We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated and name needs updating on trip advisor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tavern - CLOSED

The Tavern
Cuisines: Mediterranean, African, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“overrated and name needs updating on trip advisor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to this restaurant because it had glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. For context, we arrived just before 7pm, and we got our first bite of food after 9pm. On the service side, at one point we also waited over 30 minutes for a beer and after asking 3-4 times. Admittedly the placed was packed full when we arrived, and we were fortunate enough that the manager?/owner? saw us waiting, so he separated a large empty table into smaller tables for several couples waiting. The waiters were absolutely useless and told us all to just wait, or sit at a pick-nick bench style table right in front of the open kitchen with food constantly going over you head. Anyway, we were happy we got seated within 15min. and thought all was going well.

On a side note, it would help for the people of Gordon's Bay to "get out a bit" and see the world a little. We realized the area was mostly composed of people of a certain race, but honestly folks, this is Africa, and you are bound to see some African people from time to time! What is with all the rude staring just because we look a little different from you? To be fair the people of Gordon's Bay and all this area were absolutely lovely and always friendly to us, but they do stare at us like they've never seen people of even a slightly different shade, eating in a restaurant before. Not just here but every restaurant we entered - however the staring in this one was by far the most intense we experienced in this part of Cape Town.

Anyway, back to the review. The food was above average and as you can guess the service was quite poor. They seem to have a staffing problem as one waitress seemed to be doing all the work for like a dozen tables. The draft beer however was the most amazing we have had in years - we only wish we could remember what it was called! but it was really really good beer.

In the end I think we would not go for another meal here because of the service and the uncomfortable atmosphere created by staring gawking people. The food was not amazing enough to warrant going through that again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    63
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
211 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“New Name - The Thirsty Oyster - Old Name The Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were fortunate to find The Thirsty Oyster today in the village of Gordon's Bay some 45 minutes from Cape Town on the N2 just past Somerset West. It is a nice drive and the town is fun to visit. They have a harbor where the The Thirsty Oyster is located. The restaurant is very good with both outside and inside dining. We had lunch of mushrooms on a skewer; and a greek salad. Both were outstanding. The bill with drinks was about $11 for two. Nice prices and nice people make a stop at this restaurant a good bet. Again, you will not find The Tavern any longer. However, you cannot go wrong with their new title, The Thirsty Oyster.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lucky find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were driving through Gordons Bay on our way to Stellenbosch and just happened to stop for a drink at The Tavern. We didn' think we were hungry but after looking at the menu we decided to order some lunch. I really enjoyed what I had, which was a selection of fish deep fried...sounds unhealthy but it was delicious! It was very busy so the service was a little slow but our waitress had a lot of people to take care of.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy and cumfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

After having changed the exterior and name of the place we have been back there three times. Does this tell you something already?
The food is great and reasonably priced. The variety make the menu even more attractive and if you can not find something that will please you then you have only to look at yourself.
Music is not overwhelming and is just what you need - background music that allow you to have a talk at the table without shouting.
Add to that the excellently prepared food and the stunning service from servers that vary in age from very young to middle aged, you just can't asked for better.
Maybe some of their neighbors can learn from them on i) how to treat clients, ii) how to prepare food and iii) how to create an atmosphere where you just want to go back to.
We have never been there to find the place almost empty and we would always go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HennieVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have always had great meals here - this was no exception. The seafood is always excellent and very good value. Highly recommend this as a good place to eat. I will be back next visit to Gordon's Bay

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing