We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss with a view!”
Review of Colourful Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colourful Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure bliss with a view!”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Paul and Marjolein are clearly very experienced when it comes to pampering their guests! We enjoyed our 4 days stay so much that we extended with 2 more days. The rooms are modern and ours faced the Gordon's Bay + Mountains, a really fantastic view that immediately soothes the mood when you arrive. Amy makes a great breakfast and the whole team is always ready to tell you on travel, entertainment and culinary tips on the region. The venue was just getting prepared to also receive small companies for conferences - wifi was not working yet but Paul tried hard to get it all sorted. We found the size of the lodge ideal, not too small but cosy enough and the lounge area with more stunning views is well stocked with drinks and moreover excellent Cape Wines! Coming back from our daily trips it was soo relaxing in the pool, looking at the sunset and the mountain range! We will surely come back again...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    50
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
108
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We arrived late in the evening and instantly we were enchanted by the twinkling lights of the bay. After a good nights’ rest in excellent beds, the panoramic windows of the spacious room showed another unexpected stunning view. We stayed for a couple of days and enjoyed the lovely spring weather, the wines, played golf, did some whale-spotting at Hermanus and recharged our batteries in the laid back and comfortable atmosphere of the manor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malloten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Together with friends and our two kids of 8 and 11 we visited this recently opened re-built and expanded guesthouse. We've stayed in Colonial Dutch guesthouses in South Africa before, so we were looking for something else and this certainly is. A modern, trendy yet warm and comfortable guest house with eleven spacious rooms (some connected which is handy for kids). The styling of the rooms and the lounge / breakfast room is great (reminds me of luxury beach resorts) and so is the hospitality of the owners, Paul and Marjolein.

Very valuable were the tips and suggestions as to the best hide out places, restaurants and attractions in the West Cape (I recommend swimming with seals in Houtbaay). Colourful Manor is well situated both for doing the Gardenroute / Hermanus, Stellenbosch/Franschhoek and visiting Capetown

The view from the rooms is overwhealming, overlooking Strand, False Bay and the Cape Peninsula on one side and the Hottentot Mountains and exotic trees on the other side.

The sunsets on the terras with a glass of white wine were wonderful; amazing colour palets.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed as one of the first guests in Colourful Manor and we had an excellent time. The views from the rooms are really excellent, you can see the sea, table mountain as as well as the Hottentot mountain range. The location is very good if you look for tranquility / being away from the city, close to the wine routes + whale watching in Hermanus. We stayed 5 nights and it gave us an excellent base to discover the whole area including Cape Town.

Breakfast is great with fresh rolls every morning. In addition to what you can expect from a good place to stay, the hotel also provides support for car rental (Avis) and give excellent tips for day trips.

The only regret we had is that due to the weather, we had no opportunity to take a dip in the nice pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We were amongst the first guests after a thorough renovation. Some work was still being done but the staff compensated all inconveniences by spoiling us. Marjolein and Paul are perfect hosts with great knowledge of what to do. Gordon's Bay is situated 30 min from down-town Cape Town, just 15 min from Stellenbosch with great wining and dining, 1 hour from Hermanus with the whale sightings and several nearby magnificent Golf courses. They can arrange everything from golf, township guided tour, snorkling with seals, horseback riding to a perfect romantic dinner. After a busy day you can relax with a drink on the deck while seeiing the sun set behind the Cape or relax in the salt-water pool. After the renovations will be finished I expect higher ratings from future guests

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catalinaRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wind-Rose Guest House
Wind-Rose Guest House
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
40 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#10 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colourful Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colourful Manor

Property: Colourful Manor
Address: Sweetwatersroad | Farm 959, Portion 28, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colourful Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful Manor is beautifully located on the slopes of the Gordons Bay mountains overlooking False Bay, Cape of Good Hope, Table mountain, the Atlantic Ocean, the Hottentot Holland mountains and the vineyards of Vergelegen Wine estate. Modern decorated luxurious rooms with either sea of mountain view. Superb bathrooms, top quality beds and linen. Great service, very personal service and recommendations by the owners and freshest breakfast with Italian coffees. Centrally located for Capetown, Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Hermanus and the winelands. All scenic routes start and stop at Colourful Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Colourful Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colourful Manor South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing