We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was really a lovely stay, I only wish that it will be longer next time! And that it will be summer. The location and venue are absolutely beautiful and Manor on the Bay is definitely a place I'll return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tarryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    80
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
135
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had such a nice weekend, due in part to our stay at your lovely guesthouse. All staff from front desk to breakfast delivery to room cleanliness and the little touches is all fantastic. It was perfect in every way. Better than anticipated and we really appreciated the hospitality we received, along with the fantastic room & all the extras. The small touches add up in a big way to making a great trip! The view and beauty of The Manor on the Bay just can't be beat.
Thank you very much

Room Tip: The best is the sea facing rooms, especially number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaNTHONYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
WOW - Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and compliment. We really appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Manor on the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Germain-en-laye
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

In a luxurious House, with a warm welcome, I spent a nice night in that place. Some rooms have a fantastic view on the bay. Maybe is it a little bit expensive, compared to other places, especially if you are travelling by yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langebaan, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It will help if you can put more lights and maybe paving to walk to the stairs for rooms 11 at night.
We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone is friendly and helpfull and we would defnitively visit Manar on the Bay again. The rooms are very nice, much space and pretty views.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Lights and paving towards rooms 9 - 12 have been on the cards for a long time and I am glad to report that 2 very effective lights have been added as well as roll-on lawn with paving blocks as a walk way. We look forward to having you back at Manor on the Bay! Kind Regards Hanel van Reenen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Make a booking was quick and easy.Arrived at the gate and called the number on the gate for assistance to have it openend,but no one answered.Had to push the intercom twice before the gate was openend.Park our car and started searching for reception and finally found a small black board say 'Welcome to the Manor'.We went up the first few steps and then had to cross a lawn up a small hill which could be very dangerous when wet.Next set of steps and entered the dining / reception area but no one was there.Rang the bell for assistance and out come one staff member,rushing past us telling us she will find someone that can help us.5 min later she comes back saying the lady is busy with a therapy session and she won't be long.Not knowing what to do,we sat on the porch.20min later we see people running in and out,no one paying attention to us.I went in and there the staff was nbeing paid and no attention given to us.I think even the owner rushed past us with a smile but said nothing.Finally I enquired where do we checked in and then we were helped and showed to our room.Fantastic clean room,fantastic view except for the roof being full of overgrown moss etc which was right in front of us.The information file is so outdated,listing places that have closed more than 5 years ago and listing Thai restaurants under steak restaurants. Went out the evening and most of the lights on steps weren't working and my wife almost fell.Also had to go down the grass hill in darkness.The next morning after a wonderful breakfast,we took a shower in VERY cold water.run the tap for more than 10min but no such luck.
For a 4-star, R600.00 p/p/n I would not recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaconiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear reader
I have personally made contact with Jaco to apologise and explain. He replied and was thankful for my feedback and honesty.
To summarise my email to him:
1. We are aware that the arrival of a guest is very important and clearly did not give him/them the welcome they deserve / expected. Truely sorry.
2. We were busy with major up-grades on our electricity supply as this historic 150 year old house can not handle the demand. This project was completed last week and all lights are now working.
3. The moss on the black slate roof is part of the charm of the 150 year old house. Black slate is very difficult to clean and fragile. Historical houses comes with lots of maintenance but the moss is something we've learned to except and actually find charming.
4. All the geysers work with solar panels. We left the change over from summer to winter settings a few days to late. Thank you that this was pointed out. With the winter settings in place all rooms have warm water all the time. We try to do our bit for greener living and strive to be an environmentally friendly business.
5. Thank you for the compliment on our reservation/booking procedure, breakfast and lovely rooms.
Kind Regards
Hanel van Reenen
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have just completed my tenth stay at Manor on the Bay as a visitor from UK. Had a lovely time. It is beautifully designed and well maintained with a boutique feel. It is well located for lovely drives down the coast to Betty's Bay, Pringle Bay and on to Hermanus. Noleen, one of the managers recommended some fantastic wineries and restaurants. My favourite was the restaurant at Waterkloof winery which is located in Somerset West in the midst of beautiful countryside and overlooking False Bay. The cuisine is on a par with the best restaurants in London and very reasonably priced. Looking forward to my next trip.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Anne, as new manager of the Manor I have to learn a lot of new tricks, like responding on Tripadvisor reviews. Thank you for all your lovely messages. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hoping to see you soon. Kind Regards, Hanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at Manor on the bay for 6 days with 3 children. Beach just next door, restaurants on walking distance, clean, safe and good service. Good fenced Garden for the Children and cat to play with. We would love to go there again. Still lots of things to see and do. Special thanx to lady at reception for helping us with all tour arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneliHolmberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof B&B
18 On Kloof B&B
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on the Bay

Property: Manor on the Bay
Address: 117 Beach Road | Western Cape, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor on the Bay Guesthouse is situated 50m from the beach, offering affordable accommodation, value for money and great discounted specials throughout the year, in picturesque Gordon's Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. We are 5 minutes’ walk from upmarket restaurants and Bikini Beach with Blue Flag status. Gordon’s Bay is a top tourist destination in close proximity to Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Paarl, Helderberg) and over 12 golf courses and located on Route 43, one of SA’s most scenic routes (Gordon’s Bay to Hermanus costal road). Also famous for the Southern Right whales visiting us each year: Gordon’s Bay, Gateway to the Whale Route, August – November. Enjoy the warmer sea water – about 9 degrees warmer - than Cape Town’s icy waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manor on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor On The Bay South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing