in the lodge are tasteful and spotless clean and the beds are very comfortable. Each room has tea/coffee making facility as well as a tv. Breakfast is served in the lounge, which has a beautiful view over the bay and on a clear day (which we had for over 80% of the time) one can see as far a the Table Mountain and Cape of Good Hope. Also in the evening the lounge is a relaxing place a good glass of local wine. WIFI is only provided in the lounge, but it is in the planning to bring also WIFI in the rooms next year. There is an (unheated) pool, but we did not use it as the water was quite cold. The owners, Paul and Marjolein are very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all the interesting things to do in the surroundings and we received good advice for our trips to the local highlights. We had booked an arrangement with lodging, a rental car, the green fees of 4 different golf courses. Paul also made reservations for us in some of the top restaurants in Capetown (La Combe), Stellenbosch (Rust en Vrede and Camphors) and in Somerset (Waterkloof). We had a very relaxing and happy time in Colourful Manor.

Room Tip: The rooms on the valley side have the most beautiful view, but are facing south west and get a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Central location very beautiful view of Table Mountain and the Cape of Good hopeful familiar ambiance nice service hotel room very stylish,
best info mation on interesanten events and road maps, It is a beautiful place to feel at home

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jens V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

“Quality by a personal touch”

We stayed at Colourful Manor for 12 days based on other’s recommendations and it was even better than our expectactions. Colourful Manor is located in the middle of it all. Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Hermanus, the winelands and even ideally located for Capetown, especially for the Cape Peninsula tour. Colourful Manor pretends to be a relaxed place, 4 star facilities and 5 star service and that is exactly what it is all about. The rooms are spacious, beds of an extreme good quality and large walk in showers are very comfortable. All rooms are different from set up. The mountainview rooms are slightly smaller than the seaview rooms but very comfortable as well. Two gardenview cottages are slightly cheaper but perfect for familiies and couples travelling together. We travelled our way thru South Africa but the breakfast at Colourful Manor was the best. Simple though but freshly bake rolls, Italian coffees, hot breakfast on order…what a start of the day. What we found very helpful is the recommendations that is offered by the staff. They truly recommend all great things to explore, not based on a standard list but really based on our “wish list”. That really made our holiday in the area as you otherwise spend too much time on exploring yourselves. The same counts for the restaurants. Marjolein pre-booked everything given us the culinairy experience we never would have had without Marjolein’s efforts. On top of that we had the best tables as Colourful Manor is using those good restaurants on a regular base and even get some free drinks and specials. We are used to travel to expensive hotels but enjoyed the true and honest service we experienced at Colourful Manor. We would recommend everybody to go to Colourful Manor. Stay for at least a few days to really experience the hospitality and convenience of the location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KcawKcawKcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great location just outside Cape town. We have been doing lots of sight seeing from there, the location is very central for that. Within a short distance there are really nice restaurants with great food and wine, we really enjoyed that. The rooms are very clean, simple but decorated with elegance. Breakfast is good, swimming-pool area is nice for a refreshment and relaxing afternoon. The place is owned by a Dutch couple who is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our 4 days staying over there.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nicolaas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently experienced a magnificent stay at Colourful Manor in a splendid seaview room. Daily personal attention by Paul, Marjolein and staff to optimize our holidays. They made reservations for beautiful golf courses and lovely restaurants we would not have discovered ourselves in a short span of time. The location is great to explore Cape Town, wine estates and coast within one hour drive. Highly recommendable!
Otto & Inge

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto-Inge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Colourful Manor. We just arrived in Capetown and Colourfull Manor was an easy 30 minute drive from the airport.

We had a seaview suite. And the view was fantastic. They have a great lounge for drinks or breakfast with an really easy feel to it. The owners Paul and Marjolein are great hosts!

Paul went out of his way to get us tickets for a concert of Bruce Springsteen who happened to be in town! And we got the tickets and had a great night. He also arranged transport to and from the venue where Springsteen was playing!

Next morning he helped us plan the remainder of our trip along the Garden Route and came up with some amazing hotel en guesthouse suggestions. He also checked availibility, booked our rooms and gave us tons of (local) tips for our trip. What an easy way to travel! This guy knows his way around the West and East Cape. As it turned out Paul also runs a travel agency called Madiba Travel.

I am sure we will be back at Colourful Manor. If you decide to go be sure to ask Paul about his Ranking the Guest plan.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Prsvanbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We came to this place because we had seen positive reviews.
The location is nice with beautiful views but our room was rather disappointing.
I found the room rather uncomfortable and colorless. There was no window you could open and during the day the heat was unbearable. Our room was exposed to the full sun for the whole day and there was no AC. The electric fan was simply not sufficient.
To keep the door open would solve the problem but the owner's dogs, even though friendly, were eager to enter the room at every occasion.
The lavabo was placed too high for an average person and if you took a shower the water was running all over the bathroom.
I also didn't like the attitude of the staff when people needed to leave earlier in the morning.

I would suggest removing the adjective "luxury".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muchie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colourfulmanor, Eigenaar at Colourful Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014
Google Translation

Hartelijk dank voor uw beoordeling op TripAdvisor.Wij waarderen beoordelingen aangezien het ons in staat stelt verbeteringen door te voeren.

Helaas is de beoordeling voor ons unaniem waardoor wij niet in staat zijn de specifieke gast te achterhalen. Tevens zijn wij niet van de ontevredenheid van de gast persoonlijk op de hoogte gesteld. Dat is jammer omdat wij de voorkeur er aan geven eventuele ontevredenheid direct op te lossen.

Wij vinden het heel jammer dat de service en de beoordeling van de kamer niet is gewaardeerd. Het betreft een subjectieve beoordeling die door een ieder anders kan worden ervaren en op momenten wellicht niet optimal kunnen zijn. Ook hiervoor geld dat wij dat graag direct vernemen.

Wat betreft de objectieve waarde zoals slaapkwaliteit, waarde en hygiene moeten wij afstand nemen van de beoordeling. Wij hebben topkwaliteit bedden en top kwaliteit linen en Kingsize Extra length bedden dus dat kan niet verbeterd worden. Colourful Manor is zeer redelijk geprijsd voor het aangeboden product en de hygiene is van zeer hoog niveau.

Het kan gebeuren dat een enkele gast niet op het juiste moment de juiste service heeft ervaren. Dat spijt ons om te horen maar willen nogmaals benadrukken dat een unanieme beoordeling alsmede het feit dat wij er niet persoonlijk op aangesproken zijn niet helpt om de specifieke gast tevreden te stellen.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Paul & Marjolein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
222 reviews
3.1 mi away
185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#12 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
123 reviews
4.4 mi away
Melite Boutique Rooms
Melite Boutique Rooms
#15 of 25 in Gordon's Bay
3 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colourful Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colourful Manor

Address: Sweetwatersroad | Farm 959, Portion 28, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colourful Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful Manor is beautifully located on the slopes of the Gordons Bay mountains overlooking False Bay, Cape of Good Hope, Table mountain, the Atlantic Ocean, the Hottentot Holland mountains and the vineyards of Vergelegen Wine estate. Modern decorated luxurious rooms with either sea of mountain view. Superb bathrooms, top quality beds and linen. Great service, very personal service and recommendations by the owners and freshest breakfast with Italian coffees. Centrally located for Capetown, Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Hermanus and the winelands. All scenic routes start and stop at Colourful Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colourful Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colourful Manor South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing