We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully decorated apartment, central to beach...”
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains Highcliffe House Luxury Suites pool and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains
Highcliffe House Luxury Suites pool and patio
Patio and Pool
Sunset over False Bay from Highcliffe House
Merlot Bedroom
Merlot Suite Kitchen from the breakfast bar
Merlot Balcony looking towards the Helderberg mountain
View from Merlot Balcony across to the back of Table Mountain
The Patio for all
Highcliffe House Pool looking towards the Helderberg
Another sunset
Around the Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gordon's Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jfhadup
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated apartment, central to beach and winelands”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The apartment was well kept, clean and decorated to a high standard, with stunning views. Jane and Jim made us feel very much at home during our 6 day stay. It is a great base from which to explore the coast and beaches and easy to visit the winelands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Highcliffe House and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Cape Winelands!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently spent 5 days in the Merlot Suite at Highcliffe House, which is owned and very efficiently managed by Jane and Jim Yeomans. From the outset we were made to feel 'at home' and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation and the facilities at this guest house. Jane and Jim have extensive knowledge of the Cape wineries and were able to assist us in deciding which ones to visit during our short stay. They were also able to give us advice based on their first hand knowledge about the numerous restaurants in the area.

The Merlot Suite is well appointed and tastefully furnished. There is a large lounge/dining room with DSTV and Hi-Fi. Sliding doors lead onto a lovely balcony with braai and fantastic views over False Bay and across to Table Mountain and Devil's Peak. The kitchen is fully equipped with hob, oven, microwave, kettle, coffee filter and fridge/freezer combo - adequate room to store the wines that you want to chill! As a part of the living area there is a desk/study area for those who just have to work while relaxing! The bedroom is spacious with a king size bed, adequate cupboards and shelving for clothing storage and an electronic safe. Bathroom is en-suite with shower, bath and double basins for 'him and her' and with a separate toilet cubicle. Adequate parking for a car is provided directly adjacent to the suite with easy and level access. The suite has good security and there is a burglar alarm that one may activate at night or when absent at any time. Free Wi-Fi is available for all guests and the reception in the Merlot Suite and elsewhere in Highcliffe House was perfect.

Other facilities at Highcliffe House include a sparkling swimming pool for guests to enjoy with loungers, umbrellas and direct access to 'JIm's bar' - an honesty bar run by the Yeomans - but strictly Jim's domain - a more amiable and accommodating 'mein host' you could not wish to meet. His eclectic music collection is worth listening to over a cold beer or a chilled white wine or anything else that you fancy.

In summary our stay was most pleasant and this is an establishment that we would definitely recommend to others intending to visit the fair Cape in South Africa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your really comprehensive review. Your kind comments and detailed description of your stay at Highcliffe House Merlot Suite are greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to your next visit to Highcliffe House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfrost201...
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful upscale apartment overlooking Gordon's Bay; perfect for lovely day trips to wineries, beach, or just relaxing.”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Highcliffe House for 6 days this April. It was a wonderful break from the standard hotels that we stayed in while touring other parts of South Africa. The hosts, Jane and Jim Yeomans are absolutely fabulous - so welcoming and down to earth. Their hospitality and knowledge of the area made it so easy for taking day trips to explore the countryside and beautiful towns and coastline. They had so many great recommendations for wineries, restaurants, golf, etc. and having drinks at their honesty bar with them was lots of fun.

The Merlot apartment is spacious and so well-equipped with a great layout and nicely furnished; nice size kitchen, breakfast bar, dining table and lounge area. The bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed, lots of cupboard space and double sinks, shower and tub in the bathroom. The veranda had an incredible view over the bay with a built in gas BBQ. To top it all off there was maid service and the ladies did a great job of cleaning - even dishes everyday.

Wi-fi was good and reliable pus the flat screen TV had good reception with a good variety of channels. Pool area was lovely with lots of lounge chairs and again with a wonderful view overlooking the bay and town. Good secure parking.

We are looking forward to coming back and staying for longer. Gordon's Bay is in such a good location for all types of exploring and activities. Highcliffe House and Jane and Jim are wonderfully casual, yet think of everything, and really make their guests feel at home. They have 3 apartments and any one of them would be fabulous for a short or long stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fabulous hospitality of the hosts plus having an apartment that was as lovely as advertised.
Liked least: Everything was very good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your very kind review, which we very much appreciate and look forward to your next longer visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Cape - Highcliffe House Merlot Suite”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

During a recent 6 day visit to Gordon’s Bay we had the pleasure of staying in the Merlot suite at Highcliffe House, owned and run by Jane and Jim Yeomans. The suite is a real gem with superb furnishings and an extremely appealing layout. From our private balcony we had a superb view over False Bay with Table Mountain and Devil’s Peak as a backdrop. The sunsets were amazing! Jane and Jim are the perfect hosts and possess an encyclopedic knowledge of the Cape and particularly the wine farms. We visited many of these during our short stay based on their recommendations and could not fault their selection. The Merlot suite is equipped with full kitchen facilities, flat screen TV (satellite channels), DVD player, stereo unit, fireplace and a built-in gas barbecue on the balcony. The large bedroom has a well-appointed and roomy bathroom en suite with bath, a separate shower and a separate toilet. There is ample cupboard space and Jane has ensured that there are more than enough hangers available for the needs of most (if not all) visitors. The double bed is king size and very comfortable. A digital safe is provided in one of the cupboards for the secure storage of valuables. Jim takes pride in his well-stocked bar, which is available to visitors (an “honesty bar”), and we enjoyed many happy evenings there discussing the wine tasting experiences of the day – needless to say, with a suitable beverage in hand! The suite is serviced daily by Jane’s 2 domestic helpers who work efficiently and unobtrusively. Our stay at Highcliffe House was truly enjoyable and we would recommend this venue to anyone intending to visit the Cape area, it is conveniently located with easy access to the wine land areas and to the many other tourist attractions in the region. Thanks Jane and Jim for a marvellous holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Highcliffe House. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EatTravel...
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in the Merlot Suite at Highcliffe House in Gordon's Bay during December 2014. We spent ten nights.
The owners are wonderful people, they welcomed us upon our arrival and even had a Christmas card for us personally signed by both of them. We also spent New Years Eve with them at the honesty bar and we had a great time.
Merlot Suite is absolutely beautiful and you can clearly see that a lot of time has gone into planning the layout of the flat. To say that the kitchen is fully equipped is actually an understatement - EVERYTHING you might think you need is there!

The bed was comfortable, and room and bathroom neat and clean. The balcony provides gorgeous mountain and ocean views, and even though the wind can be rough, the balcony is built in such a way that is honestly does not bother you.

Cleaning services were arranged regularly and the parking was ample.

The pool is beautiful and loungers and towels are provided for you.

This suite has everything you need for a wonderful self catering holiday - we will go back anytime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful balcony
Liked least: The WiFi did not extend to the bedroom but was ample in the living room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind review, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Highcliffe House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn005
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home in Gordon's Bay”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Another wonderful holiday in Gordon's Bay. Our third time staying with jane and Jim who are great hosts. Merlot is our favourite apartment. Wonderful view from the verandah and very comfortable accomodation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muttisieb...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in the cape”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was our second visit to Highcliffe House, but the first time in Merlot and It is every bit as luxurious and thoughtfully fitted out as the last apartment we stayed in. The views from bedroom and lounge are absolutely stunning, day or night. The biggest advantage of Merlot is its sheltered balcony with built in BBQ, Highcliffe also has a lovely pool, gardens and friendly bar.

It is a wonderful place, hosted by very special people. Jane and Jim, who are so hospitable and so helpful ,it was just like returning to old and valued friends.

It is an ideal place to use as a base for exploring the cape coast, Cape Town and the wine lands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts hospitality and beautifully maintained apartment
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, which was very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Highcliffe House again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing