We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Lights Seafood Grill

Harbour Lights Seafood Grill
Ranked #22 of 23 Restaurants in Gordon's Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Took some up country friends there on a Friday night and the overall experience was not what i expected. The food is pricey and sub standard, nothing to write home about. The service was slow and the waitress was a little abrupt with us. I will not go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcGbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    25
    29
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Quality Experience, Good Views and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Other restaurants come and go but Harbour Lights has been operating for as long as I have been coming to Gordons Bay and thankfully it hasn’t changed.

Same seafood based menu, wine list with laughable misspellings and misinformation and good views over the old harbour from large windows that can be opened to let in fresh air. I appreciate the white linen table cloths and correct service.

This time Mrs P enjoyed two large crayfish while I went for the grilled ‘line fish of the day’ which was Yellowtail, accompanied with some nice homemade potato wedges and selection of steamed vegetables.

The refusal of the chef to disclose what was in his salad dressing irked me; I didn’t want his recipe, let alone to steal it as seemed to be the assumption but I think its reasonable to know if — for instance – it has cheese or milk or egg in it.

Apart from that niggle, it was yet another enjoyable relaxing lunch in a timeless semi-formal restaurant. Long may it continue as it is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well Worth Another Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant many times for lunch over a period of twenty years. The Kingklip is superb and the scallops in a creamy mustard sauce as a starter are excellent. There are lots of other things on the menu, but these are my all time favourites. Whenever we get the chance to go out to the Cape this is the first place we head for. I have taken colleagues here when working in the Cape, and my Darling wife when we are out on holiday. I think I have gone through three changes in ownership, but it is always good - the quality of the ingredients are what counts and Cape seafood is brilliant maybe being from the UK the prices do not hit us as expensive we think it is good value for good quality food. We are going back to the Kruger this year, but next year we have been invited back to Franschhoek, and this will be our first port of call. A bottle of Neil Ellis Sauvignon washes down well also!!!. The view is very special through the day, which is why I/we prefer it at lunchtime. I have seen whales in False Bay from this restaurant (August).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive verby!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I went there for our Aniversary and the food was very expensive, however we stayed as this was a special occasion.. We ordered steak...Medium Rare ...but got Well Done steak..no apology nothing...we have never been back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwerkerk aan den IJssel, Nederland
1 review
“Perfect night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We've been coming here for about 7 years now. It's still a pleasure. Nice wine, good food and the most perfect service by Lewis (as always) and collegue. We also enjoyed the singer who was performing that night. Diner at Harbour Lights is one of the things we look forward to all year in Holland, waiting for the moment we fly to Cape town.
Marc and Maureen

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MRooversWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Lights Seafood Grill also viewed

Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour Lights Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing