We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor on the Bay
Nearby Hotels
Gordons Bay Guesthouse(Gordon's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chocolate Box Guest house(Gordon's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krystal Beach Hotel(Gordon's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
Gordon's Beach Lodge(Gordon's Bay)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colourful Manor(Gordon's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wind-Rose Guest House(Gordon's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
200
90
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
90
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary sherrycape townsplendid viewfamily roomwithin walking distancesea viewhot breakfastlocation is greatrooms are spaciouslovely experiencelocal restaurantsspent nightspleasant staylovely guesthousetop floorself cateringbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was really a lovely stay, I only wish that it will be longer next time! And that it will be summer. The location and venue are absolutely beautiful and Manor on the Bay is definitely a place I'll return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tarryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had such a nice weekend, due in part to our stay at your lovely guesthouse. All staff from front desk to breakfast delivery to room cleanliness and the little touches is all fantastic. It was perfect in every way. Better than anticipated and we really appreciated the hospitality we received, along with the fantastic room & all the extras. The small touches add up in a big way to making a great trip! The view and beauty of The Manor on the Bay just can't be beat.
Thank you very much

Room Tip: The best is the sea facing rooms, especially number 2.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaNTHONYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

WOW - Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and compliment. We really appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Manor on the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

In a luxurious House, with a warm welcome, I spent a nice night in that place. Some rooms have a fantastic view on the bay. Maybe is it a little bit expensive, compared to other places, especially if you are travelling by yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It will help if you can put more lights and maybe paving to walk to the stairs for rooms 11 at night.
We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone is friendly and helpfull and we would defnitively visit Manar on the Bay again. The rooms are very nice, much space and pretty views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Lights and paving towards rooms 9 - 12 have been on the cards for a long time and I am glad to report that 2 very effective lights have been added as well as roll-on lawn with paving blocks as a walk way. We look forward to having you back at Manor on the Bay! Kind Regards Hanel van Reenen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Make a booking was quick and easy.Arrived at the gate and called the number on the gate for assistance to have it openend,but no one answered.Had to push the intercom twice before the gate was openend.Park our car and started searching for reception and finally found a small black board say 'Welcome to the Manor'.We went up the first few steps and then had to cross a lawn up a small hill which could be very dangerous when wet.Next set of steps and entered the dining / reception area but no one was there.Rang the bell for assistance and out come one staff member,rushing past us telling us she will find someone that can help us.5 min later she comes back saying the lady is busy with a therapy session and she won't be long.Not knowing what to do,we sat on the porch.20min later we see people running in and out,no one paying attention to us.I went in and there the staff was nbeing paid and no attention given to us.I think even the owner rushed past us with a smile but said nothing.Finally I enquired where do we checked in and then we were helped and showed to our room.Fantastic clean room,fantastic view except for the roof being full of overgrown moss etc which was right in front of us.The information file is so outdated,listing places that have closed more than 5 years ago and listing Thai restaurants under steak restaurants. Went out the evening and most of the lights on steps weren't working and my wife almost fell.Also had to go down the grass hill in darkness.The next morning after a wonderful breakfast,we took a shower in VERY cold water.run the tap for more than 10min but no such luck.
For a 4-star, R600.00 p/p/n I would not recommend them.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaconiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorotb, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear reader
I have personally made contact with Jaco to apologise and explain. He replied and was thankful for my feedback and honesty.
To summarise my email to him:
1. We are aware that the arrival of a guest is very important and clearly did not give him/them the welcome they deserve / expected. Truely sorry.
2. We were busy with major up-grades on our electricity supply as this historic 150 year old house can not handle the demand. This project was completed last week and all lights are now working.
3. The moss on the black slate roof is part of the charm of the 150 year old house. Black slate is very difficult to clean and fragile. Historical houses comes with lots of maintenance but the moss is something we've learned to except and actually find charming.
4. All the geysers work with solar panels. We left the change over from summer to winter settings a few days to late. Thank you that this was pointed out. With the winter settings in place all rooms have warm water all the time. We try to do our bit for greener living and strive to be an environmentally friendly business.
5. Thank you for the compliment on our reservation/booking procedure, breakfast and lovely rooms.
Kind Regards
Hanel van Reenen
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews